We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birgkarhaus Hotel

Nr 191, Muhlbach am Hochkonig A-5505, Austria
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birgkarhaus Hotel
Professional photos View all
Birgkarhaus Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Not quite sure where the previous reviewer is coming from ... if you order a drink in a hotel and it is served to you, I don't quite know why you wouldn't expect to pay for it! And we found the accommodation, food and drink prices to be very fair. We stayed for 5 nights, in a very comfortable, recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stuchapman11, Front Office Manager at Birgkarhaus Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you had such a good time and hope to see you again soon! More 

London, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you are going to charge people for every serving of water, tea, coffee etc you should make it clear at the time and get a signature before adding it to the room bill. This is normal practice in a hotel. Especially if the price being levied for non-alcoholic drinks is exhorbitant. I would just like to warn future guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stuchapman11, Front Office Manager at Birgkarhaus Hotel, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry if our system was intransparent, we have never experienced any negative feedback in regards to pricing before. We never charge for water unless it is mineral water and we thought it is obvious that guests are going to be charged for any other drinks they order. However you have unlimited tea and coffee for breakfast and... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a great time at Birgkarhaus. I've been to the holiday during both winter and summer season. Slopes are great and make a great day out during the winter. In the summer it works as a great place to say when going up the climb behind the hotel. I recommend this hotel to everyone; family, friends; couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stuchapman11, Front Office Manager at Birgkarhaus Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us! Hope to see you soon! - Tünde Toth More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from Birgkarhaus. Fantastic hotel, just refurbished. great staff and wonderful food. We couldn't have asked for more. The sauna is great. Skiable to the lifts and back to the hotel. Ski bus stops outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was recommended this place by a very good friend. I went in January for the first time skiing to this resort, with a group of old friends. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we were looked after and catered for by the the Birgkarhaus team lead by the Manager/Head Chef Ben. The hotel is furnished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel recommended also for hikers, who wants spent the night before/after a hard climbing in a cheap room without any extra conveniences. We got a (cheap) room with 2 double-deck beds, toilet/shower from the corridor, buffet breakfast + usage of wellness stuff + Hochkönig card (with this card you can use buses/mountain lifts/swimming pool in the city/e-bike FREE) Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We found this British/Austrian fusion hotel by chance, as the accomodation we had booked in the next village along had been re-let leaving us roomless 8 weeks before our New Year holiday! We put a request on the Ski Amade website and the Birgkarhaus came to our rescue. The hotel is British owned and run, but it does try and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice location, kind and smiley staff, delicious food. We didnt expect to have such a nice stay and together with great weather and perfect ski slopes it was a nice surprise! Hotel is being refurbished, ground floor already looking great (warm brittish style), rooms are looking bit older but offering all the comfort you may need. Appreciate free wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

the Birgkarhaus is a great place to be. a wonderful view and very nice people. you won't find a better place to stay the night befor you do the 'köngsjodler'. and after it you will find a cool bath and a cool Beer and a warm wiener Schnitzel there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were extremely pleased with the overall experience at the Birgkarhaus Hotel. I came accross the listing on trip advisor when i was researching places to stay around Salzburg. We were traveling from Canada accross Europe and decided to stay in a remote spot somewhere in the Alps. We had stayed in many places along the way but i can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay