We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

3.0 of 5 Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
122
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly reception,and we were shown to a reasonably sized room with all the necessary amenities. The only small problem was that for shaving,the mirror was next to the toilet, and not above the hand basin, which entailed a certain amount of contortions. In the evening we were seated in the restaurant and confronted with a very unusual menu, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. I am pleased that our staff made your stay memorable and your comments on food have been passed onto the kitchen and gratefully accepted; thank you! I am thrilled to find you had such a fantastic stay and enjoyed your meals with us. We hope to see you again soon, I will ensure... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was nice, a fair size and the bed was comfy. The shower did not run any hot water, even after running for 10mins, had to bath instead. My complaint being Breakfast. Absolutely disgusted with it after paying £130 for our stay. It took at least 30 minutes before our order was taken and then another hour for it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed the wedding at the hotel but was sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. I do understand if You live nearby it can seem expensive for a bed overnight but anyone reading further down will see we are largely considered good value for a 3 star Country hotel with the facilities we offer.... More 

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an overnight stay to avoid a long journey after Christmas Party. Good service when booking over the phone. Room was described as a 'cosy double' so was expecting a double bed squeezed into a single room. However, the room was a good size, just a 4ft double bed which was fine for just me. The free wifi is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

The Winter Wonderland party was a lovely evening, and I am pleased you enjoyed yourself with the added bonus of a great night's stay. We hope you have a fabulous festive period More 

DEVON, ENGLAND.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed overnight here after a wedding. Knew the rooms were £130 before the visit but once I had seen the room I was given, I have no idea how they can charge £130 for it. It was tiny and my friends paid the same and had baths and massive rooms. That's fine but the small room should be priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry to learn that you did not have the experience we try and provide to all our guests. Your comments have been taken on board and we hope to avoid a similar situation in the future. More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in the Treetops Treehouse at this hotel. On arrival at the hotel, we had no issues checking in - in fact we were allowed to check in early! We stayed for my husband's birthday, so I pre-ordered a cake. It was well worth the price - very yummy! The treehouse itself is fantastic. It has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Needless to say we definitely agree with you in that the treehouse is not to be missed. Very pleased to learn you made the most of it, and what a great way to spend a birthday (with a difference). I'll be sure to let the kitchen know the cake was received with a massive thumbs up! More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Started here for a 2 night Travelzoo stay. Very pleasant experience, Couple 1 had room 4 which overlooked the front of the hotel and contained a double and a single bed - decorated in a neutral and lilac colour. Couple 2 had room 5 which overlooked the rear of the hotel and contained a double bed - decorated in neutral... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Well we hope to see you again too after reading such a great review! Pleased you all enjoyed yourselves so. More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This is our second time at the Fox and Hounds and this time we stayed half board for 3 nights with our two children and dogs. We had room 19 which has 2 double beds, a double sofa bed/lounge/tv area and a small enclosed terrace overlooking the lovely rear garden. The hotel is wonderfully managed and staffed in a calm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

It's always great to find somewhere you can relax and unwind, and I am pleased that second time around we managed to achieve positive comments such as yours. We do hope to be able to welcome you back for many more visits in the future! More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip with a colleague for only one night but wished it had been for longer. The hotel has lots of character and is stunning. Fantastic location for a wedding. The rooms are well furnished and beautiful artwork throughout. Everything was spotless and had more than enough supplies to keep you happy. The bar and restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kind sir! we hope to see you back very soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The fox and hounds hotel is a simple place but it is very well run by welcoming staff. We stayed for a two night break and for what we paid, was more than good value. The hotel amenities are very basic but i feel that if there were things like a swimming pool or the like it would lose the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave such positive views and we hope to see you back soon More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

It is a lovely location near parents new house, staff young but ok, bar and restaurant were empty most of the time and breakfast was quite average, specially if you don't want fried food in the morning. Anyhow, most surprisingly is that we found a hotel nearby with a great Arts & Crafts house, golf course, swimming pool and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you like this area and even more glad you find our staff youthful in appearance! We do have fruit, yoghurt, cereals, porridge, muffins with poached eggs all on the breakfast menu and are more than happy to cook anything special to order so I am sorry that was not sufficient .Our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay