We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bush Pillow Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
47 Sonn Road, Otjiwarongo 9000, Namibia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bush Pillow Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bush Pillow Guest House
Add Photo

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
41
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely guest house with spacious rooms and various living areas. Great garden area with a braai room. The hosts were really welcoming and went the extra mile to offer us impromptu use of their conference center and projector, screens etc. Ideal for business and pleasure stays

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baldivis, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for the one night on our way back to Windhoek. We found the service here was very helpful and accomodating. The room itself was nothing flash but it was comfortable. The cooked breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Overall this was a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A brief overnight stay as we headed north towards Etosha National Park. This is a lovely little family run B&B with secure off-street parking. We had the room closest to the reception area and were the only guests that night. We hadn't arranged a meal but that is an option if you are organised and let them know. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful family-run guest house in Otjiwarongo, and it makes the perfect stopover for any trip to / from Etosha. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast served in the morning was very delicious. The hosts were very accommodating and I enjoyed my morning conservations with them. It's quiet here, so no need to worry about noise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really do try and provide a value for money experience and we are very happy if we succeed in that. As you have mentioned the Africat and CCF it is noteworthy to know that we gladly arrange and take our visitors on these excursions. You can reserve them with Bush Pillow... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

what a lovely stay I had at this wonderful guesthouse. the staff were friendly and overall the service was fantastic. I would recommend anyone to stay here a few nights while travelling in the Otjiwarongo district.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a "lovely stay" at Bush Pillow. Our staff appreciate your feedback too and their response is that they are happy at Bush Pillow so it really makes it easy to be friendly to the guests. From our point of view we are happy that they are doing a splendid job. Looking forward to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Very friendly and helpfull hosts who are also the owners. Facilities very good and everything works. Ample safe parking. A very good English breakfast was served. Wil recommend it for sure for people travelling in Namibia

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your encouragement. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Bush Pillow and that you would recommend us to travellers coming to Otjiwarongo. We are constantly trying to improve our facilities while at the same time remaining responsible providers of accommodation. To this end we are very glad that we are the... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Great value. Good service. Very helpful in trying to find a restaurant that was open over the easter weekend. It's a shame that they do not offer dinner. However, it would be nice to have wireless on the weekend. The owners should not switch it off when they leave the premises.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Petra: We generally do offer dinner, but it must be pre-booked. Our dinners are very special and preparation is anything from 3 to 5 hours. We do not do the hastily prepared restaurant variety of food. And we do it personally. So next time please make sure to book on a Dinner, BEd and Breakfast basis. We would be... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

It is located in a quiet part of the town. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the wifi is working quite well. The reception and the dining area are nice decorated and the breakfast is very good. We just stayed for a night and our stay was very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear George We are very happy that you liked your stay at Bush Pillow. Our staff are well trained and they enjoy hearing that their efforts are recognised to ensure that our guests have a spotlessly clean environment. Also with regard to our food - we are happy you enjoyed breakfast. Next time do remember that we also prepare dinner.... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I have had a great stay at Bush Pillow. One thing i would recommend is that the bathroom I had to use had very poor water pressure in the shower and the hot and cold water was a problem to mix quite right. Otherwise the food was excellent and the rooms very clean and comfortable with nice beds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear T Pretorius: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to do everything possible to make our guests happy. With regard to the poor pressure. We were actually appalled regarding this when you came to mention it to us, but we did not quite understand until we had investigated the reason. It so... More 

Stuttgart
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We had a wonderful time at Bush Pillow guest House. Breakfast was very delicious and we got really helpful tipps for our Tour through namibia from the owner of the guesthouse. we are looking forward to visit it again. A perfect stopover for visiting ccf or waterberg. I really recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamTourismCritique, Owner at Bush Pillow Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jessica: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would want to visit us again. When making a booking again, please remind us that you have been here and we would gladly host you for dinner as a special treat. We are also glad that you found our tips helpful. We really try to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay