We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant

Kenmore, Aberfeldy, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
+44 1887 830763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 restaurants in Kenmore
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: International, British, Bar, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & brasserie in magnificent Highland Perthshire in the conservation village of Kenmore. Wood burning fires, leather couches, family friendly, pets welcome, alfresco dining on the sunny decking and a pleasant & welcoming atmosphere. Open all year, 7 days a week serving from 9am - 9pm. Bookings recommend for Friday & Saturday evenings. Special occasions, birthday parties and wedding etc.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    100
    66
    52
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 NEW

Previously I wrote a deservedly bad review . Due to family living in the area we went back against my wishes ,but I was pleasantly surprised the staff and food have improved greatly . Well done to those who made the changes .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

We were staying across the road in the Kenmore Hotel but the shop and cafe had been recommended to us, so even though we'd only had breakfast 2 hours before we couldn't resist a visit. Had a latte and a tea which were just right plus scones. These came out warm with butter, jam and cream, beautiful. Had a wander... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wasnt sure what to expect as it looks like the restaurant attached to a holiday park but we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was tasty and very fresh, great chips and it would be my first choice next time Im back in Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised to find our Courtyard Bar & Restaurant to have “Good food, good prices”! We strive on producing good quality food with local produce and we are delighted to hear that we succeeded here. We do understand that sometimes being attached to a holiday park can... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We'd had a long day driving and sight-seeing, and we had actually booked for dinner across the road (where we were staying) but a pre-dinner walk and a quick check of the menu, we decided on the Courtyard. It proved to be a great decision - the service from both waiters who helped us was excellent, and the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We really to appreciate you taking the time to write this. As you can see lately we have received mixed reviews but delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience when you chose to dine with us. We are proud of the food we serve and so pleased that you all, including the... More

Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I visited with my family for a meal a few weeks ago, and unfortunately was unimpressed with both the quality of food and service. Despite the restaurant only being a third full, on arrival we had to wait to be seated, then wait even longer to be offered drinks. When menus came, we were only offered two for a table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are extremely disappointed that you felt you received both poor service and poor food. We strive to deliver a product that complements the rest of our estate and that includes staff. We have recently struggled with staffing, this is unfortunately an issue of geography. We now have a very experienced bar and restaurant... More

Saint Cyrus, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our meals in The Courtyard one in restaurant one in the bar. Lovely relaxed surroundings, dog friendly in bar not in restaurant. Good service too Jana is a lovely cheerful girl which would brighten any room. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review! We really do appreciate it. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in lovely pet friendly surroundings and that you were served by Jana - one of our long term staff who we are proud to have working with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had several evening meals at the courtyard over the last week, after having some very good experiences there in June 2013. Happily, the food was still great, well presented, piping hot and good portion sizes. Glad to see that the policy on dogs hasn't changed either. Sadly, the excellent staff that were there in 2013 were nowhere to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for our review as we do appreciate you taking the time to write one. We love to hear of guests returning whether it be weekly, monthly or even yearly! As you have experienced we have had a change of staff as unfortunately in this trade long term staff are hard to find! We are delighted to say that... More

Swinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited the first time just for coffees but returned a few days later for a late lunch despite reading mixed views in the visitors book in the lodge we were staying in. We all tried the fish & chips & afterwards we pleased we had! There wasn't a huge choice for my veggie sister but her fish was delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we really do appreciate it. We are really happy to hear that you returned after your coffees to try our varied menu. Sorry to hear that the vegetarian in the party did not feel there was much to choose from and will take that point on board as well as the little one... More

nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We used this restaurant 2 nights running. The first night the meal was excellent, piping hot, well cooked, tasty, good size, good value and well presented and delivered by happy staff. Unfortunately the following night the food preparation dropped due to 2 large groups in the restaurant. The staff were a bit stressed and the kitchen staff obviously tried to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you came to our restaurant 2 nights running but sorry to hear that your second time was not as enjoyable as the first. We are proud to produce local freshly made meals that do take time especially when we are busy but do strive to make the dishes a... More

Crieff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went here for a family meal along with a friend tonight. My 2 children asked for spaghetti bolognese and were handed cold pasta shells mixed up with watery tinned crushed tomatoes - no sign of mince. Were they honestly expected to eat that! Disgraceful. I said to a staff member about the problem and the kids were offered fish gougons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write this review. We too are extremely disappointed to hear that you were treated in this way and have taken this on board. More staff training is starting this week to bring all staff to the high standard that we welcome to all our guests whether they are staying on our Estate or... More

Travelers who viewed Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing