We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
01297 203 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Beer
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
32 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    94
    94
    54
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Incredible location overlooking the beach and cliffs with beer garden across the road from the main pub. It was grubby and could have done with a lick of paint and some weeding and the prices were high as you would expect. Also no local cider or apple juice, a sin in this part of the country I don't want Britvic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilminster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

For a great lunch outside, the beer garden is hard to, beat as it overlooks the sea at Beer from the cliff top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We've been here before and loved the pub. It's neat when you come from a place with Draconian liquor laws(Canada) to walk into a pub and carry your own alcohol across the street to a seating areas. And to the amazement of all Canada no riot broke out, no one was injured, killed or otherwise maimed, There was no alchol... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A lovely pub with a good choice of beer and ciders. The selling point has to be the beer garden which overlooks the beach, which is why we ended up spending so much time here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bexleyheath Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We ate in the Anchor twice - both times the service was excellent and the food was good. It is reasonably priced but its the lovely waitresses who sell this place they present as really interested in your opinion of the meal and go to any length to ensure you have a lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to your return. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have been visiting Beer for 50 years so I think I have a fairly balanced view of the bars and restaurants. I have eaten at The Anchor many times and it has peaked and troughed during that time. However, it is currently in a trough and needs picking up quickly. The staff were indifferent, with dirty tables, food on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Im very sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occation, it was however regatta week and due to that we do see a large increase in custom and we try to accommodate everyone. I do hope you choose to return so we can show you how good we can be. Kind Regards HTurberville... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a lovely meal here the last night of our holiday,staff were lovely,food was lovely and dog friendly.This pub is a real gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your next. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The terrace of the place is amazing. The food is OK. The fish and chips a bit to oily, and the smoked cod very tasty but a little too smoked Expensive for the food Would recommend it anyway as it gives you a taste of what Beer is about Maybe would be great to just have a pint in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A party of 7 we chose the Anchor for our last holiday meal and what a poor choice it was. Having visited the Anchor many times before the menu has been revised to include what can only be described as very basic bar food. The Hunter's Chicken arrived complete with the paper it had been cooked on , the Lasagne... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The setting above the pebble beach of Beer looking out to sea with the village spreading over the hills behind is charming. Service is polite and efficient whilst the bar is well stocked with an eclectic mix of cheerful staff, many being of antipodean origin when we visited which could be construed as fitting for what was a small fishing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing