We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Matakana Restaurants

Plume Restaurant

49A Sharp Rd, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
09 422 7915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Matakana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Thu - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vineyard restaurant...a beautiful rural vineyard valley restaurant surrounded by glens and dales with a rustic envioronment. Not fine dining as a big city but fine dining all the same.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    53
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

All our meals came out at different times after waiting an extended period for them and they were very average

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I've just come back from a corporate lunch. The service was appaulingly slow. It took 90mins for our first course to come and it was cold. The quail egg was over cooked. The staff were very inexperienced and the service was dreadful. The main course was dry and cold. Really, really disappointed. I expected a lot more. I will certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put down this review. The organiser of the function had given us specific numbers for the Vegetarians which always require specific catering and as such there were some vegetarians who ate fish, there were some who ate eggs and then there was one fully vegetarian. We were absolutely ready to serve Lunch as... More 

Auckland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I have dined at this restaurant several times and each time I think maybe this time everything will be okay, sadly not. I booked quite a while ago and had to change twice as they had private functions booked. We were seated in the outside area with only one heater working. Our waitress was very pleasant but I am not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We had Grab One vouchers and thought we may be treated differently from full paying customers but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a dinner and a lunch here and the food and service were excellent. We asked for an outside table for my birthday lunch and we got one. The Sticky date pudding was the best desert I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Great menu, my salmon was cooked to perfection & melted in the mouth..my friends tuna was just a tad over cooked, but only a tad. Redeemed by a great sticky date pudding & I enjoyed my chocolate mouse..Lamb, pork belly & beef also on the menu & the Estate Rose wine was beautiful. A busy night with new/ inexperienced wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A very special celebration get together was ruined by the terrible service received. Even though we had pre booked and arrived right on time! Staff were not ready for us and never caught up throughout the event. Wine was served without glasses. Steak served with no steak knives available (as other patrons were already using them all - even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We had an excellent, enjoyable and knowledgable wine tasting hosted by a very hospitable wine aficionado - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Had family event there and was great. Outdoor grass area was great for kids and birthday celebrations

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Through the impressive, massive wooden doors to a spacious reception area (take time to read the blackboard quotes) to be greeted and shown to our table by a friendly staff member. No problems with Grab One booking. Spacious indoor and outdoor dining area with ample room between tables. Our friendly waitress explained the menu and the specials for us. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Plume restaurant is almost fine dining but keeps it real for us ordinary folk. The food is fantastic and I believe has a Mediterranean, Asian & Pacific fusion. The service is great with nice friendly staff but the bonus is that they have their own winery called Runner Duck Estate! If you like reds, I recommend the Black Velvet 2010... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Plume Restaurant also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Plume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume Restaurant

Address: 49A Sharp Rd, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
Phone Number: 09 422 7915
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Matakana
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm  6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm  6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm  6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 0 - 30
Cuisine: New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plume Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?