We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
01297 203 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Beer
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
32 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    102
    58
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Stopped here for a late afternoon/early evening meal, had a nice bar meal and a pint in the beer garden overlooking the beach, all in all nice meal and pint and priced very reasonably, nice views and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

Right next to beach good starting point for coastal walk staff ok food good free wi-fi able to have meal outside next to beach clean and tidy would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Fabulous day out, stopped here for a bite to eat en route to our home. Had traditional fish and chips, husband had a larger portion from the other menu, both delicious. Great value for money. Superb staff, knew their menu inside out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review myself and the team will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Like another reviewer, we ordered sausages and mash and it wasn't cooked properly. in fact, they were almost raw inside. Full of gristle as well. its a pity as the location of the restaurant is beautiful. Whilst sitting there, we could hear other customers moaning between themselves. certainly would NOT recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We came back to this pub as same time last year we had a great meal and so we came back expecting the same standard as we stay in exmouth in early September. My girlfriends dad had sausage and mash which was sent back as undercooked, main course my girlfriend and I had lasagne that was Luke warm and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

The menu is quite varied, the food was served and presented well, I had the scallops in smoked bacon which I could definitely recommend. Service was good and we did not have to wait long for the meal. Good pub grub in pleasant surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we do try to vary our menu as much as possible with daily specials incorporating our local fish products. The team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to your next. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

Somerset, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

I love this pub and often go with family and friends and dog (made welcome). However last visit was disappointed to see high price rises on the menu. So went for the ham, egg and chips on the short much cheaper menu - turned out to be 'wet' ham from a packet - where has the chef gone? Holiday makers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

After other experiences around the area we just thought it did not stand out but charged high prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, The team and I are glad you enjoyed your food I am sorry you found it to be expensive, we are competitively priced with the other eateries in Beer and we also have our 1,2,3 menu Monday to Friday which is 1 course for £5.99 2 courses for £7.99 and 3 courses for £9.99. We... More

Derbys
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Only had drinks here. Lovely sunny day so sat in the garden, chairs and tables could do with a refurb looked a bit shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, The team and I are very excited to say that in November we will be closing for 3 weeks for a large refurbishment and we hope you will come and visit us to see the new improved pub and gardens. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

East Molesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

This is a really good Pub and we dropped in a few times during our recent Weeks holiday in August - Even at height of holiday season - Pleasant helpful staff and on the occasion we eat there Food excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visits and we will look forward to your next. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing