We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Begelly Restaurants

The Begelly Arms

New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Begelly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $28
Hours:
Mon - Thu 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a family run Pub, Inn and restaurant located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £4.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 NEW

Came along for a Sunday lunch with family last week. Often in the area we had never been before. The food was superb. Great choice of tender meat with delicious well Veg and gravy. All cooked to perfection. Prices reasonable too. Close to Saundersfoot. We will definitely come again next time we are in the area and I have already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My wife and I spend many weekends between the beginning of March and the end of November in Pembrokeshire and we have tried numerous pubs/restaurants/hotels etc. over the years for meals and Sunday Lunch's but for the last 6 months we have stuck with the Begelly Arms. The Sunday Lunch is, in my opinion, the best in the area by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Wales
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a late lunch, very pleasant & clean. Food was nice. The building was a bit cold internally so we kept our coats on. The small portions menu was plenty for lunch, came away feeling full. Free parking, really big car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I booked a table for 11 of us here ona Wednesday evening as have family here. We ordered drinks and were told that hot drinks would be brought to the table. However, they forgot these and after 20 mins we had to go and ask again. Food took 45 mins but they had forgotten a child's meal. They didn't tell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review we appreciate it. From investigation it is clear as always, that there are differing versions of events to your review. Your party was apparently not particularly pleasant to my staff, being rude and demanding. they have confirmed that you had to wait for coffees on arrival, but not the exaggerated time you... More

Mid Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I booked a table for the family to celebrate my nephew's birthday as we were staying close by in Tenby. Booked The Begelly Arms because of the reviews and we were not disappointed, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Service was good and food arrived quickly. We all agreed that the Sunday lunch was one of the best we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review, we do appreciate it. we are, in particular proud of our Sunday lunch and we thank you for your kind comments we strive to give as close to home cooked as possible with all the veg being fresh with the exception of peas because you can not buy fresh peas locally ??.... More

pembroke dock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Although we only had a small intimate wedding of 18 family members we approached the Begelly Arms to see if they could accommodate us all for an evening meal. From the outset nothing was too much trouble and we were even able to sit in and make use of their lovely function room until The live music started a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both and we are glad you enjoyed your celebration with us, it was a pleasure, the girls appreciate that a wedding is something a little special so felt a little more effort to make the day for you was needed. your children are lovely, and how they should be, happy and noisy they were brilliant and listened... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Ate here on a quiet Monday evening. The food was excellent, with huge servings! Although I ordered the mushroom stroganoff (delicious), I shared my wife's dinner, which was pork chops topped with apple slices and melted cheese! Next time we eat there, that will be my choice!! The food came hot, delivered by very friendly and attentive servers. And the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stroganoff but enjoyed the somerset pork more. I appreciate the comments for the staff and will pass on your comments to them. hope to see you soon Peter Adams More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

we visited The Begelly arms today Sunday Oct 5, the service was first class , we ordered 4 carvery meals cleared our plates,plenty of food it was delicious and very reasonable . staff were friendly and we all enjoyed . this must be the best restaurant in or around the Tenby area . see you again next weekend .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I note we spoke yesterday after you ate with us and passed on your positive comments to all the staff, interesting to note the difference of opinion between you an the previous reviewer. just goes to show you can only please some of the people some of the time. although 81% of our customers agree with... More

Wooler, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Very poor quality food but wide choice. I would rather pay more for something equal to or better than I would have at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi Pam B Not sure when you called, or what you were served, from your review , That would help us, but also I must ask when you were with us, did you get asked if everything was OK ?, I anticipate that you were, as we ask all customers this question when eating. your review is short and gives... More

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We were looking for a dog friendly pub that showed Sky Sports, I found the Begelly Arms Hotel on as Dog Friendly Website, I then went in to their website which also said they were dog friendly and you could take your dog in to the bar where you could still get Food. On arriving were advised in a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

HI I have to respond as you have left a review, which is strange because you did not drink or eat with us unfortunately. We are dog lovers I have had dogs but do not any longer because of the job I do and am not able to devote time to the dog properly, either to train or love. When... More

Travelers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Whitland, Carmarthenshire
Llanfallteg, Carmarthenshire
 
St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Templeton, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Begelly Arms

Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
Phone Number: +44 1834 812601
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 5 - 28

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing