We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Littleton Arms

$$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
St.Michael's Square, Penkridge ST19 5AL, England
01785 716300
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Good for:
Families with children
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 200 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 66
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Impressed all round

Having happened across reviews of the Littleton Arms we booked and hoped it would be ok..and were more than satisfied. It's a massive place which has clearly taken a great deal of love and money to refurbish to its current presentation. Initial impressions are plenty of parking, spacious high... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
nonsuchgirls
,
lichfield
via mobile
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

Having happened across reviews of the Littleton Arms we booked and hoped it would be ok..and were more than satisfied. It's a massive place which has clearly taken a great deal of love and money to refurbish to its current presentation. Initial impressions are plenty of parking, spacious high ceilings rooms, an attractive bright and welcoming bar, varying seating options... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

We found the Littleton Arms by accident. We were driving around, looking for a decent Sunday Dinner venue, after visiting the nearby Shugborough Hall. It was really busy, but we found a seat in the bar. Food was lovely. The roast potatoes were as good as home-made ones, the vegetables were imaginative and beautifully fresh, and the meat was tender... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cannock
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Been to this restaurant several times now and on saturday 16th was just rubbish starters cold (scollops/ duck like rubber)this is not the norm but we feel we need to complain. The staff serving we lovely,not bar staff but it was busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry that your second review had to be a complaint and that you did not enjoy your starters, I am happy that the team served you well and next time please let your server know if you did not enjoy your food so we could have resolved any problems or replaced your starters. We have just started the... More 

Mtwapa, Kenya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

There were ten of us, four kids, a teenager, five adults and a dog. We had to eat in the bar because of the dog. They suggested a narrow corner of the bar which turned out to be a perfect fit for us, as there was room for the kids to play with books, games, etc and for the adults... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am happy you and your family had a nice lunch. I have printed off and passed your comments to the whole team. Kind regards Tony later More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Visited the Littleton on Saturday evening for a friends birthday. The service was quick and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. We had a range of starters which were all fantastic, especially the scallops! Mains were large portions and the chicken dish was excellent (despite initial hesitance after reading the menu, the waitress recommended it) Steaks were cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
midlander
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Had Sunday lunch here with friends was just average but that's not to say I wouldn't return , There are better places .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Expected this restaurant to serve a decent meal but this was not the case. Chicken pie was simply that....a pie with a few triple cooked chips (burnt) in a wire basket, no vegetables to liven it up a bit. I had gammon which was very fatty, salty and tough. If you have a big appetite don't think about eating here....it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the Chicken Pie, it is one of the most popular lunch time dishes. The dish is served as described, home made chicken, leek & ham pie, pastry lid & triple cooked chips. Additional items can be ordered and if extra vegetables were required this would of been delivered. I am sorry you did... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Booked a table for our anniversary had to wait a while to be seated.the advertisement said two mains two sides each one bottle of wine £30 a couple.but on ordering was told didnt want to offer sides for free !! Have to pay .when i phoned &booked the lady who took the booking also said two sides were included.waitress was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
tony l, Owner at The Littleton Arms, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal, I spoke to you personally on the night and resolved any concerns or issues you had. I apologise that we ruined your anniversary and felt necessary to write this review but feel I need to offer an explanation. The original steak night indeed came with two sides + plus a... More 

wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Called Sunday Eve for meal at 7.30 did not book but table was available. Food was excellent and something a little different and classy. The dining here never fails to impress me food included black pudding risotto and sea bass with warm salad. Service was excellent with friendly waitress who knew the menu well and was happy to recommend dishes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We had visited the nearby garden centre and asked where they recommended for lunch (they have a restaurant themselves but we wanted something a little better ......) The girls suggested The Littleton Arms and we were really pleased when we got there. It was really busy but they managed to fit us in . The fixed menu for Sunday lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Littleton Arms also viewed

Penkridge, Staffordshire
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Littleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: St.Michael's Square, Penkridge ST19 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Penkridge
  • Phone Number: 01785 716300

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 40

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Littleton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?