We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brook House Inn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Station Road, Castle Cary, England
Website
Add hours for The Brook House Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Description: Postcode - BA7 7PF

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 11 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Nice friendly pub

Stayed at the Brook House caravan park at the rear of the pub. Did not eat in the pub, but had a drink in there. Nice pub and nice staff. It was very quiet in the pub, but that suited us. Will go back in the summer.

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 21, 2014
DeacsHampshire
,
Bordon, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

My wife And i were visiting Castle Cary over last weekend, while there we needed a part for our caravan so dropped into the local dealers, on our way out we came across the Brook house pub which was adjacent, we had a couple of drinks & some lunch, the food was Amazing, we both had a smokey joe from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Went here for lunch with friends, barmaid was lovely & welcoming but the food was revolting. Everything the children were served was deep fried & hard as stone, it was so bad the scampi had shrivelled up & left the table. Low budget food cooked incorrectly. The pasta looked previously chewed & could be lifted out of the dish in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WayneandLynn P, Owner at The Brook House Inn, responded to this review

Jude Thank you for your nice comments regarding our bar/waitress staff, however, we are disappointed that you were unhappy with your visit to our pub recently. We have a policy in place that, when an order for food has been taken and you have received your meal, we give you a couple of minutes before we come to check that... More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We had booked to stay on their camp site with our motor home to enable visits to Castle Cary. The actual camp site is fine, and the toilets are acceptable, although only cleaned once in the 3 days we were there. The gents shower is fine, but the ladies is very strange - the cubicle has been built in before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a very nice family run pub, Wayne & Lynn are very friendly and welcoming, there is a nice camp site at the back of the pub plus a nice beer garden and play area for the children, worth s visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed at the Brook House caravan park at the rear of the pub. Did not eat in the pub, but had a drink in there. Nice pub and nice staff. It was very quiet in the pub, but that suited us. Will go back in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rowley Regis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our second visit to The Brook House Inn, and it won't be our last. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. The campsite is clean, quiet and well maintained with electric hook-ups available on all pitches. The toilet and shower facilities, although not the most luxurious, are clean, well stocked and practical. We ate in the pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DORSET
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stopped off at The Brook House on way back home from Shepton Mallet, very pleasant staff. Good selection to choose from, arrived very quickly. My wife had the Sunday lunch which was lamb, arrived quickly and was well cooked with 3 types of vegetables. I ordered the house chicken curry which was very nice although the portion for me was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My sister, friends & family were camping at The Brook House Inn. My elderly mother and I met them each evening for a meal at Brook house. We were made welcome as an impromptu large group. The food was excellent and the service was naturally friendly and flexible in accommodating our various needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A very appetisng Bank Holiday Monday Lunch was enjoyed by my wife and I. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was excellent. The food was as described and served piping hot. The price was also very resonable making this a great experience and one to be recommended at any time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Spur of the moment descision to stop and eat here, old fashioned public house with a large car park. The menu was plain but had a wide variety of popular dishes, we chose a barbeque chicken and ham egg and chips, these cost nearly exactly £17, so good value. The meals arrived fresh and hot and were of ample size,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7

Travelers who viewed The Brook House Inn also viewed

Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
 

Been to The Brook House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brook House Inn

Address: Station Road, Castle Cary, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Castle Cary
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Station Road, Castle Cary, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Castle Cary

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

Postcode - BA7 7PF

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook House Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?