We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
+27 44 532 8226
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu. Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    58
    16
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Had a fabulous meal on our first Saturday back in Plettenberg at Zinzi, the ambience, service and food are second to none, thank you. We took our friends who have come on holiday with us and told them how much we enjoyed it last year, you didnt disappoint. Had pre dinner drinks sat outside on a lovely warm evening, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

I made a reservation for 6 people in Zinzi based on Tripadvisor rating prior to a recent trip to SA. Our meal was of such a high standard that we returned for our last night in South Africa following a two week golfing holiday. On our second visit we were seated at a table on the terrace, which added further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

My wife and I went to Zinzi for our anniversary. The evening was faultless. a Glass of champers on the patio overlooking their beautiful gardens. Stylish rustic earthy décor. We enjoyed an amazing very interesting Moroccan starter platter different and unique and a challenge to conventional cuisine. Seared Salmon on vegetables for main - superb, world class. Great wine selection.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear Warwick L Many thanks for your lovely review. The team is overjoyed that you had enjoyed your evening out to Zinzi. Once again congratulations on your honeymoon! Best regards The Zinzi Team More 

London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Definitely worth getting there early for pre dinner drinks on the lawn or veranda, with views of the lake and garden. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly, the atmosphere very relaxed and quite a few locals dining, which is always a good sign. The curries were excellent as were the tempura prawns starter. Wines are reasonably priced and by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear hesiod58 We are delighted to read your wonderful review. Thank you for taking the drive out to our estate to have a relaxing dinner. Very best The Zinzi Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW

The service and food were first rate. We were staying nearby and it was raining. We arrived with umbrellas but by the time we left then had gone. The restaurant gave us a lift back to our cabing at no charge. That's what I call service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear Simon H Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on Zinzi. We are pleased that we could assist you in the rain despite your brollies being nicked by other estate residents. Hope you can join us again in the near future! Kindest regards The Zinzi Team More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

If you are doing the garden route this place is a must. Pure fine dining. The whole place was beautiful, decor was out of this world. Service was very good and the food was amazing. Prices were good too, I thought they would be very expensive but was good value for money .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear zululady Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, service, wine & our beautiful restaurant. Best Regards The Zinzi Team More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

A visit at Zinzi makes your Garden Route Tour compleet! It's just a 15 min drive from Plettenberg Bay, it's worth it! The atmosphere is wonderful, the service fast and with great attention they service wonderful food! Go for the chocolate dessert, it's devine! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear deanie V Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted that dining at Zinzi made your Garden Route tour complete! We hope to see you again. Kindest Regards Didi More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I loved Zinzi. From driving down the track into the lodge, to enjoying an aperitif on the terrace, to the top-quality food and service, everything about this place impressed us - so much so, that if we ever return to the area, we hope to stay for a couple of nights in the treetop lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear devotchka83 Thank you for your lovely review. We are overjoyed to hear that we impressed you with our food & service! We hope that you will join us again at Zinzi & Tsala Treetop Lodge if ever you return to Plett. Best Regards The Zinzi Team More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Touted as one of the best places to eat in the Plettenberg Bay area, this restaurant was a disappointment. Decoration is nice, but food and service leave a lot to be desired. We stayed in one of the adjoining hotels, so the restaurant was heavily promoted but I am not sure I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear Mark t Thank you for taking the time to bring your disappointment to our attention. Our failure to impress you saddens the Zinzi team a great deal. We endeavor to offer the best food and service we possibly can at all times. I sincerely hope you will join us again on your next visit to the Hunter's estate. Kindest... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

If I had to stay at Tsala Treetop Lodge again, I would only eat at the main restaurant and not bother with Zinzi. Food wasn't as good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this review

Dear GatgetGir1 Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It saddens us to hear that you did not enjoy your Zinzi experience, but happy to hear that you had a lovely evening whilst dining at Tsala Treetop Lodge. Yours sincerely Sally-Anne More 

Travelers who viewed Zinzi also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Zinzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinzi

Address: 10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 44 532 8226
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay  >  Harkerville
Cuisine: Fusion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zinzi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?