We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Begelly Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family run Hotel,Inn and restaurant, located in the heart of...
We are a family run Hotel,Inn and restaurant, located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £5.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good food

Whilst not staying at the hotel we did eat there. A group of 5 of us found the food good well presented with pleasant staff. We did have a little time to wait but it was busy and the company in the restaurant was most agreeable.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 15, 2015
Duncan P
,
Leominster
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

A group of friends and I booked a table on a Friday night unfortunately we were 7 minutes late due to traffic. Our welcoming was quite frosty, we awaited our table and 10 minutes later we were approached by the man agrees, she was rude and intimidating, when asked if i could place a starter order shes refused me and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

You'll not be disappointed. We've stopped off here many times over the last few caravan seasons and every time has been enjoyable. Whether it's popping in after a day at Folly Farm or a night out with family and friends, you'll be fed and watered well. Looking forward to our next visit!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

The lunch was excellent both for quality and price. The beef was very tasty and there was a good selection of vegetables.We sat in the conservatory which is very bright and cheery though a little noisy. The staff were very attentive and efficient. It is certainlyadvisable to book at busy times. There is plenty of parking space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Food was good and well presented. Service was a little slow. They need to work out who is taking the first order - after that things improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leominster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Whilst not staying at the hotel we did eat there. A group of 5 of us found the food good well presented with pleasant staff. We did have a little time to wait but it was busy and the company in the restaurant was most agreeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

myself my wife and 18 year old daughter have been here for a meal a few times now it is a very relaxing atmosphere compared to some of the places in the surrounding area, the food is excellent and the plates are so hot when your food arrives that it stays hot even when you have finished your meal you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We had breakfast two days running which was absolutely delicious. Fresh and hot and plenty of it. We also went for evening meal which again was fantastic. Staff were very polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

While on holiday, as a party of nine, we visited The Begelly Arms twice this past week. Both times we have all had delicious meals. There are a large variety of dishes available, all reasonably priced. Home cooked food, freshly cooked and well presented. The staff are friendly and efficient. The Begelly Arms is welcoming and relaxed with a reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

we went to the Begelly arms for an evening meal, the meal was overall average, Gavin behind that bar is lovely!! but the owner and wife out outrageous so rude, definitely not the right job for them defiantly ask Gavin for some tips because your manners our outrageous

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. Even though you say my wife and I were rude we have no recollection of any altercations with customers or rudeness. On the contrary we believe we are as polite as possibe to our customersa whoever they may be. I respect your comments on Gavin he is very good but he has been trained by... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Visited pub early evening, restaurant virtually empty. Asked to have table for 7 and was told it couldn't be done with no explanation or offer to pre book for next day or later. Sat in bar area for drink and watched plenty people come in and eat off the cuff. Never before been told in a half empty restaurant that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

In response to your review as you correctly stated we were not able to book a table for 7 for you as we had already taken other bookings for the time you requested. We take timed bookings for tables and if there is enough time to accomodate tables before bookings we will, however in this case on The Saturday night... More 

Travelers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
Templeton, Pembrokeshire
 
Whitland, Carmarthenshire
St Clears, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 812601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 28
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

We are a family run Hotel,Inn and restaurant, located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £5.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Begelly Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Whitland, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Begelly Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?