We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    76
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
147
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a busy few months we wanted a few days of peace and quiet in the South West. So we goggled country hotels in Devon and came across the Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, which seemed to fit the bill. So we booked a 3 day Indulgence Break. We arrived mid-afternoon on the Sunday to see the hotel full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got married here on April 2nd 2015 it was the most beautiful place to get married I could imagine! The grounds and the river was really what caught our eye! The staff are appsolutly fantastic here especially Gill and Tara for helping us so much with all our wedding plans! We couldn't have wished our wedding to be any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Jay & Dave, thank you for sharing your day with us. As always we loved every minute from initial show around to helping get down to the nitty gritty in the planning stages to the day itself. Both Gill and myself on behalf of all here at the Fox and Hounds wish you all the best for you future together... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Using a Groupon voucher we booked a 3 night stay and had a wonderful time . We booked an upgrade to the garden room with its own terrace ( no 19 ) .It was clean , spacious , 2 double beds , a sitting area with a sofa and chairs and an outside terrace with chairs and a table with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

I personally like finding new places that please and I am thrilled you found that with coming to stay with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back (with the dog this time). More 

Bridgnorth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife booked the hotel following other Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked the Indulgence Break special and added an extra night which amounted to good value. There is an excellent car park to the front of the hotel and reception is very inviting, as are the staff. On arrival we were told that we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Bridal Suite does have an element of a wow factor for some. We always endeavour to do something to help celebrations and special occasions. Glad we didn't disappoint all in all. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed their twice whilst looking for a home in the area. The first time was reasonable but not exceptional the second time was at best poor the room was dirty and when told the hotel did nothing. The food was cold. I think it is probably better outside the wedding season but if a wedding is going on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can I just offer a massive apology as anyone reading below this review will see we care enormously about cleanliness and service and I cannot fathom that we offered no response or action to a complaint such as yours which is completely against our ethos. Anyone staying with us when there might... More 

Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this as a last minute thing on the internet. Dog friendly which was a great bonus. Upon arrival the staff were excellent and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble as indeed they were throughout the stay. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, possibly the carpets to the rooms could have done with a bit of a clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and suggestions which are all well worth considering. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry however if you had a disappointing breakfast which I can only say is a one off as our food and service are the two things we pride ourselves on. Generally if a guest is bringing... More 

Corsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My better half and I decided to take a few days away, a World Tour of the South West if you will. Using a popular deal finding website to play hotel roulette, we stumbled across the Fox & Hounds. Excellent reviews and a good offer tempted us to stay. With the car packed for the mystery tour and a location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much that is so nice to hear! please come back soon More 

harrogate
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed one night on business and was very relaxing out in the country. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and fast. My 2 usual needs. WIFI was solid. The only thing min-annoying was my usual pet hate and that is the location of electric sockets ... none near the bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. I do understand about the sockets and our newer rooms have a lot more electrical points so hopefully next time you come we can offer one of those! we hope to see you again soon More 

Navestock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

We always stay on a friend's farm when we visit devon but wouldn't want to impose and eat at theirs every night so we eat out. Over the last few years the only place we have found that provides fantastic food reliably is the fox and hounds. We went for a week at easter and booked for every night. 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

That is lovely to hear thank you so much! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in March with our 2 dogs and really loved it. It was peaceful, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and the bedroom and bathroom were really spacious and clean. It's in a good location for getting to nearby towns and walks and there is plenty of parking. Could not fault it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

I am thrilled you all enjoyed yourselves, and hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities