We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Begelly Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
Website
Today
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural...
We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £4.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 125 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Was ok

New owners seem ok, not much on menu as they just took over, went twice not returned might do in the future.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 25, 2015
Dave M
,
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

New owners seem ok, not much on menu as they just took over, went twice not returned might do in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Ab fab night there with Lenny Dee and the buffets were out this world cant speak for sunday lunches as not had 1 there as of yet but i have heard awesome reports about the meals there staff are friendly and very obliging

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Much bigger than I thought a very large dining area and service was excellent. The food was all hot and very generous portions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Came here last week for my daughters birthday, it was the first time we had visited, quite a large dining area lovely service. The meals were very generous portions and lots of choice. We all enjoyed our meals and their sunday roasts are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haverfordwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant twice during the past month and previous to that was 30 years ago. The last occasion was a family birthday celebrated with a Sunday Lunch and the food and service could not be faulted with everybody being very friendly. The restaurant is very informal but nicely decorated with ample parking area. I and the family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review us. We take pride in our Sunday lunch and we produce what we believe to be the closest to home cooked roast with fresh vegetables and Welsh meats, and home made gravy. we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon. Peter Adams Managing Director... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I have eaten here several times - it is always very good value and quality. I have always been able to get a table but I am told that Sunday lunch needs booking. I have had a traditional roast dinner, lasagna and scampi - all cooked well. Staff are very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I was invited to a friends evening wedding reception mid-March 2015. The function room was lovely, & the bar man Gavin & his partner were great & couldn't do enough for you. However, the manager whom I believe is called "Jenny" was abrubt & just plain rude on many occasions with both the guests & bride\ groom. I overheard quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi you have given a review for what you say was your friend’s wedding, is it a coincidence that you have the same first name as the bride, and your second initial is the same as the bride’s former surname Paula E. It is not really a good idea to try to be someone else from an honesty point of... More 

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

Took my wife for afternoon tea after finding an offer on Groupon. Last time I went to this hotel was over 20 years ago and I wasn't sure what to expect . It's been under new management for just over a year and appears to have been spruced up significantly. Afternoon tea was delightful and very good value. Will go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The afternoon tea is something new we have introduced recently and we are glad you enjoyed. As you mention we took over in Feb 2014 and have built up over the year, there has been some re decoration. The afternoon tea has been such a success we now do it every day Mon to Frid 2... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

All the food at this Hotel was excellent and very reasonably priced.A good selection for all courses and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Than you for the review I know you have left a review on the hotel site as well which I have asked the staff to read. We are glad you enjoyed your stay Thanks Peter Adams FBII Managing Director The Begelly Arms More 

Neath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My family and I had Sunday lunch here yesterday. We ordered the turkey and beef carvery. It arrived quickly and we were not disappointed. The food was piping hot just as we like it and it was so delicious that I think it's the best Sunday roast we have ever eaten at a restaurant. It came with roast potatoes, boiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review I do have to point something small out though it is a carvery style lunch served to the table. just in case think we do a carvery when we do not. I appreciate your comments about the food being hot its a passion of ours which is why we do not like carveries. thank you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
Templeton, Pembrokeshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Whitland, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 812601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 27
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Description

We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £4.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Begelly Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Begelly Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?