We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Harts Close, Ilminster TA19 9DJ, England
44146057816
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 214 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 49
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 43
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Check the Specials board

Perfectly acceptable Beefeater / Hungry Horse / etc alternative Make sure to check the Specials board before ordering from the standard menu Double check the bill - they can get overwhelmed by Christmas traffic and mistakes can get made

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 31, 2015
67Mac
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best meal for a long time Emma has turn the place around and she is going to leave to go back home to Wolverhampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Ilminster
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well must say what a lovely meal me and my partner enjoyed at stonemasons tonite a trio of lamb chops was my choice and my partners was chicken with stilton mushrooms yum yum enjoyed every bit emma your doing a fab job well be back again for sure

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

HI, thank you very much for your lovelyfeedback. we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you very soon. More 

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In november i visited this place with a party of 7, one of our meals we had to complain about a long blonde hair in the meal, the waitress questioned wether it had come from one of my party, non of whom were blonde?? she took the meal away and returned the plate after a short time with most of... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Derek M
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi Derek Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that on this occasion our service let us and you down. We do use all comments to improve our training and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family went for a meal tonight and I would like to start my review by saying the waitresses were good, however the chefs were a disgrace. The bread roll was stale and my cajun chicken was like eating the sole of my shoe. How can you call yourself a chef when you can't even cook a steak... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank stephen1115
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to know that your thought the service you received was good but We are sorry that on this occasion that we fell short of your expectations where the food was concerned. As soon as I was made aware of the the situation we did remove... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Perfectly acceptable Beefeater / Hungry Horse / etc alternative Make sure to check the Specials board before ordering from the standard menu Double check the bill - they can get overwhelmed by Christmas traffic and mistakes can get made

Helpful?
Thank 67Mac
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We try to vary our specials boards to enhance our customers choice and we are glad that you like this part of the 2 4 1 experience. Although we to try to offer a high standard of customer service unfortunately human error does occur on occasion. Which is why we do present all of... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

A late booking for 10 of us for our works Christmas meal.We had read previous write up`s and were not expecting much to be honest as the cost of a 3 course Christmas meal deal was £25 per pair. We had a good selection of starters between us and the only slight moan was the garlic mushrooms were over cooked.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GordyR06
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing the Stonemasons for your works Christmas meal and we are delighted that you found us to be a pleasant place to dine for a competitive price. We thank you for your feedback and all comments are used to enhance the experience and service we deliver. We hope to see you back in 2016 More 

Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

The staff were really welcoming. The children given a gift and colouring and pencils. The starter and sweet were very good but the main Christmas dinner very disappointing. The turkey seemed and tasted as if it was preformed. The Yorkshire pudding was soggy and cold. The roast potato was obviously frozen and was mush .the pigs in blanket were barely... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for writing your review. It is good to see that you found us welcoming and you enjoyed your starters and desserts. All of our turkey is cooked fresh from boneless turkey crowns we then slice it on a meat slicer to try to prevent the crumbling that happens with hand carving a joint. I will feed back... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

My daughter and I have eaten there on a few occasions , and decided to book our Familly Boxing Day meal there , Originally for 7 including 1four year old , a few days later I returned and booked another four in , one lactose allergic and one very funny eater , I was assured the female manager would contact... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

HI Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience. As far as your booking is concerned it is regrettable that your two forms had two different times on them so in error we wrongly took it to be to two separate parties which we are truly sorry for. As... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

If you are prepared to drive less than a mile from the A303 it's worth the effort to stop here. The final 100 yards approach is somewhat convoluted as you have to pass the front of the pub and then almost circle it keeping it on your right to get into the car park. The premises were clean and tidy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Stonemasons and we look forward to seing you again in the near future. More 

South Sinai, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Come here a lot with family as it's good value for money, never have had to wait for a table! Food is usually always good! Waiting service variable, a bit luck of the draw-sometimes you get amazing host other times one who forgets you are there and disappears! However majority of the time this place is amazing will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Water-Closet
emmielou15, Manager at Stonemasons, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I and the team are delighted that you are a frequent visitor to us and that you enjoy our food. We are always looking to improve our standards of service and the team do undergo frequent refresher training. I with you seasons greetings and look forward to seeing in... More 

Travelers who viewed Stonemasons also viewed

Horton, Ilminster
 
Ilminster, Somerset
 

Been to Stonemasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Harts Close, Ilminster TA19 9DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Ilminster
  • Phone Number: 44146057816

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stonemasons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?