We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro

Certificate of Excellence
Via Fantini, 1, 40068 San Lazzaro di Savena, Italy (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bologna)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    99
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
43
8
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
NJ USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The group I was with, spent two nights here on our Italy tour, I must say the hotel is spotless, the front desk staff were polite, the bar man was doubling as a waiter and very over worked but the wait staff and service in the restaurant were awful. The breakfast dishes were mauled by a group of Asian guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele T, Manager at Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro, responded to this review

Dear Madame/Sir, we sincerely apologize, once again, for what you found unsatisfactory. By the time we were informed about your complaint concerning the breakfast service at the first day of your stay, we tried to meet your tour leader straight away, but your group was moving out the hotel in that moment In any case, we were told that the... More 

Quorndon, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Although there is nothing wrong with the hotel the decor in the rooms and in the hotel make it feel rather uninviting. My room was fine but the wooden floor and furniture made it feel a bit cold and clinical! The food in the restaurant is very nice indeed. Please be aware that if you are attending an event in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful stay here for two nights, amazing room/suite very very clean good quality bed and linen extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent, one if the best spag Bol I have ever eaten. Breakfast was a good range to choose from however eggs other than scrambled you pay extra for and I think 6 euro for two eggs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I stayed in this hotel during our company conference held for two days. The rooms are nice and modern, with all necessary things like hairdryer, shampoo, and so on. The organization of the conference was supported by the hotel staff in a perfect way, coffee breaks an lunches always on time, dedicated technicians present during all conference sections in order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oradea
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The hotel is places far away from the city of Bologna but in rest it's a really good hotel. The rooms are big and clean, the shower has a nice design. We had wifi with a good speed. The restaurant is great but we had to wait like almost 2 hours for the main dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The Unaway was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very nice...on the verge of luxurious. Great mattress, pillows and duvet. Everything was clean and the rooms were soundproof. We only stayed one night but I would definitely remember this hotel for future visits to Bologna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Satyed there twice. This hotel is comfortable and 20 minutes away from the Airport. Is new and clean. It is nice for road business travellers. Didn't like that my 2nd reservation wasn't downgradable as i wanted to exclude the breakfast as my check out was at 4am

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I only stay one night. Is nicely located near the main roads but we arrived just a little late when the restaurant was still open and some people were told they needed reservations and there was no room service when actually it was just full and there was room service. Small restaurant for such a big hotel and nothing available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele T, Manager at Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinion, your comments are essential to improve the quality of our services. We regret to read that on this occasion we didn't meet in full your expectations. As far as the restaurant service is concerned, considering the high number of Guests in house during your stay, the dinner's menu was offered for the whole... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Good if you have a car, crap if you don't!. Not near Bologna, should be listed as San Lazzaro- Bus to city 30 -40 mins. Airy Hotel with no soul, plants inside would help the decor which we thought was as inviting as a morgue. Stayed 6 nights for business, rooms good, could hear guests in other rooms. Staff snooty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shanghai
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
69 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here as the hotel we had booked was closed down before we arrived. It was however a good change I think. We were travelling so just one night passing through and we didn't need to use it for a base so I can't comment on ease of getting into Bologna. It's a business and conference hotel mainly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities