We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starters

$$
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
99 High Street, Yarm, England
01642 650277
Website
Add hours for Starters and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Romance
Doing business

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 240 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 56
    Excellent
  • 81
    Very good
  • 50
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
breakfast

A great place to relax and a lovely value for money breakfast with coffee the staff very helpful and a friendly place

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
neil b
,
Yarm, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

Took my mum here for afternoon tea and we loved it. Staff are friendly and service was fast. The food came out and the presentation was beautiful we were so impressed. The only negative of all of it was the bread on the sandwiches was slightly stale other than that had a great time and will be booking to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

Visited with Freinds. Table booked for 8 pm. Arrived on time mix up with table but eventually got sat down . Half hour gone by still no menus . Ordered food didn't start eating till 9.30!!! . Told by staff problem in kitchen . All in all terrible service won't be goin back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

A great place to relax and a lovely value for money breakfast with coffee the staff very helpful and a friendly place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stillington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

After reading some of the reviews I was a little worried about our pre planned visit. I shouldn't have worried. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Afternoon tea was really nice and they even boxed up our left over cakes for us to take home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Regular visiter of Starters and never disappoints. Meals are always lovely and cakes too. Service is great always really welcoming and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Living locally starters was s restaurant i frequented over the years and would have happily reccomended. Sadly i have taken my last bite. The once exciting restaurant grade small portions of good food has been replaced with poorly cooked inconsistent food. What makes things worse is tgat 1in 5 dishes is really good but the rest are really poor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lemew1969, General Manager at Starters, responded to this review

Hello & thank you for your review, have been looking back for all your previous reviews about how excellent we were but there wasn't any, could only find this one, which makes me a little suspicious as to the motives behind your comments, we have hundreds of happy customers every day, I don't claim we get everything right but i... More 

Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Visited here in a large family group midweek at a not particularly busy time and the service was horrific. Staff really not wanting to acknowledge we were there... not taking away glasses or taking drink orders. It was a struggle from start to finish. We ended up there for almost three hours as the service was so slow (I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lemew1969, General Manager at Starters, responded to this review

Hello & thank you for your review, Sorry that this did not go as well as we would have hoped, its always difficult when catering for a large group as all the food has to be ready to go not just your dish which I can't quite make out as we don't do a beef bun! Its also difficult to... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

went for a nite out with friends, service was extremly slow, when we asked about our food there was a blank expression on the managers face, wee also saw barman drinking alchohol behind the bar, the management needs a change !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lemew1969, General Manager at Starters, responded to this review

Hello Stevie, This is a bit naughty as you haven't been in the restaurant since I dismissed you last year, there are enough fake reviews for restaurants in Yarm being posted without you joining in, I hope your parole officer and new employer are understanding about you posting untrue & malicious comments on websites like this, when you are still... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Have eaten here many times in the past, I love the idea of starters but in reality it becomes more disappointing every time I go. The service always seems to be so slow no matter when you go, staff are always very friendly when you do manage to get their attention. The food standards seem to be slipping which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my girlfriend came here for valentines day the customer service was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome and the food was to die for the waiters always had a smile and we will 100% come back people need to know this is a great place to eat thank you for a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Starters also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Starters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 99 High Street, Yarm, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yarm
  • Phone Number: 01642 650277

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Starters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?