We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Masons Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
41 Lower Odcombe | Yeovil, Odcombe, Yeovil BA22 8TX, England
+44 1935 862591
Add hours for Masons Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Masons Arms is a picture postcard thatched pub in a pretty hamstone...
The Masons Arms is a picture postcard thatched pub in a pretty hamstone village. We offer luxury en suite rooms, fabulous meals, microbrewery on site and a warm welcome! You can benefit from a quiet rural location surrounded by picturesque countryside whilst only 10 minutes from the A303 and minutes from the amenities available in Yeovil town centre.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 125 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice Food and Good Beer

I wouldn't agree with the comments about service here as the lads serving were all attentive and gave us space as well as ensuring orders were taken. I'd agree the food is pricey - more gastro-pub level - but it was very good food. The beer was excellent and definitely worth indulging. We... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
IanandGilly
,
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

We eat here late on Saturday and had to amend our booking time en route. The staff could not have been friendlier before and during our stay (we were camping also). The food was amazing and we felt very good value. Both my wife and I along with our young daughter and two dogs were made to feel really welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

Having been recommended by a friend despite recent reviews thought I would give it a go. Thankfully I booked in advance as it was busy but despite this the staff were great and friendly with good interaction with customers. The food was amazing and definitely worth the price for excellent, well presented home made grub. Would both recommend and visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

I wouldn't agree with the comments about service here as the lads serving were all attentive and gave us space as well as ensuring orders were taken. I'd agree the food is pricey - more gastro-pub level - but it was very good food. The beer was excellent and definitely worth indulging. We stayed on the campsite which was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your meal and stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the furture. More 

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

A little on the expensive side compared to other local pubs who offer similar quality food. That being said the portions were on the large side and the menu quite varied. Where the pub really fell down though is service; from the moment we arrived until leaving the various staff members we came into contact with were disinterested and bordering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I was really sorry to read that your experience here was so poor. We have just undergone a refurbishment which we are very excited about and introduced table service which is proving to have a few teething problems. I will be calling an urgent meeting with all my staff and drawing their attention to this and other comments in the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Picture perfect from the outside Big disappointment inside - no real fires just electric 'coal effect' ones Food was good quality pub style but service was slow and you have to hunt for condiments from other tables - why don't they just buy more?

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read of your experience with us recently. I'm afraid the real fires were taken out in the 70's due to concerns regarding the thatch and the cost of complying with fire regulations. I agree with you it is a real shame as a real fire is lovely, unfortunately it is beyond our budget to reinstate... More 

Ilminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The food was lovely though probably over priced. The evening meal was booked for 7.30am and it took some time before someone took our order and a while before our starter arrived. Eventually we cleared our own plates onto the bar and it was nearly 9pm before main course turned up and not a single apology for keeping us waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your experience with us was so disappointing. A few recent reviews have similarly pointed to a drop in our usual high service standards. Following our recent refurbishment we have just moved to table service and clearly there are a few teething issues that need to be addressed. I can assure you we will... More 

London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I was housesitting in Odcombe for a weekend with my 5 month old while my wife was away, and went here for breakfast. Sadly I was the only person eating at 0930 on a Saturday morning - I think it deserves more custom. The eggs benedict I had were excellent. And the staff were very helpful with my baby, giving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. Going out for breakfast is not as popular in this country as some others but we are often very busy and always at weekends during the summer. Personally it's my favourite meal of the day and if I have time I ask the chefs to make... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Average just about says it all and it just scrapes into this category. Apart from the service which is excruciatingly slow and sloppy. Descriptions on the menu sound much better than the food on the plate and there are far far better options for a pub meal in the area so look for them first.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us as although we are currently struggling with some teething issues since changing to full table service our food is not normally considered 'average', we take great pride in serving well above average meals. I hope that you will consider trying us again and we will be able to impress you both... More 

Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We went for an evening meal with some friends. The meal was very good and tasty it looked a bit small but was well full up when I left.only had two courses with sticky toffee pudding for afters. The staff work hard t keep up there standards. We live locally it's a pub we use as they are always friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us, we work hard to keep our standards high and the sticky toffee pudding is legendary! More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

£12 for a scampi burger the menu said. I thought ok this might be interesting a nice pattie made from scampi/monkfish tail... Different. Well forget it. 6 pieces of shop bought breaded scampi in a bun with some lettuce, accompanied by some tasteless coleslaw, undercooked chips, and onion rings dripping in oil! When I told the barstaff I didn't think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us, we do take all comments seriously and investigate all thoroughly. We have added the scampi burger recently as a special, and although it has been very popular we have reviewed the price after reading your comments. I hope you will... More 

Travelers who viewed Masons Arms also viewed

 

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 41 Lower Odcombe | Yeovil, Odcombe, Yeovil BA22 8TX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil  >  Odcombe
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 862591

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine

Description

The Masons Arms is a picture postcard thatched pub in a pretty hamstone village. We offer luxury en suite rooms, fabulous meals, microbrewery on site and a warm welcome! You can benefit from a quiet rural location surrounded by picturesque countryside whilst only 10 minutes from the A303 and minutes from the amenities available in Yeovil town centre.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Masons Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?