We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Inn

$$
Brew Pub, Bar, British, English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
188 Ringwood Road | Wimborne, Ferndown BH22 9AP, England
01202 873778
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Angel Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 214 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 52
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 41
    Average
  • 32
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Pleasant food and staff

We made a last minute booking early on a Friday evening and our call was taken by a very helpful Niki who confirmed a nice table was available. The table was well located in a cosy feeling room and the menu was interesting "pub" food. Pork belly, liver, salmon and scampi were liked, as were the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 20, 2015
MichaelShortlands
,
Bromley, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

We made a last minute booking early on a Friday evening and our call was taken by a very helpful Niki who confirmed a nice table was available. The table was well located in a cosy feeling room and the menu was interesting "pub" food. Pork belly, liver, salmon and scampi were liked, as were the accompaniments , and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

Had not been here before, but the menu was one of the best I have seen. A very good variety of dishes all clearly marked for vegetarians or glutin-free; some nice sharing dishes on offer; and we particularly liked the offer of 'mini puds' at £2 for when you've eaten well on the mains and cannot manage full-sized puds. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Been here several times and always find it a good place to stop. The only small gripe was the time from ordering the getting the food was inconsistent most times it was fine but have had to wait even though the place was quite a couple of times.this wouldn't stop me coming back though as just had to have another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we love it at the angel too. My apologies if you ever had to wait but as you’ve seen it gets really busy here and occasionally this does effect the timings on food. But look forward to welcoming you for your next visit. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Went for a lunch with my sister , not visited here for years so didn't know what to expect. The service was friendly and professional. Food was pleasing to the eye and tasted every bit as good as it looked ! We ate in the garden which is massive and goes further back than you ever thought ! Its huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, welcome back to the angel, I’m really glad you had a good time here and our garden is heavenly especially during the recent sunny weather we’ve been having. See you again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Myself and my partner have been here a few times and have always had great service and lovely food. We needed a quick lunch today between work and was ordered and came out quickly and was delicious. Definitely be going back, and will recommend to friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great pit stop for a quick weekday business lunch and if you are in a hurry feel free to call through your order (Monday to Friday) and we’ll do our upmost to have it ready for you when you arrive. See you soon More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Used to love going to the angel but after today will never go there again . Service very slow my order was fine my partners was cold and was sent back half hour later got an okay meal . Asked did we want a puddingspartner did half hour later 3scoops of ice cream arrived how long does that take. Rubbish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear your partner was unhappy with their meal for this I can only apologise but I’m glad we got it back to you in quick time, yes unfortunately we are very busy and especially during this Aprils sunny weather this can occasionally affect the waiting time as is explained at the time... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

It was such a pleasure to be served by Niki, she was bubbly, efficient, so good with people you could see she loved what she was doing. This lady deserves a top position in your restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, yes Niki is a great team member a true Angel! More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Went for lunch and although they were not very busy our food took nearly an hour to arrive. I was in the process of getting a refund when the food eventually arrived and as a gesture of goodwill they did refund and allow us to eat I would not rush back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear you found the service slow, it doesn’t always look as busy as we are, we are a big place with a massive garden so can seem quiet when in fact we are choc-a-block, but I’m glad we rectified the issue in house before you left. More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This pub used to be great but sadly it has really gone downhill in the last few years. Tonight was a point in case when we had booked a table for 6pm on a Sunday evening, looking forward to a roast dinner and they had already run out - with 3 1/2 hours' service left! Various other items that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, yes unfortunately by 6pm we have usually run out of Sunday lunch as we are very busy on Sundays, if you are booking for Sunday evening and would like a traditional Sunday lunch please feel free to let us know at the time of booking and we’ll reserve some for you. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Visiting Bournemouth for the weekend, I ate here tonight with my wife, sister and brother in law and our niece and nephew. We were served by Tom who was attentive, without being intrusive and he had a great sense of humour. We didn't have a starter as most of us wanted to save ourselves for a dessert as Tom had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m really glad you had a good time here at the Angel, we pride ourselves on our serves and Tom is a great team member, a true Angel, If you are ever in this area again be sure to pay us a visit. Hope to welcome you again . More 

Travelers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

 
Ferndown, Dorset
 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 188 Ringwood Road | Wimborne, Ferndown BH22 9AP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Ferndown
  • Phone Number: 01202 873778

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 21
  • Cuisine: Brew Pub, Bar, British, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?