We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Albion Hotel

The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HA, England
+44 1524 761226
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 restaurants in Arnside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $43
Cuisines: English, British, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fantastic location in the Village of Arnside on the banks of the Kent Estuary with stunning views and sunsets across the Lakeland Hills.External seating area, ideal for watching the famous "Bore"Traditional British Pub, award winning service and food, providing table service for fresh food, utilizing local suppliers and produce and featuring daily specials. A Vault Bar with real fire, a minimum of 4 Cask Ales, good quality continental lagers and a small but well-selected wine list. No children allowed in the Vault Bar.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 NEW via mobile

Despite visiting at 7pm and immediately getting a free table (which WASN'T reserved), we were then approached by an abrupt waitress, who informed us that they were not serving food, unless we had pre-booked. It wasn't what she said, that upset us, but the 'way' in which she said it: in SUCH a rude manner ! We felt it unfortunate,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

Had light dinner and glass of wine overlooking Morecambe Bay. Popular place, great buzz and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Turgutreis, Turkey
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

Good selection of dishes for snack or meal.although our lunch of sausages mash and peas was served luke warm was soon heated up in microwave, .sit outside and admire view across to grange o sands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

This is a popular spot so book if you want to get in at the weekend. The food is great and the portions are generous. Lovely pub give it a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Visited twice for dinner while staying at the Viver Water Mill B&B on the owner's recommendation. Despite being very busy the service was friendly and efficient. Meals excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

Good service and good value. Great location and views from outside - which is very busy in fine weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We live in South Lakes and visited Arnside. Had seen the signs outside as winners of Friendly Pub 2013 so gave it a try for lunch. Good location on a corner with tables outside for the sunny days and a good size interior, pleasantly decorated in a traditional style. Extensive views over the bay. We arrived at 1330 so still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This pub has a stunning view and perfect location and according to its banner outside has won awards. What a shame that it is let down by the sarcasm of an individual behind the bar. This is not the first time I have heard this individuals rudeness. (Perhaps its an attempt at humour & he thinks he's funny) In front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gareth L, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Furry60, I am very sorry you felt the need to publish this review after your visit to the Albion. We pride ourselves on our fantastic levels of customer service and try to make sure every customer is happy one! However the incident you are referring to is a simple misunderstanding, it was myself who made the joke and it was... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Party of six for sons 21st. Took over an hour to get the food and when it did finally arrive, one fish meal had to be sent back because it was cold and appeared undercooked. The menu was expensive but the portions were small and generally poor. To top it off, because of the time delay, my son had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good service despite being busy on a bank holiday weekend. Food was hot and tasty, although my wife wound the Fish Pie to be a little stodgy and lacking in sauce.. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Albion Hotel also viewed


Been to The Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing