We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
170-26 Aza Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
+81 136-21-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 30 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Great value. Good food. Fun format

This was our favourite place we ate during our 12 day stay. It suited us as it was reasonable value and good quality food and enough to eat.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 13, 2015
Andrew B
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This was our favourite place we ate during our 12 day stay. It suited us as it was reasonable value and good quality food and enough to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Dinner for 3 in self cook Kabuki 1 for a different dinner concept. Theme is teppanyaki with good but small menu. Drinks list also small but good. Self cook a fun way to eat out but small venting means some smoke and smells abound. Food quite nice for a faster dinner meal - about one hour. Service average as no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Ate here with friends 2 nights ago and 2 of us had Okonomiyaki and the other 3 had the Teppenyaki, salmon, chicken and pork. Enjoyed the easiness of cooking our own and it was super tasty. The plate came with a lot of cabbage and small amounts of carrot and capsicum and onion. I'm not overly keen on cabbage but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Dear Charliedoggy, thanks for reviewing your experience at our place and thank you for your positive feedback. Its good to read you and your friends enjoyed our food and the experience of cooking japanese food by yourself. Hopefully, see you again next year:) Best regards Sven More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Ate here tonight. Best wine selection I've seen so far in Japan. Had the pork okonomiyaki, prawn yakisoba and beef teppanyaki. Pork in the okonomiyaki was a bit fatty for my liking

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo Bec_Cassidy_86, thanks for writing a review about Kabuki 1. Thank you for complementing us on our wineselection. We got a brand new wine menu in collaboration with our retailer this season and we are glad you appreciate our effort. I spoke with our headchef and apparently thats the way japanese people prefer it, but as a european i can... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We booked for our 2 families of 10 all up, thinking we were in for teppanyaki with the usual theatrics. We discovered no knife-juggling chef, but that we were to cook ourselves. In the end, it was much better than the usual experience, particularly for the kids who enjoyed the responsibility of cooking for themselves. The food was very very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Dear Rpieck, we appreciate you taking the time giving us your feedback. We are glad we could surprise you and your family with our restaurant concept. Cooking by yourself together with family and friends is always fun, so we trby themselvesy to give our customers the proper guidance to make the most of the teppanyaki and okonomiyaki dishes. I hope... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Go here for the fun and novelty of cooking the food yourself. Fine dining it's not, but then it doesn't pretend to be. Service is really friendly and helpful. The raw ingredients are all top quality and plentiful served in bowls complete with sauces and instructions. Great for the family or group of friends to enjoy a night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo Only1stClass, thanks for taking the time to write about your dining experience! It mirrors what we want the restaurant to be.. a fun place to enjoy japanese cooking with your freinds and family. Our staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed our service. See you next season! Best regards Sven More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

It is a restaurant in which you order the food from a traditional Japanese menu and cook it yourself according to instructions. The food is nice and tasty with all sorts of sauces on the table. Unfortunately the night we were there, there was a large party on two tables with ladies laughing loudly and kids who also made lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you feipo for taking the time and reviewing your Kabuki 1 experience. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the noise, but i am happy to hear that you nevertheless could enjoy your evening. On your next trip to Hirafu i can recommend our early bird special. If you come before 6pm and leave by 7pm, you... More 

Bucks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

A fun evening with nice food. The service was good, friendly and efficient. You cook your own food from a straight forward traditional Japanese menu, at your table. Was easy and fun to do in a group. Would recommend for a fun night out after the slopes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you Hayleyrigg for your positive review! Im happy you and your friends enjoyed our Kabuki-expirience and i will let our staff know about it. Our team put a lot of effort into making positive changes this season and your review exactly reflects what we were going for. Enjoy Niseko come back next season:) Yours sincerely Sven More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kabuki is fun for the novelty effect, I cooked a traditional Japanese omelette which was nice. The teppenyaki was also nice. You are given the ingredients and instructions and you cook it all yourself. We did feel that there were many other options for dining that were better tasting and better value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo wabeachbum and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We took last seasons advice to heart and had some changes made. We now serve Takoyaki as a starter, which is a famous streetfood originated from Osaka and our chef also made some recipe changes for our sauces. I hope we see you again to taste the... More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Best part about Kabuki 1 is that you cook your own food, so we thoroughly enjoyed the whole menu. Not too expensive, decent wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you fez59 for your reply. we are happy you enjoyed your stay. For this season we have a new menu and a brand new selection of wines to accompany your dinner. Please visit us again on your next holiday. Yours sincerely, Sven More 

Travelers who viewed Kabuki 1 also viewed

 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Kabuki 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 170-26 Aza Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
  • Location: Asia  >  Japan  >  Hokkaido  >  Abuta-gun  >  Kutchan-cho
  • Phone Number: +81 136-21-2233

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Japanese
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kabuki 1 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?