We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Atlantic Cafe Bar

$$
Fish & Chips, Seafood, British
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more restaurants in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Seafront | Portreath, Portreath TR14 4NN, England
+44 1209 843490
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: We cater for large parties, weddings, birthdays and all other special...
We cater for large parties, weddings, birthdays and all other special occasions please call or email. For all upcoming events please like us on Facebook or visit our website
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 55
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice place

An ideal location for the beach, nice relaxing atmosphere ideal for us to chill out with a good coffee and a cake. Will definitely return. Didn't try the cooked food but will probably have a meal next time,

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 1, 2015
Kareen G
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

We enjoy fish & chips at the beach and really looked forward to our holiday treat. Called in at 2.30 pm yesterday, on arrival informed there were no chips as the delivery had not arrived. Paid £14 for 2 battered cod pieces, 8 pieces of scampi and 2 sausages. The fish was warm and very crispy, had clearly been cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review, although I am very disappointed you chose to air your grievances on here rather than coming back to speak to the manager. Unfortunately we were massively let down by "Hunts food" (a company I will no longer be using) Hunts were late on their normal delivery time and when I rang to ask what... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 NEW

An ideal location for the beach, nice relaxing atmosphere ideal for us to chill out with a good coffee and a cake. Will definitely return. Didn't try the cooked food but will probably have a meal next time,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank for your comments, hope to see you again soon. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Nice to eat so close to the beach. There is a small take away option as well which works very well for sitting at the beach. Service and staff very efficient and pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, hope to see you again one day!! More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

What a surprise this place is. From the outside it looks a bit like it could be just fish and chips and bacon baps but inside it's the total opposite. It's really clean and fresh looking, the staff are lovely and the menu is great. We had Thai cod and prawn fish cakes and salad which were just £2.20 each!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, our vision is honest offerdable freshly cooked food in a great location with a nice atmosphere so your review means a lot that it's being appreciated. Thanks again, hope to see you again soon. More 

Altrincham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Had fantastic Fish & Chips today, well cooked. Fish was great, happy to do in light batter. Chips were excellent. Our 2 boys had the chicken bites, they really enjoyed them. Best takeaway locally.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

That's a great review, thank you. Glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again one day!! More 

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

just under new management, only 4 days when we called. The staff were very good and provided good service, we both had fish, haddock and hake and both very good and excellent value. If you are looking for a break that won't break the bank but with quality food right by a lovely beach give the Anlantic a try, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for that great review!! So glad you enjoyed your visit!! More 

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Pleasantly surprised by this place. Lovely fresh food, very reasonably priced, quick and friendly service. Would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Great review!!,.. Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Atlantic!! More 

Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Called in one recent lunchtime, but will not be repeating the experience anytime soon. Firstly the staff were very poorly trained, in fact I'd be surprised if they had received anything other than some very basic waiting instructions. Our particular waiter got our order completely wrong, he took an order for something that wasn't available and when asked what the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Hi, very sorry to read your disappointment on your visit. It's was only our second day of opening under new ownership and I remember your visit well. You sat on table 2 outside. It was your waiters first day and yes possibly too under trained but as you can imagine it was a whirlwind first few days with a lot... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Whilst on Portreath this restaurant reopened following its closure and my partner and I thought to give it ago. Mixed feelings about this place I had a Nachos with Chilli....may I say this was very nice. My partner only had chips and curry sauce as despite having various "Posh" mixed fishcakes on the menu were unable to make just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are new owners, ( very new when you visited), think " working progress" is a prase I'd use I.e. Staffing levels. As to decor and things left from previous owners, we've changed a lot in a small time period with more to come, artwork from local artist remains but a lot of people like... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

We have just finished our cod and chips from the Atlantic cafe bar takeaway. Top quality fish, fantastic batter, great chips. The best fish and chips I have had in a long time. The most amazing thing however is the price £4.50 for cod and chips!!! Absolutely amazing value. I believe the restaurant is under new management, well done to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Phil G, Owner at The Atlantic Cafe Bar, responded to this review

Great review,.. Thank you! More 

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Portreath, Cornwall
 

Been to The Atlantic Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Cafe Bar

Address: The Seafront | Portreath, Portreath TR14 4NN, England
Phone Number: +44 1209 843490
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Portreath
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 3 - 19
Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Seafront | Portreath, Portreath TR14 4NN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Portreath
  • Phone Number: +44 1209 843490

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 19
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British

Description

We cater for large parties, weddings, birthdays and all other special occasions please call or email. For all upcoming events please like us on Facebook or visit our website
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Atlantic Cafe Bar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Atlantic Cafe Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?