We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Olive

8 St Helens Road, Ormskirk, England
01695 577 055
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 88 restaurants in Ormskirk
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our concept at The Fat Olive is based on providing fresh homemade food with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. With menus styled with a International theme and an added Traditional Lancashire twist you can be sure that there will be a dish to suit everyone's taste from either the a la carte menu or weekly changing specials. The restaurant boasts great modern decor and a friendly ambience offering a full wine list with draft and bottled beers available.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our concept at The Fat Olive is based on providing fresh homemade food with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. With menus styled with a International theme and an added Traditional Lancashire twist you can be sure that there will be a dish to suit everyone's taste from either the a la carte menu or weekly changing specials. The restaurant boasts great modern decor and a friendly ambience offering a full wine list with draft and bottled beers available.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    76
    34
    19
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

Went here for dinner with a couple of friends - we were on the three courses for £10 menu. The service was very, very slow. We weren't in a rush really - I am willing to forgive slow service if the food is worth waiting for ... unfortunately it wasn't. None of us was particularly impressed with our main courses.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Fat Olive and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Our 3 for £10 deal is very popular and if we get a lot of tables walking in without booking occasionally this can slow the service. It would have been helpful to know what night you dined with us... More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was my first time at the Fat Olive last week and I was very impressed with the food; it was delicious. We had a large party with us and although they were short staffed on the day we were accommodated really well. The atmosphere was amazing and I will definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon. More

Mereyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just had the most fantastic meal here!!fantastic value 3 courses for £10(£5 supplement for a fantastic 12oz rump steak).Steak cooked to perfection with beautiful sauce!!beautiful starter and desert too!!Great service with a smile!!very welc9ming and accomodating!!Thanks Fat Olive!!we will be back soon x x

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and am happy to hear that you enjoyed our 3 for £10 offer. We hope to welcome you back soon. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I visited the Fat Olive on 26th June with our college leavers group. I can not fault the Fat Olive with their service prior to us arriving and on the evening. They were very accommodating for such a large party, allowed us to decorate the tables, put on glasses of Bucks Fizz and allowed us to bring our own cake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and let us know that you enjoyed your group booking. We appreciate you being patient with us and hope to welcome you back soon. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had the Sunday menu absolutely fantastic value for money mushroom pepper pot extremely tasty, pizzas were huge and delicious, our daughter loved the pasta bolognese and chocolate ice cream, Jasmine our waitress really friendly , will certainly be back, loved it !

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for reviewing Fat Olive so positively. We strive for excellent value and great offers and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recently visited here as a college leavers do. The food was delicious and everyone enjoyed theirs. However, it took 40 minutes for them to clear the plates and staff had to be asked several times to do so, that's completely unacceptable service. In addition, the selection of beers/lagers - bottle and draft is disappointing to say the least. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Regarding your review of Fat Olive, I apologise if you thought the level of service was not acceptable. Following your meal we did speak to several members of your party to apologise and explain that we had a member of staff let us down that evening and the remaining staff had done as well as they could under the circumstances.... More

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went on the offer night of £5 pasta or pizza which was great, plenty of pasta and tasty with a side dish of garlic bread. Should have been a cheap night but we ordered 2 bottles of Peroni as they only had Peroni on draft at £4.20! Was still too expensive. Next time I will have water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Fat Olive. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food and took advantage of our offers. I am sorry that you think our prices for beer are too expensive. We are actually very competitively priced in the local restaurant community and monitor our prices closely with changes in supplier prices. We can't... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I felt fat after a very good meal.. good starter.. very good main.. Dessert was good.. Staff were attentive and atmosphere convivial.. Add a couple of Peronis and a good time had by all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Fat Olive. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal, service and atmosphere. We hope you think of us again when travelling through Ormskirk. More

Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Food average with little portions, good friendly staff and can't comment on the atmosphere as there was us and 3 other couples in the restaurant. We arrived at around 5.15 and decided on the 2 courses for £11. For starters I had the garlic bread with cheese which was to be fair garlic bread with cheese and my wife had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Fat Olive. I am disappointed to see that you only rated us an average score despite saying our food was 'nice' and service was 'good'. I am sorry if you did not think our fixed price portions were large enough, this is the first time we have had a complaint about portion... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was not our first visit to this restaurant but just dropping in for a quick evening meal. Again proved just good the standard is also round both on the menu and the staff. Good food and atmosphere after a hard day. If you have not tried this restaurant give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for reviewing the Fat Olive. It is great to see that you have revisited us and enjoyed the experience yet again. We work hard to maintain our standards and appreciate that it is recognised. We hope to see you again. More

Travelers who viewed The Fat Olive also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fat Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing