We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
01297 203 86
Website
Add hours for The Anchor Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 341 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 108
    Excellent
  • 112
    Very good
  • 65
    Average
  • 27
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
I can only comment on the food

As it was a beautiful day the whole of beer was buzzing with tourists and locals. We wanted food with a view and found the Anchor had a beer garden with a nice view and a few tables available. These were filling up fast so we quickly made our choice and went in to order. Nice staff and very... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 20, 2015
Gastro_critic01
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The food was great, the prices reasonable and the service efficient and friendly - they really made us feel very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

As it was a beautiful day the whole of beer was buzzing with tourists and locals. We wanted food with a view and found the Anchor had a beer garden with a nice view and a few tables available. These were filling up fast so we quickly made our choice and went in to order. Nice staff and very friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very glad to tell you that in November we had a full internal and external garden refurbishment we will look forward to you visiting us again this year. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Visited this pub last year with my family and was impressed as there are a few other places for a drink and to relax anyway sat in the beer garden which was rammed with summer punters and went to get drinks at the bar inside the pub was busy with people and good atmosphere didn't eat but always said I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you like the refurbishment, and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Bristol
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Visited again and pleased with a good refurbishment. Still all the good bits and more too. Good service, good bar scene and great food choices

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to your next. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Had a lovely walk from Seaton to Beer. Welcome site of pub with garden but........ surly staff and almost an hour to wait for disappointing food reheated in microwaves Should have heeded the reviews!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion, we hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again HTurberville DGM More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

So my girlfriend and I went to the Anchor inn last sunday, lovely location! We did just have a drink and a bowl of chips, straightforward enough but the attitude from the staff there, one in particular was just really rude and abrupt. Our drinks were slammed down on the table, and we were asked pretty rudely if we wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the team and I apologize that you were not satisfied on this occasion but I do hope you will come again in the future. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More 

Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

This is very thing that I don't like about a pub. Beautiful location but totally ruined by a brewery that have completely refurbished the character out of it. Standard menu of pub grub that you could have anywhere. A real shame that a pub in such a prominent location has been turned into a faceless chain pub. Greene King have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry you were disappointed, The Anchor Inn has been a Greene King pub for 15 years now and they gave us a refurbishment in November. Sorry again HTurberville DGM More 

Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

A family dinner here was enjoyed by all. The menu is quite extensive and includes locally caught fish, crab etc which was all beautifully prepared and served. There are very simple basic things for children at reasonable prices and some wonderful choices for adults. My sister and I shared a seafood platter with garlic bread It was terrific! Plenty to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Lively pub with a standard pub menu, a little pricey for the portion size but about right for the atmosphere, pub garden overlooking the beach which is nice on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More 

Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We popped in for dinner on a busy Saturday evening in January, we were told that there would be a wait of an hour or so for our meals. The food was good pub food and the children's menu was reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to your next. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More 

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Seaton  >  Beer
  • Phone Number: 01297 203 86

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?