We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Begelly Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
Website
Today
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural...
We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £4.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
read more
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 120 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good British Pub Food

I have eaten here several times - it is always very good value and quality. I have always been able to get a table but I am told that Sunday lunch needs booking. I have had a traditional roast dinner, lasagna and scampi - all cooked well. Staff are very friendly and efficient.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 19, 2015
SunWineandBooks
,
Leicester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I have eaten here several times - it is always very good value and quality. I have always been able to get a table but I am told that Sunday lunch needs booking. I have had a traditional roast dinner, lasagna and scampi - all cooked well. Staff are very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I was invited to a friends evening wedding reception mid-March 2015. The function room was lovely, & the bar man Gavin & his partner were great & couldn't do enough for you. However, the manager whom I believe is called "Jenny" was abrubt & just plain rude on many occasions with both the guests & bride\ groom. I overheard quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi you have given a review for what you say was your friend’s wedding, is it a coincidence that you have the same first name as the bride, and your second initial is the same as the bride’s former surname Paula E. It is not really a good idea to try to be someone else from an honesty point of... More 

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

Took my wife for afternoon tea after finding an offer on Groupon. Last time I went to this hotel was over 20 years ago and I wasn't sure what to expect . It's been under new management for just over a year and appears to have been spruced up significantly. Afternoon tea was delightful and very good value. Will go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The afternoon tea is something new we have introduced recently and we are glad you enjoyed. As you mention we took over in Feb 2014 and have built up over the year, there has been some re decoration. The afternoon tea has been such a success we now do it every day Mon to Frid 2... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

All the food at this Hotel was excellent and very reasonably priced.A good selection for all courses and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Than you for the review I know you have left a review on the hotel site as well which I have asked the staff to read. We are glad you enjoyed your stay Thanks Peter Adams FBII Managing Director The Begelly Arms More 

Neath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My family and I had Sunday lunch here yesterday. We ordered the turkey and beef carvery. It arrived quickly and we were not disappointed. The food was piping hot just as we like it and it was so delicious that I think it's the best Sunday roast we have ever eaten at a restaurant. It came with roast potatoes, boiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review I do have to point something small out though it is a carvery style lunch served to the table. just in case think we do a carvery when we do not. I appreciate your comments about the food being hot its a passion of ours which is why we do not like carveries. thank you... More 

Wales,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We went for a family Sunday lunch. The car parking area and frontage wasn't very appealing, but the interior was fresh and pleasantly decorated. Good selection of real ales. Our order was taking quickly and the food arrived without to much of a wait. Portions were large with a good selection of well cooked veg. Meat is served in thin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We booked at the last minute for Sunday lunch for four. I can honestly say from the chat on the telephone to book the table to leaving at nearly 4pm after the most delicious lunch was a lovely experience. The lunch it's self was beautifully cooked and served . Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely roast beef and pork with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

my wife and I took mother for lunch on 8/02/15 having been here a number of times over the years we were all looking forward to the treat Walking through the door on a lovely Sunday afternoon the owner was in the reception area with a couple of staff. I tried to give him a friendly smile but there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review we appreciate you taking the time. We have been running the Begelly Arms since Feb 2014, I am not sure if you have been here since we took over then, but you may have been here previously when they did a carvery lunch here. We stopped the carvery in favour of the... More 

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We visited with my wife, step son, brother-in-law, and nephew, for a quite few drinks in the front bar area. The staff seen us walk in from the side entrance - through the restaurant area into the front bar, and so knew we were present. We stood waiting at the bar for 10 minutes. We shouted for service but received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

I have sent a message to this person to ask when he was with us and give more specific information but he has not replied and so my response is based on information I have from our side. The bar was actually closed but you entered and you were served the staff you saw actually were finished on that day... More 

Kettering
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Came along for a Sunday lunch with family last week. Often in the area we had never been before. The food was superb. Great choice of tender meat with delicious well Veg and gravy. All cooked to perfection. Prices reasonable too. Close to Saundersfoot. We will definitely come again next time we are in the area and I have already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

hanks for the review we are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Templeton, Pembrokeshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Whitland, Carmarthenshire
Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 812601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 27

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £4.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Begelly Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?