We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Fordingbridge Restaurants

Rose and Thistle

Rockbourne, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 3NL, England
+44 1725 518236
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 11:59 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    31
    2
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 NEW

My son and I had lunch here last week. A cracking pint of Butcombe bitter for me and a funny stuff I believe they call lager and the young ones drink. I ordered a pork belly with my son having a 'rat burger'. Both very satisfying and tasty with prompt and friendly service. The pub is a quaint old thatched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is a perfect country pub, set in a beautiful quiet village location. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. I have to say we didn't eat here, we had walked over from Coombe Bisset and had to walk back. We were looking for simple pub grub, the menu here is like something out of a Jamie Oliver high shelf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

I am contented that we provided the ideal mid-way stopping point for your walk and that you liked how we have retained the character of the pub to this day. I hope that we have succeeded in tempting you back to try some of our menu next time. See you soon! More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We have been going to the Rose and Thistle for around 4-5 years, mainly for lunch. Its a lovely original looking country pub in a beautiful village setting and is really worth making the effort to visit. Most of the interior is given over to dining during the day - an informal and dog friendly area on one side, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we really appreciate your comments. I am glad that you were pleased with our Sunday Lunch and you have certainly made our chef smile with your comment of "truly epic roast potatoes"! A lot of work goes into our food, especially our Sunday... More

Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Lovely welcoming, bar staff. Large garden/ seating area butifull location, Be back to see them next year hope they are still there. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you Steve for visiting us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stop here and we will see you next year! More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

Returned with friends and it was excellent. Lovely food, well kept ales and ciders and a vibrant pub. Made to feel very welcome. We will be recommending it to visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your second visit! We are very happy that you feel welcome here at the Rose and Thistle. We hope that you enjoy working your way through our menu! We appreciate your recommending us to others! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We visited on a Sunday, although we were a large group, about 15, the foor was exceptional ... never had food as good in a pub before, and not in many resturants either. I had the chicken and it was beautifully prepared, tender and flavoursome. Heartily recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments Francis! I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I have passed your comments about the chicken on to our chefs. Thank you. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had a lunch for a party of 14 of us. I picked the restaurant from Trip Adviser and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and well presented. One of our party commented it was the best chicken he has had. I had the belly pork, which was also very good. Service was friendly and all we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you Chris for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that you were made to feel very welcome and found our staff friendly. We look forward to seeing you soon! More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

A small and intimate restaurant, only about 8 to 10 tables in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had the parfait and the croquettes to start, both large portions and very flavoursome. For mains I had the traditional homemade steak and kidney pudding, excellent when properly prepared, and this was, my wife had the pork belly, also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
roseandthistle2011, Manager at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review Andy. I have passed on your compliments to our chefs and they are delighted you enjoyed your meals. Our Steak & Kidney pudding and Slow-cooked Pork Belly are our signature dishes - so I am pleased that you enjoyed them so! We are particularly happy you liked our sides of seasonal vegetables.... More

London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We really like this place and will return! We received a genuinely warm welcome and although we only stopped for a quick sandwich we were impressed by the quality of the ingredients and the presentation. And the Sauvignon blanc is better than many served in more average pubs. The menu included all the classics plus a few more imaginative dishes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, its so nice that people can enjoy our pub for a light snack as well as the full restaurant service we offer. Hopefully we will see you again soon! More

Stony Stratford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Met quickly by staff in the restaurant and offered complimentary water instead of over priced Ho2. I plumped for the Fordling seafood plate as did my friend, light and refreshing. For mains we had Steak and Kidney Suet Pudding and Pulled Pork in Brioche with Chips. Both were ample, tasty and served promptly. The only criticism would be the side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, sorry it has taken me so long to respond. We are all really happy you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry you felt the vegetables were not up to scratch; usually people are very complementary about them and we try to do different to the norm, maybe this just was not to your taste. Hopefully... More

Travelers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing