We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Grindleford Restaurants

Restaurant at The Chequers Inn

Froggatt edge, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
+44 (0)1433 630231
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $61
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Imaginative menu produced using locally sourced ingredients, although located in an Inn was well above average and not what we might have expected. Not formula food but originally conceived dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A Tuesday lunchtime was not a busy time in November, so it was a good quiet visit. A warm welcome on arrival, with time to chat from our hostess. We took our time and were not hurried by the staff during the meal. The food was very good and tasty, so we didn't recognise other comments in reviews about fussiness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review! More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Unpretentious gastro-pub with good choice of great food reasonably priced. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming although lighting is a little too dim. Outside tables are also available at the back of the pub - on a wet day they can be a little difficult to reach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you like what we do - thank you! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Following a visit to the Chequers Inn this evening I felt compelled to write this review. Today is my birthday, I have spent a lovely day with my husband and we decided we would finish my special day with dinner at the Chequers. On arriving we waited several minutes at the bar before we were served , not the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a shame that you did not chat to us about it at the time, as we prefer to put things right. We have also messaged you directly through Trip Advisor with a full response, but you have unfortunately not been back in touch with us. Having said that,... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The Chequers was one of our favourite places for lunch - until today. We noticed immediately that the menu was different, and disappointingly so. We had previously enjoyed sound, good quality dishes with an imaginative angle to them, worth paying the higher than average pub prices for. What we got today was just fussy and messy - little blobs of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your comments. We have invested heavily in our food offering over recent years and are generally extremely proud of the food we serve. Whilst we offer very good quality traditional pub food, we have always offered something a little different as well. This is still the case. There has not been a particular change of direction over... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed here as it was close to Chatsworth and seemed to have a nice menu. We were richly rewarded . Our room was a really good size with the only downside being a slightly well worn mattress! The restaurant was lovely, we had a beautiful meal, with warm and friendly service. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our food. New beds on the way!! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

We were considering eating here later in the day. However, a male member of staff was very rude to us and made us feel uncomfortable in front of other people. We drank our drinks quickly and left. Didn't seem like very nice people. Would advise walking past this place and onto the next pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately we are not surprised to read this 'review'. This person came into our pub in the middle of an exceptionally busy sunday lunch and asked to try our beer before buying, which was fine. He then proceeded to order two 1/2 pints, but then he admitted that he had no means to pay for what he had ordered. Unfortunately... More 

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I have wanted to go to the Chequers for quite awhile now, so popped in the other Sunday evening. I was quite surprised how quite it was, but I supect that Peak district pubs may be quiet on a Sunday evening, we had tried the Moon at Stoney, but they do not serve food on a Sunday evening so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Delighted we were on your list of places to try! Sunday evenings during the summer months are one of our busiest evenings, but come Autumn it does quieten somewhat. We are famous for our Gloucestershire Old Spot roast pork, so were disappointed that you did not receive your crackling - our mistake - so sorry. Give us a try again... More 

Norwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Our family of three were in Derbyshire for a long weekend, and I remembered having a meal here some 25 years previously, which was really good. Well, it has improved. Although not cheap, the food was of really high quality, with particular emphasis on the starters, we should have gone with our instincts and ordered 2 starters. Typical gastro pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Welcome back after 25 years!!! Really pleased you like what we do - we have passed this onto our entire team. Dont leave it another 25 years! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Had an evening meal here on our way back from a walk. Very quiet - lots of tables reserved, presumably from those staying at the Inn. However, meal was really lovely - all four of us enjoyed it. Noticed they also have a barter system in operation, where they barter beer for fresh local produce - quite impressive. Staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic - thanks so much for your kind comments. More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Chequers Inn also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant at The Chequers Inn

Address: Froggatt edge, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1433 630231
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Grindleford
Average Prices: USD 0 - 61

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at The Chequers Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby