We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro

Certificate of Excellence
Via Fantini, 1, 40068 San Lazzaro di Savena, Italy (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bologna)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    108
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
37
48
9
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
tel aviv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved staying there. New and beautifully design . Close to the highway. 20 minute away from Bologna,,located in a very quiet neighborhood . Close to few wonderful restaurants & coop. Free snacks, good breakfast and great helpful staff. It's mainly a business hotel, but great for vaction in the area. Free parking and great free wifi,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly as many have said, without a car this hotel would be difficult. It is quite a distance from Bologna, being in the San Lazzaro area which is a satellite area of Bologna. But, it is still an awkward distance from the town centre of San Lazzaro if you want to head in there for dinner, supplies or other. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 7 nights in this hotel and we just cannot fault it. All the staff we met were polite, friendly and very helpful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice offered,on the mornings we had early starts due to day trips out a breakfast box was provided without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The group I was with, spent two nights here on our Italy tour, I must say the hotel is spotless, the front desk staff were polite, the bar man was doubling as a waiter and very over worked but the wait staff and service in the restaurant were awful. The breakfast dishes were mauled by a group of Asian guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele T, Manager at Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro, responded to this review

Dear Madame/Sir, we sincerely apologize, once again, for what you found unsatisfactory. By the time we were informed about your complaint concerning the breakfast service at the first day of your stay, we tried to meet your tour leader straight away, but your group was moving out the hotel in that moment In any case, we were told that the... More 

Quorndon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Although there is nothing wrong with the hotel the decor in the rooms and in the hotel make it feel rather uninviting. My room was fine but the wooden floor and furniture made it feel a bit cold and clinical! The food in the restaurant is very nice indeed. Please be aware that if you are attending an event in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful stay here for two nights, amazing room/suite very very clean good quality bed and linen extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent, one if the best spag Bol I have ever eaten. Breakfast was a good range to choose from however eggs other than scrambled you pay extra for and I think 6 euro for two eggs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I stayed in this hotel during our company conference held for two days. The rooms are nice and modern, with all necessary things like hairdryer, shampoo, and so on. The organization of the conference was supported by the hotel staff in a perfect way, coffee breaks an lunches always on time, dedicated technicians present during all conference sections in order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oradea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The hotel is places far away from the city of Bologna but in rest it's a really good hotel. The rooms are big and clean, the shower has a nice design. We had wifi with a good speed. The restaurant is great but we had to wait like almost 2 hours for the main dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The Unaway was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very nice...on the verge of luxurious. Great mattress, pillows and duvet. Everything was clean and the rooms were soundproof. We only stayed one night but I would definitely remember this hotel for future visits to Bologna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Satyed there twice. This hotel is comfortable and 20 minutes away from the Airport. Is new and clean. It is nice for road business travellers. Didn't like that my 2nd reservation wasn't downgradable as i wanted to exclude the breakfast as my check out was at 4am

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay