We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Hob Inn

8-9 Church Street | Bamber Bridge, Bamber Bridge, Preston PR5 6EP, England
+44 1772 336863
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Description: We are the new owners to Ye Olde Hob Inn and are to launch a new re vamped experience from Easter 2014. Watch this space...
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Description: We are the new owners to Ye Olde Hob Inn and are to launch a new re vamped experience from Easter 2014. Watch this space...
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Popped in for a coffee and was tempted by my friend into having a chocolate fondant desert. It was one of the best I've ever had and the food we saw were hearty portions and looks fantastic and very good value. Will definitely be returning soon. They also replaced a drink I spilled at the bar too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Glad we hit the mark for you. All our fondants are home made and we will be soon starting to make our own ice cream! Hopefully next time if you have some more time, maybe stop for a meal? Cheers once again and see you soon! More

loopybubblelips
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Not been to the hob inn for years so was pleasantly surprised with the decoration and greeting from thr friendly staff. I was recommended cheese pie by the bar staff so went with it and my partner had the deluxe burger with a topping of bacon and cheese. I went there hungry and unfortunately also left hungry. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent visit and review! Yes almost every aspect of our menu is home made, even down to the bread! Sorry in regards to portion sizes, it isnt an exact science and always subjective. But please do call back and hopefully we'll have it 100% for you! Cheers! More

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Arriving to whisper of a new chef, I worried that it was all change for the Hob Inn, after our visit a month or so ago. Same menu, phew (we'd brought guests!) last time we dined there was a wait whilst the food was made, a little on the longer side than I'd normally have waited, but delicious it was.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Went for tea Sunday after reading the reviews , what a mistake ! I ordered the Sunday lunch the only thing edible was the chicken , I had two Yorkshire puddings one was burnt one was raw ! 4 small potatoes which were so hard couldn't put my fork in them 2 was actually black , I think they was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. I was aware of the issue that you had mentioned as my Head Chef had phoned me to come and check it as he was concerned with your issues. I would point out that by 6pm yesterday we had sold 33 roast chicken meals and all had come back with no issues and very... More

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

With places to eat and drink disappearing fast in brig I am grateful that someone is prepared to keep the Hobb afloat but it is up to us, the general public, to do our bit. So what attracts us? A warm welcome, good ale and good food.This place does all these. Now for some possible negatives. I nipped in on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Hi Peter! Im so glad you called to eat with us yesterday. We do have some very busy tea times and Friday is certainly one of those! Fortunately we will be re opening the restaurant area in the coming weeks but as with the external and many parts of the bar area, we are under going cosmetic overhaul. We want... More

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My partner and I visited this pub last night after a recommendation from a friend of ours,I'm not one to really write a review infact i think this is my first but I feel this is owed, I have to admit there was a bit of a wait to receive our food but it was worth it, to start we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I was advised to visit here from a friend and I'm glad I did! We were greeted by a very lovely, happy member of staff with a great smile, her name was Leanne I think. The range of food available on the menu was fantastic, we ordered the pate and seafood cocktail to start. We waited less than 20 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a bite to eat on sunday following shopping, was greeted with a smile and a warm welcome. I had the seabass which was hit and very delicious, hit the mark, my partner had a roast lunch which she described as "the best for a long time" we will be back very soon!!! Top marks!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much! Out Seabass is incredibly popular and Im glad you enjoyed it, as is our Sunday Roasts! Look forward to seeing you again very soon! More

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We rang and booked a table for tonight. When we arrived we ordered some drinks and told the bar man we had a table booked. He told us to go take a seat in the room to the left of the bar which we did and then nothing. We had our drinks waited 40mins and then left. Terrible experience and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Hi there. Im disappointed to see you were not happy. Ive looked into this yesterday and can confirm you did call, book and we had indeed reserved you a table. However we also had a number of other bookings and as we always say, even the most simple aspects of our menu, burgers, bar platters etc, are cooked from scratch.... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I work away a lot with my job which is what took me to this little gem. So much so I returned every time I could! I was always greeted by a smiling barperson who was always attentive any night I went. I went for the deluxe burger, not knowing what to expect and I have to say, previous reviewers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dunkirkhall, Owner at Ye Olde Hob Inn, responded to this review

Brilliant news Paul! Im glad you loved the food! You are correct they are all made from scratch and to order which is why you sometimes have a slightly longer wait than any other 'typical pub'. It really makes us happy to hear we have made customers happy with their experience and do hope you pop in again if ever... More

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Hob Inn also viewed

Bamber Bridge, Preston
Bamber Bridge, Preston
 

Been to Ye Olde Hob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Hob Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing