We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Bar & Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Seafood, Mediterranean, English, Eclectic
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
46-50 Oldham Road | Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
+44 1422 825880
Website
Today
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Wed 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Good for:
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 314 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 214
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date night with the husband.

First visit since the refurbishment and it was Fantastic. Really great atmosphere and excellent service by all staff. The duck warm salad was one of the best starters I have ever had. Main courses consisted of a pasta dish of monk fish, prawns and scallops..it was amazing. Hubby had a 10oz ribeye... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
Nicola918
,
Mirfield
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Went for Afternoon Tea - had a picnic bench.... so disappointing. Not special at all. Inexperienced staff. Wont go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

Sat for 30mins before even receiving menus. I have been twice now on Saturday early evening and the service is atrocious. You are lucky to get a waitresses attention. The owner/head waitress seems very arrogant. Will not revisit

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mirfield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

First visit since the refurbishment and it was Fantastic. Really great atmosphere and excellent service by all staff. The duck warm salad was one of the best starters I have ever had. Main courses consisted of a pasta dish of monk fish, prawns and scallops..it was amazing. Hubby had a 10oz ribeye steak and loved it with the peppercorn sauce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

I came here with 18 of my work colleagues for a leaving meal as one of our staff was moving schools. It was disappointing to say the least. We arrived at 7pm for a drink (table booked for 7.30) and there was no seats available so we had to stand. It was a tad squashed and I personally felt like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Just had a fantastic Picnic Bench Afternoon at The Fox Bistro. The food was excellent; one of the nicest afternoon teas we have had! The hospitality was great and staff very friendly. Will definitely be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Myself and 4 friends visited on Sunday 22nd March to celebrate a friends 40th birthday. I arrived early and was greeted by a rude lady behind the bar - no smile, no welcome ... it felt like I was intruding on her personal time rather than her being helpful and guiding me to the table / offering me a drink!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

There was a time when I'd stopped going to The Fox to eat not because of the food which has always been excellent but because the service could be variable. The time came to try again and I have been impressed with the changes. Though midweek the restaurant was quite busy and the service received was excellent. 'Gavin' that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Despite starving ourselves all morning in anticipation of our picnic bench lunch at 1pm, we still had to bring some goodies home. Fortunately the staff were prepared for this as lots of people were going home with take out-cartons. Five mini savoury portions followed by 8 or 9 sweets ones. My idea of heaven! nice not having to choose just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I took my mum to the fox on Mother's Day. The service from entering to leaving was awful, as we arrived there was nobody there to greet us or show us our table, when we did get seated by a very miserable looking member of staff we were given the menus and left, no explanation of the Mother's Day menus,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
melaniet77, Owner at The Fox Bar & Bistro, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Abby, I am writing this response as I have been trying to contact you for over a week now regarding your letter to me dated 15th March. As you said, I immediately acknowledged your complaint , apologised for the service not being up to our usual high standard (which you have previously experienced) and said I would investigate... More 

West yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Good Points We had the picnic bench afternoon tea which I would highly recommend. Large selection of mini sized portioned food with a mini milkshake and teapot of tea for £13.95. Not so Good Unfortunately there is no car park so had to find a roadside space which was not easy as there are also roadworks on that stretch of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The Fox Bar & Bistro also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 46-50 Oldham Road | Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Sowerby Bridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1422 825880

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 44
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Mediterranean, English, Eclectic

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox Bar & Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?