We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Littleton Arms

$$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
St.Michael's Square, Penkridge ST19 5AL, England
01785 716300
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Families with children
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 195 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 85
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
So so

Had Sunday lunch here with friends was just average but that's not to say I wouldn't return , There are better places .

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
MidlanderTrekker
,
midlander
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
midlander
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Had Sunday lunch here with friends was just average but that's not to say I wouldn't return , There are better places .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Expected this restaurant to serve a decent meal but this was not the case. Chicken pie was simply that....a pie with a few triple cooked chips (burnt) in a wire basket, no vegetables to liven it up a bit. I had gammon which was very fatty, salty and tough. If you have a big appetite don't think about eating here....it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the Chicken Pie, it is one of the most popular lunch time dishes. The dish is served as described, home made chicken, leek & ham pie, pastry lid & triple cooked chips. Additional items can be ordered and if extra vegetables were required this would of been delivered. I am sorry you did... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Booked a table for our anniversary had to wait a while to be seated.the advertisement said two mains two sides each one bottle of wine £30 a couple.but on ordering was told didnt want to offer sides for free !! Have to pay .when i phoned &booked the lady who took the booking also said two sides were included.waitress was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal, I spoke to you personally on the night and resolved any concerns or issues you had. I apologise that we ruined your anniversary and felt necessary to write this review but feel I need to offer an explanation. The original steak night indeed came with two sides + plus a... More 

wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Called Sunday Eve for meal at 7.30 did not book but table was available. Food was excellent and something a little different and classy. The dining here never fails to impress me food included black pudding risotto and sea bass with warm salad. Service was excellent with friendly waitress who knew the menu well and was happy to recommend dishes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We had visited the nearby garden centre and asked where they recommended for lunch (they have a restaurant themselves but we wanted something a little better ......) The girls suggested The Littleton Arms and we were really pleased when we got there. It was really busy but they managed to fit us in . The fixed menu for Sunday lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile

i have eaten here several times at lunch or dinner time The staff are friendly ,cheerful and accommodating. At busy times the wooden floors make the restaurant noisy. The menu is more imaginative than the average pub and the quality somewhat higher.Bar prices are competitive.The surroundings are pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Had a chichen dish. Very tasty. Great atmosphere and well priced bar. Great selection of cask beers. Would like this as my local

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My Boyfriend and I had a sublime experience at the lovely Littleton Arms on Saturday night. What fabulous atmosphere and cosy surroundings! We had to wait a little while to be seated at our table however, this gave us chance to sit by the bar and enjoy a nice glass of wine before our meal. I ordered the baked cod... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Came across this whilst staying at a Landmark Trust property nearby. What a gem. Funky looking, various areas cleverly around corners, so the place is large, but it does not feel like it. We were 3, my husband and me and our 2.5yr old daughter. We shared bar snacks and they were excellent - Chicken Goujons, pork pie (Yummy) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This is not the first time we have eaten at the littleton, The food was lovely the menu had something for everyone in our party, The soup was lovely, The fish and chips were excellent and the slow cooked ox cheeks were divine, the sea bass with cous cous was excellent and the portions were a good size, so good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Littleton Arms also viewed

Penkridge, Staffordshire
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Littleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: St.Michael's Square, Penkridge ST19 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Penkridge
  • Phone Number: 01785 716300

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 40

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Littleton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?