We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Darling B&Bs / inns

Darling Lodge Guest House

22 Pastorie Street, Darling 7345, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Darling Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Darling Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
100%
Ranked #1 of 6 Darling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Gaby M Diegten, Switzerland
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Diegten, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was lovely to share your "little paradise" with you for a few days! Oliver and Stephan are perfect hosts, they are very helpful to plan excursions around Darling. Keep it up! We still miss your marvelous breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Gaby M, Thank you very much for your marvellous feedback and review! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa as well and returned back home with a lot of great memories. Best regards from sunny Darling, Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a fantastic stay at the Darling Lodge. My room was lovely decorated and came with a very comfy bed with excellent quality bed sheets. I loved the bathroom with the Victorian bath. The well maintained garden is a great place to relax, to enjoy the free wifi or to read a book; there is even a swimming pool!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Roger H, Thank you very much for your fabulous review! It was such a pleasure having you with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting South Africa (with lots of Zopf for breakfast of course). Best regards from sunny Darling, Oliver Studer, Stephan Moser Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

our stay at the Darling Lodge was memorable. white linen and the hugest bath (what more could 2 city girls ask for..) the owners are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts huge, we didn't eat again until suppertime. the place is wonderfully peaceful with the chirping of weaver birds in the background. definitely want to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear tmac480, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and review! It was such a pleasure having you city girls staying with us. We hope to welcoming you back some other time soon. Best regards from Darling, Oliver & Stephan Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

Waltham Abbey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a smashing stay here in April and will definitely stay again if I'm ever in the area. As other reviews have said, what you see is what you get, although I would go further and say this is one of those occasions where it's even better than the website & photos suggest. Oliver & Stephan are great hosts, friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jinxster, Thank you very much for your fabulous review! It was such a pleasure having you with us for almost two weeks. We hope to see you again next UEFA Champions League Season so we can watch our two home teams Sheffield F.C. versus FC Basel playing. Best regards from Darling, Oliver Studer, Stephan Moser & the two resident... More

Eynsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The photos of Darling Lodge which you see on the website are what you get. If you are in the Darling area for any reason then this is the place to stay. Lovely old house with beautiful gardens, lovely comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast. A lounge with TV and a bar. And charming hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Bill M, Thank you very much for your marvellous feedback and review! We hope to welcoming you back at Darling Lodge Guest House some other occasion. Best regards from Darling, Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stopped here on a drive from Paternoster and Franschoek, and glad we did. The room was very clean and comfortable and came with an enormous bath. No television was supplied - the reason ,we understand was that the proprietors were being green. - still! Good breakfast and we were well looked after.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear brewersfriend, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad you decided to stop in Darling and stayed at Darling Lodge Guest House. Of course we also try to be a bit responsible with our natural resources. But this is not even the reason we don't have TV's in each of our guest rooms... The majority of... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary here at the Darling lodge during our trip to South Africa...I'm glad that we decided to stay here. This quaint little lodge is one of those discoveries that travellers seldom make and once you are aware of a place like this you just wish to go back there again.... The place is centrally located, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Franziska, Dear Aashish, Thank you very much for your great feedback! It was such a pleasure having you both here for your wedding anniversary. We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting South Africa (with lots of Zopf for breakfast of course). Best regards from Darling, Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser Owners Darling... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A month ago my boyfriend and I decided to spend the weekend away. We found Darling Lodge to be just the place place. It is located ideally just close enough to take a strolled walk to the main road. We had an absolutely unforgettable time. Having had our little Lodge right by the pool was very ideal. Relaxing by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear DaisyDuck28, Thank you very much for your fabulous review! We are looking very much forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon. Best regards from Darling, Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although we arrived a little too late to view the Spring Flower display in the West Cape National Park, there were still flowers to be seen, lots of yellows, blues and whites and we did the scenic tour of the park and lagoon and took some impressive photos. We also visited the Fossil Park which was very interesting, thanks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear bookman_12, Thank you very much for giving us your kind feedback about your recent stay at Darling Lodge Guest House. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed an extremly comfortable stay with us and we would like to thank you for the hint with the step-up into the shower for disabled guests. Certainly something that can be improved... More

Hastings on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

You don't want for anything at the Darling Lodge. An ultra convenient location. A comfortable and beautiful room. A beautiful back garden. Beautiful and interesting books. Unusual magazines. An elegant breakfast. Your reservation requests followed exactly. An over all of this, Stephan and Oliver making sure it all goes smoothly. We were turned on to the place by a key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear HowardB118, Thank you very much for your great feedback! We hope to welcoming you back at Darling Lodge Guest House some other time. Best regards from Darling, Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser Owners Darling Lodge Guest House More

Do you own or manage Darling Lodge Guest House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Darling Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Lodge Guest House

Address: 22 Pastorie Street, Darling 7345, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Darling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Darling Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Darling Lodge Guest House

Enlarge Map