We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Olive

8 St Helens Road, Ormskirk, England
01695 577 055
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 92 restaurants in Ormskirk
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our concept at The Fat Olive is based on providing fresh homemade food with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. With menus styled with a International theme and an added Traditional Lancashire twist you can be sure that there will be a dish to suit everyone's taste from either the a la carte menu or weekly changing specials. The restaurant boasts great modern decor and a friendly ambience offering a full wine list with draft and bottled beers available.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our concept at The Fat Olive is based on providing fresh homemade food with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. With menus styled with a International theme and an added Traditional Lancashire twist you can be sure that there will be a dish to suit everyone's taste from either the a la carte menu or weekly changing specials. The restaurant boasts great modern decor and a friendly ambience offering a full wine list with draft and bottled beers available.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    77
    37
    19
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

After a long day at work we decided to eat out and chose the Fat Olive as the food seemed quite appealing and sounded delicious......I wish I had stayed at home and had beans on toast.We arrived promptly and were shown to our table.We ordered a glass of wine and a beer and waited.....and waited....eventually after a while a waiter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

I have read your review of Fat Olive and am very concerned about your comments as we are normally highly praised for our service and pride ourselves on our valued staff members. I have sent you a private message to find out more about your visit. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

First visit on the spare of the moment. Food and service was excellent, we will return. Good range of food, several cheap deals that looked to be good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Fat Olive, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and rate our food and service. We hope to welcome you back soon. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

Been meaning to go here for years and now I finally have it was worth the wait. Great staff, well priced and very tasty food. Went here for our friends surprise 30th meal and the staff attended to our every need all the time. I chose the mexicN garlic bread, carbonara linguine and they were both superb. The place was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Fat Olive and i am happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We work hard on creating new ideas for our menus and keeping our offering fresh so i am glad you like our pizza bread and pasta which have only been available for a few months. We hope to... More

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First visit to Fat Olive to celebrate my nieces graduation with eight family members. Seated at back of the restaurant downstairs (there is ample seating upstairs also). The back doors were open, giving a welcome breeze because it can be a bit warm...but that would be my only negative about the place .It is wheelchair and mobility friendly (some of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello Jan, Thank you for your comments about Fat Olive and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your celebratory meal with us. Also thank yo for understanding that a room of that size can be hard to cool even with our air conditioning working on full. We do hope you visit us again, regards More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

attended private party in Fat Olive function room. A nice comfortable room for 50 guests. Hot buffet, Lasagna, chips, pizza and sandwich's first class . All staff friendly and helpful. Agree with other comments Peroni larger a bit dear at £4-10 per pint other than that i would recommend this well run and friendly restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Fat Olive and for taking the time to share your views. I am happy that you enjoyed the buffet we prepared for the party. We ensure we use the freshest produce and refuse to serve frozen or processed food. I note your comment about our Peroni price, we are actually competitive in the area... More

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was once my favourite place to dine. Ate there at least once a week but over the past few months it seems to have lost it's spark. Out with a group of friends last night, it wasn't overly busy. We were sat upstairs where the humidity was unbearable, a few people did complain to an uninterested waitress. We ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your comments about Fat Olive and have contacted you by private message to hopefully find out when you dined with us. I can assure you we do use 'Parma' ham in our A la Carte mushroom dish but will look into your comments with our Chef about its preperation. Our restaurant has been open for... More

Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went here for dinner with a couple of friends - we were on the three courses for £10 menu. The service was very, very slow. We weren't in a rush really - I am willing to forgive slow service if the food is worth waiting for ... unfortunately it wasn't. None of us was particularly impressed with our main courses.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Fat Olive and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Our 3 for £10 deal is very popular and if we get a lot of tables walking in without booking occasionally this can slow the service. It would have been helpful to know what night you dined with us... More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was my first time at the Fat Olive last week and I was very impressed with the food; it was delicious. We had a large party with us and although they were short staffed on the day we were accommodated really well. The atmosphere was amazing and I will definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon. More

Mereyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just had the most fantastic meal here!!fantastic value 3 courses for £10(£5 supplement for a fantastic 12oz rump steak).Steak cooked to perfection with beautiful sauce!!beautiful starter and desert too!!Great service with a smile!!very welc9ming and accomodating!!Thanks Fat Olive!!we will be back soon x x

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and am happy to hear that you enjoyed our 3 for £10 offer. We hope to welcome you back soon. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I visited the Fat Olive on 26th June with our college leavers group. I can not fault the Fat Olive with their service prior to us arriving and on the evening. They were very accommodating for such a large party, allowed us to decorate the tables, put on glasses of Bucks Fizz and allowed us to bring our own cake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Fat Olive. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and let us know that you enjoyed your group booking. We appreciate you being patient with us and hope to welcome you back soon. More

Travelers who viewed The Fat Olive also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire

Been to The Fat Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing