We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
170-26 Aza Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
+81 136-21-2233
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Reservations
Good for:
Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 28 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good atmosphere.

Ate here with friends 2 nights ago and 2 of us had Okonomiyaki and the other 3 had the Teppenyaki, salmon, chicken and pork. Enjoyed the easiness of cooking our own and it was super tasty. The plate came with a lot of cabbage and small amounts of carrot and capsicum and onion. I'm not overly keen... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 11, 2015
Charliedoggy
,
Brisbane, Queensland
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Ate here with friends 2 nights ago and 2 of us had Okonomiyaki and the other 3 had the Teppenyaki, salmon, chicken and pork. Enjoyed the easiness of cooking our own and it was super tasty. The plate came with a lot of cabbage and small amounts of carrot and capsicum and onion. I'm not overly keen on cabbage but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Dear Charliedoggy, thanks for reviewing your experience at our place and thank you for your positive feedback. Its good to read you and your friends enjoyed our food and the experience of cooking japanese food by yourself. Hopefully, see you again next year:) Best regards Sven More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Ate here tonight. Best wine selection I've seen so far in Japan. Had the pork okonomiyaki, prawn yakisoba and beef teppanyaki. Pork in the okonomiyaki was a bit fatty for my liking

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo Bec_Cassidy_86, thanks for writing a review about Kabuki 1. Thank you for complementing us on our wineselection. We got a brand new wine menu in collaboration with our retailer this season and we are glad you appreciate our effort. I spoke with our headchef and apparently thats the way japanese people prefer it, but as a european i can... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We booked for our 2 families of 10 all up, thinking we were in for teppanyaki with the usual theatrics. We discovered no knife-juggling chef, but that we were to cook ourselves. In the end, it was much better than the usual experience, particularly for the kids who enjoyed the responsibility of cooking for themselves. The food was very very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Dear Rpieck, we appreciate you taking the time giving us your feedback. We are glad we could surprise you and your family with our restaurant concept. Cooking by yourself together with family and friends is always fun, so we trby themselvesy to give our customers the proper guidance to make the most of the teppanyaki and okonomiyaki dishes. I hope... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Go here for the fun and novelty of cooking the food yourself. Fine dining it's not, but then it doesn't pretend to be. Service is really friendly and helpful. The raw ingredients are all top quality and plentiful served in bowls complete with sauces and instructions. Great for the family or group of friends to enjoy a night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo Only1stClass, thanks for taking the time to write about your dining experience! It mirrors what we want the restaurant to be.. a fun place to enjoy japanese cooking with your freinds and family. Our staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed our service. See you next season! Best regards Sven More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

It is a restaurant in which you order the food from a traditional Japanese menu and cook it yourself according to instructions. The food is nice and tasty with all sorts of sauces on the table. Unfortunately the night we were there, there was a large party on two tables with ladies laughing loudly and kids who also made lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you feipo for taking the time and reviewing your Kabuki 1 experience. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the noise, but i am happy to hear that you nevertheless could enjoy your evening. On your next trip to Hirafu i can recommend our early bird special. If you come before 6pm and leave by 7pm, you... More 

Bucks
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

A fun evening with nice food. The service was good, friendly and efficient. You cook your own food from a straight forward traditional Japanese menu, at your table. Was easy and fun to do in a group. Would recommend for a fun night out after the slopes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you Hayleyrigg for your positive review! Im happy you and your friends enjoyed our Kabuki-expirience and i will let our staff know about it. Our team put a lot of effort into making positive changes this season and your review exactly reflects what we were going for. Enjoy Niseko come back next season:) Yours sincerely Sven More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kabuki is fun for the novelty effect, I cooked a traditional Japanese omelette which was nice. The teppenyaki was also nice. You are given the ingredients and instructions and you cook it all yourself. We did feel that there were many other options for dining that were better tasting and better value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo wabeachbum and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We took last seasons advice to heart and had some changes made. We now serve Takoyaki as a starter, which is a famous streetfood originated from Osaka and our chef also made some recipe changes for our sauces. I hope we see you again to taste the... More 

Tasmania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Best part about Kabuki 1 is that you cook your own food, so we thoroughly enjoyed the whole menu. Not too expensive, decent wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Thank you fez59 for your reply. we are happy you enjoyed your stay. For this season we have a new menu and a brand new selection of wines to accompany your dinner. Please visit us again on your next holiday. Yours sincerely, Sven More 

Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had two meals here. Such a great experience - we knew from the start we were cooking it all ourselves so we were not surprised. Very generous serves and very affordable! Tons of fun and delish meals. The drink service was great also. I like the authentic feeling when sitting on the floor also

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Hallo Mandles84, thank you for taking the time and reviewing our restaurant. Im glad you had fun cooking the japanese way. This season we added interior decor and new japanese cushions for more atmosphere. We hope you visit us again in the future! Yours sincerely, Sven More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a hard days skiing went to Kabuki 1 for dinner. Good wine list. The staff assisted us in choosing our dishes. We then cooked our chicken, salmon, squid and vegetables on our personal hot plate. The restaurant is a fun place to relax and have dinner after a day's skiing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
deepsteep, Manager at Kabuki 1, responded to this review

Dear MarkF54, thank you for visiting Kabuki 1 and taking time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the unique experience of cooking your own Japanese cuisine using fresh ingredients. We try to create a relaxed atmosphere where good food and drink can be shared with friends and family after a day on the mountain. Once again thank you... More 

Travelers who viewed Kabuki 1 also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Kabuki 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 170-26 Aza Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
  • Location: Asia  >  Japan  >  Hokkaido  >  Abuta-gun  >  Kutchan-cho
  • Phone Number: +81 136-21-2233

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Japanese
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kabuki 1 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?