We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
41 Lower, Odcombe, England
01935 862591
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Odcombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Masons Arms is a picture postcard thatched pub in a pretty hamstone village. We offer luxury en suite rooms, fabulous meals, microbrewery on site and a warm welcome! You can benefit from a quiet rural location surrounded by picturesque countryside whilst only 10 minutes from the A303 and minutes from the amenities available in Yeovil town centre.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We went for an evening meal with some friends. The meal was very good and tasty it looked a bit small but was well full up when I left.only had two courses with sticky toffee pudding for afters. The staff work hard t keep up there standards. We live locally it's a pub we use as they are always friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us, we work hard to keep our standards high and the sticky toffee pudding is legendary! More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

£12 for a scampi burger the menu said. I thought ok this might be interesting a nice pattie made from scampi/monkfish tail... Different. Well forget it. 6 pieces of shop bought breaded scampi in a bun with some lettuce, accompanied by some tasteless coleslaw, undercooked chips, and onion rings dripping in oil! When I told the barstaff I didn't think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us, we do take all comments seriously and investigate all thoroughly. We have added the scampi burger recently as a special, and although it has been very popular we have reviewed the price after reading your comments. I hope you will... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch with my parents ahead of Christmas. Having visited 2 years ago I was expecting good things. How wrong could I have been. Waited over 1 hour for our roasts, 3 beef and 2 Pork with crackling. First off no crackling evident, upon questioning I was told "chef's burnt it". Doubt this was the truth. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you feel your meal was so disappointing, it was a very busy lunch and the chefs did their best to serve all meals promptly but there was indeed a wait for your meals and for this I full heartedly apologize. Fresh food and high standards will always mean that meals cannot always be ‘fast’ when... More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I have never eaten here before and went for a works, xmas evening meal. If you want a warm, cosy, atmosphere in a thatched, Somerset country inn. Then, look no further. What a delight !! The service was excellent and attentive. The food was not just plonked on the plate, but creative thought was given to the presentation. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Odcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

I ate at the Masons Arms for my works Christmas meal on Thursday 11 December, the meal was very good, I had parsnip soup to start, roast turkey and vegetables for main course and cheese and biscuits for dessert, all of which was very good, but it was a shame we were allocated in what I call the wrong place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dartmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed on the campsite for 2 nights to visit nearby Montacute House, & many local walks, we decided to try out the restaurant within the pub. Good choice of breakfast, pot full of hot coffee, excellent Eggs benedict, with home made sauce. Like the idea of their own chickens/eggs clucking outside the camper. We took our dogs who were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I'm an avid home cook and love my Sunday roasts so it's hard to find a decent one when dining out. The Masons Arms certainly delivered this weekend. The starter of duck pate was divine. The Yorkshires are huge and done to perfection. The gravy was amazing. The beef was tender and delicious. The setting is delightful in an old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We had a lovely meal here. Large portions for the roast meals, Yorkshires were massive. Excellent presentation. Staff were very friendly and obliging. Only issue was the chocolate brownie was slightly hard/dry on the outside. Advisable to prebook your table as they get very busy on weekends. We will be back! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
masonsarms, General Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, We hope to see you back for Sunday lunch (or any other other meal time for that matter!) soon! More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Village location a couple of miles away from town, expensive but very tasty food. Busy, warm, friendly environment and very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Today we visited Odcombe which is a fabulous ham stone village tucked off the beaten track with commanding views of Somerset and beyond. The Masons Arms is a charming village pub with a picturesque thatch and ancient honey coloured walls. The interior also has the feel of 'Days gone by', with cosy corners and candle lit tables. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Masons Arms also viewed

 

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: 41 Lower, Odcombe, England
Phone Number: 01935 862591
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Odcombe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Masons Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?