We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Forest Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
German, International
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more restaurants in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Marlin # 16, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63732, Mexico
+52 329 295 5203
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and...
We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Dinner

When we walked in we were welcomed by the owner and she made us feel very welcome It has been there for 18 years.

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 4, 2015
Bill Draig J
,
Surrey, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

When we walked in we were welcomed by the owner and she made us feel very welcome It has been there for 18 years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Billy Draig J, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again soon. Andrea Küffner More 

Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

This is another German restaurant this is on the others of Bucerias . The food we had here was a true Germen meal that makes my mouth just water every time I go or thing about this place you won't be disappointed and make sure you try the different beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Gary D, Thanks a lot for your review! We're always happy to read about satisfied regular customers! We're glad you enjoyed your last visit as much as the others and look forward to welcoming you again soon! Cheers Andrea More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Service was bad, food was OK and the Black Forest Cake was terrible. The only good part about this restaurant was the entertainment . I'm a travel agent and I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Ottowananna, I am sorry to hear that you had been not happy with the service and the Black Forest Cake. I do hope you don't judge our restaurant by this one experience. We strive to do just one thing.... Create a nice ambience to serve you. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you ever have any... More 

So. Cal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We were anchored in La Cruz for a few days. While listening the VHF radio we heard that there was going to be a German beer tasting at the Black Forest Restaurant. Being a fan of both German food and German beer, we jumped at the chance to partake. What a great decision. The folks at the restaurant were just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our restaurant. We tremendously enjoyed having you here and we hope that we will see you again in the future. Andrea Küffner More 

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Two couples with our friends wanting to go there based on recommendations from friends of theirs. We had eaten there probably two years ago on a promotion and were indifferent about it so we went along. Friday night music was quite good, though friends seemed somewhat bored with it. Two great guitar players well known on the bay. Other three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ec328888, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our restaurant. We are sorry that not everybody in your party had been satisfied. The chicken liver pate is served here in German tradition: with bread. However our chef Winfried thinks that your suggestion to serve it with crackers is a very good idea and we... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

There were four of us in our party. I had the schnitzel baden-baden which was crispy on the crust and tender inside. My husband had the fish which was very good and the mushroom sauce very yummy. He also had the french onion soup which was the best I've ever tasted. Our friends did not enjoy their Rheinischer Sauerbraten, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Hello Linda, Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us. Sorry to hear that your friends did not enjoy the Sauerbraten. It is strong in taste because it is marinated in red wine and vinegar hence the name "Sauer"Braten. As for... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We went with a group of friends after an all day outing on the ocean. The German food was cooked to perfection. The service was fine, actually everthing was great. If you are craving something for a change other than the typical Mexican fare, eat here. It is a five to ten minute walk from the bus, but easy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Rick, It is great to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope you will com back and visit us soon. Andrea Küffner Black Forest Restaurant More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

First time i went and I loved the strawberry margarita and the ratatouille !!!! And the escargots were incredible the best I've tasted since I last went to the French Market in Venice, CA

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Eva, great that you found us. Thank you very much for your positive review. We always welcome feedback, and will do our best to keep improving our service. We hope to see you back soon. Andrea Küffner Black Forest Restaurant More 

Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I hadn't been to the Black Forest in a while, and after a great dinner I am already planning my next visit. Anyone who enjoys real German food should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Shawn, Thanks for sharing your feedback from your visit at our restaurant. We appreciate your kind words about Valentine's dinner. Hope to see you soon again. Andrea Küffner Black Forest Restaurant More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Who knew? We tried to go here and because of an unseasonal rain they couldn't accommodate us. We went back and were we glad we did!! We had authentic German food in Mexico! My husband ordered knockwurst with sauerkraut and a side of red cabbage. I ordered the catch of the day (mahi mahi) prepared with the most beautiful delicate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Vicki, Thank you so much for your amazing review! I'm happy to hear that you've found us and we all hope to see you again on your next vacation here in La Cruz de Huanacaxlte. Andrea Küffner Black Forest Restaurant. More 

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Restaurant

Address: Marlin # 16, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63732, Mexico
Phone Number: +52 329 295 5203
Location: Mexico  >  Pacific Coast  >  Nayarit  >  Riviera Nayarit  >  La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 7 - 25
Cuisine: German, International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Marlin # 16, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63732, Mexico
  • Location: Mexico  >  Pacific Coast  >  Nayarit  >  Riviera Nayarit  >  La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
  • Phone Number: +52 329 295 5203

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 25
  • Cuisine: German, International

Description

We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Forest Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?