We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge in the Vale

Certificate of Excellence
| St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lodge in the Vale
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    71
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was driving long-distance for work, yet was without wifi or phone signal, which really bothered me as I needed to contact work. I was desperately trying to find somewhere in this total communications blackspot, and popped in to the cafe for a drink and light bight. I was so glad I found this place - any fellow wifi addicts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hi Jose, Thank you for your review - we certainly are a WiFi oasis! I'm glad you've enjoyed the cafe, hopefully we'll see you again! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped here in the way back from our holiday in Scotland. Really well located hotel with a pub for food about a 2 minute drive away (15 minute walk). The hotel was clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast was good. It was also quiet and in a beautiful location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Dear Lewesians, Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken in person during your stay at the hotel and after you have brought the above to my attention, I have made sure that all of the issues were addressed and sorted before you have returned to your room that day. We have since ordered new toilet roll holders and additional... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Extortionately overpriced for what felt like a glorified youth hostel very clean no character at all. Frosty welcome with a disagreement about hidden charges for our dogs stay no decent country walks and no restaurant. The pub down the road although very dog friendly felt like a death trap as there was no paths along small country roads that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Deejaf, There are plenty of walks right from our doorstep, including Helvellyn, St. John's in the Vale, Thirlmere or Castlerigg Stone Circle. These are considered to be one of the most picturesque walks of the Lake District. We would have been more than happy to suggest local walks suiting all levels of ability, had you asked any member of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good place to stay, good value for money, easy to find, free parking,very friendly and helpful staff. They arranged a stand up paddle boarding lesson for us locally. Room a good size and very clean. Even packed us a take-away breakfast as we had an early start the next morning! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Travelmadhelen, Thank you for this lovely review, it's great to hear such positive feedback. We're certainly in a great location for all outdoor pursuits and we like to make sure that we do all we can to help our guests make most of their stay in the Lakes. Hopefully we'll see you back at the Lodge in not too... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this as a 1 night get away. We arrived early at the lodge. Check in is at 3 and we arrived at 1.30. Met by a frosty receptionist at first , but he soon warmed up and gave us some good information about where to go and eat. Once checked in, we informed the reception that we will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear that your room was not in the condition both you and us would expect. I will make sure that our maintenance team sees to the issues you have mentioned in your review. I'm glad you've enjoyed the packed breakfast we've prepared for you. If... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is good value for money, is clean and comfortable and is in a really nice quiet setting in the valley. Plenty of parking and just a short drive from both Keswick and Windermere. I don't get a phone signal here so the free wifi is a lifesaver! Good continental breakfast offering too. Only downside with this place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Kelly, thank you for your great review! It's great to hear you've enjoyed our superb continental breakfast and we certainly take on board your comment about the front door, we'll have our maintenance team look at whether we can make the door shut a little slower to make it less noisy for our guests on the ground floor. Hopefully... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read other reviews I decided to book a room for three nights. We were not disappointed. A stunning location with easy access to Keswick area. The hotel is well appointed with lovely wood features. There is ample parking and a disabled parking area. The bedroom was spotless with a shower cubicle which was one of the reasons why I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review joyce85, It's so good to hear that we have lived up to your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast, although continental, is second to none and I'm glad you agree. We certainly hope to see you back at the Lodge in not too distant future. More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We stayed in a family room for two nights room had plenty of room there was few chips in wardrobe door but nothing bad liked that the floor was wood more hygienic when dogs are welcome and better in family rooms to shower was big enough TV was big and had plenty of chanels tea, coffee and hot chocolate in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello ruthjane88, Thank you for this lovely review, we're really pleased to hear you've had a great stay with us and enjoyed the facilities in your room. We'll make sure we provide more biscuits for our guests in the triple rooms! We (and Yogi, the chocolate lab) hope to see you back in the Lodge in not too distant future. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The room was a decent size with a good shower. It was clean but showing a few signs of being a bit rough around the edges like a broken handle on the shower and rust on the bin. Having said that it was a very comfortable bed and stunning view. The breakfast was good too. The price was very competitive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello simon a, Thank you for taking time to review the Lodge. I'm glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, and we are taking your comments on board. We are currently working on updating the rooms, which will include the showers and some small details like the bins, we're also repainting all the rooms. Hopefully we'll see you back in... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The location is perfect for walking and hiking, over our 4 night stay we walked from the Lodge to High Rigg, Helvellyn and around Thirlmere. The room was a bit on the small side, clean and tidy. Generally the Lodge was clean, quiet and modern on the inside with a traditional wood cladding on the outside Breakfast was as described,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Derek, I'm glad you've enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be perfect for exploring the beautiful surroundings! I just wanted to respond to your comments regarding tea and coffee service in the morning - we only have a small coffee machine behind the bar which would not be suitable for serving... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Swinside Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 11 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#8 of 11 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay