We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bush Pillow Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
47 Sonn Road, Otjiwarongo 9000, Namibia
Special Offer
20% on Great Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bush Pillow Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bush Pillow Guest House
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
39
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

what a lovely stay I had at this wonderful guesthouse. the staff were friendly and overall the service was fantastic. I would recommend anyone to stay here a few nights while travelling in the Otjiwarongo district.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a "lovely stay" at Bush Pillow. Our staff appreciate your feedback too and their response is that they are happy at Bush Pillow so it really makes it easy to be friendly to the guests. From our point of view we are happy that they are doing a splendid job. Looking forward to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Very friendly and helpfull hosts who are also the owners. Facilities very good and everything works. Ample safe parking. A very good English breakfast was served. Wil recommend it for sure for people travelling in Namibia

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your encouragement. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Bush Pillow and that you would recommend us to travellers coming to Otjiwarongo. We are constantly trying to improve our facilities while at the same time remaining responsible providers of accommodation. To this end we are very glad that we are the... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Great value. Good service. Very helpful in trying to find a restaurant that was open over the easter weekend. It's a shame that they do not offer dinner. However, it would be nice to have wireless on the weekend. The owners should not switch it off when they leave the premises.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Petra: We generally do offer dinner, but it must be pre-booked. Our dinners are very special and preparation is anything from 3 to 5 hours. We do not do the hastily prepared restaurant variety of food. And we do it personally. So next time please make sure to book on a Dinner, BEd and Breakfast basis. We would be... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

It is located in a quiet part of the town. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the wifi is working quite well. The reception and the dining area are nice decorated and the breakfast is very good. We just stayed for a night and our stay was very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear George We are very happy that you liked your stay at Bush Pillow. Our staff are well trained and they enjoy hearing that their efforts are recognised to ensure that our guests have a spotlessly clean environment. Also with regard to our food - we are happy you enjoyed breakfast. Next time do remember that we also prepare dinner.... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I have had a great stay at Bush Pillow. One thing i would recommend is that the bathroom I had to use had very poor water pressure in the shower and the hot and cold water was a problem to mix quite right. Otherwise the food was excellent and the rooms very clean and comfortable with nice beds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear T Pretorius: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to do everything possible to make our guests happy. With regard to the poor pressure. We were actually appalled regarding this when you came to mention it to us, but we did not quite understand until we had investigated the reason. It so... More 

Stuttgart
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We had a wonderful time at Bush Pillow guest House. Breakfast was very delicious and we got really helpful tipps for our Tour through namibia from the owner of the guesthouse. we are looking forward to visit it again. A perfect stopover for visiting ccf or waterberg. I really recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jessica: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would want to visit us again. When making a booking again, please remind us that you have been here and we would gladly host you for dinner as a special treat. We are also glad that you found our tips helpful. We really try to... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Good room (unfortunately the shower was cold, but otherwise good), lots of space, nice chill-out outside, small swimming pool, good breakfast. Very secured with a large wall and fence. Parking within the walls and for free. Good restaurant closeby, but due to safety issues only reachable by car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review. We are sorry that you only had cold water though as it does just take a little while longer to get hot water to that room. It is the furthest away from the boiler. Otjiwarongo is actually a very safe little town and we also have a very active neighbourhood watch patrolling the town... More 

Meckenbeuren
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Bush Pillow 'Guest House is a very nice, peaceful place in Otjiwarango.They have nice garden with pool, safe parking place and a very good breakfast. Good restaurants close by. It is very good place on the way to and from the Etosha park. We really can recommend the guest house.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation. We really do strive to do our best for our guests and if we succeed it makes us very happy. We are also glad that you enjoyed the restaurants in the area. Neville Neveling More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We as a family have stayed in a lot of these type accommodations before, and Bush Pillow definitely rates as one of the best ! The owners was friendly and hands-on, rooms was clean and well decorated, and breakfast was delicious. Will see us again if going past on our next trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Henry C: It was great having you at our Guesthouse. We are glad you enjoyed it and that we could be helpful. Looking forward to your next visit. Neville Neveling More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

After landing in Windhoek, we decided to stay at the Bush Pillow Guest House on our way to Etosha. We had a great stay - the guest house is very cute (pool, yard, home-like living room, etc.) - service was exceptional (Neil provided great tips for Etosha and offered us two bottles wine as the shops nearby were closed) -... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind report. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially after the long flights. It was great having you visit our Guesthouse. We are also happy you enjoyed the wine - although it is non-alcoholic and organic - we know they are fantastic. We go to a lot of trouble to source... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay