We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Guest House

8 Beach Crescent, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Royal Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 22 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Guest S Port Alfred
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The accomodation was neat and clean and the staff very helpful - all in all a very relaxing stay. I found the accomodation to be good value for money and the location is excellent - I can strongly recommend this establishment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Alfred
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly service nice clean rooms. Well situated. Decent and delicious breakfast. I would suggest that you have rooms with microwaves in, or on request to have a microwave braught to a room. For people that eat later in the evening.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Alfred
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money stay over - excellent breakfast & close proximity to attractions in the area with very good and friendly service. Room was near gate so a bit noisy although the views of the marina below were great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Alfred
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

in general the hotel was ok we did enjoy the breakfast, however we where not happy with our room and that there was a mix up with central reservations and the hotel self so we got a room we did not want and this spoiled our anniversary evening away

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely and very quiet guest house that offers peace of mind and relaxation. That is why i stayed there for a second time. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Communication via email is a bit of a problem when making reservations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Abigail We are very happy to know that you left the Royal relaxed and well rested. I would like to apologize for any delay in emails, it will not happen again. KIndest Regards, Bianca More 

Port Alfred
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very comfortable stay, staff were helpful, food was good and the rooms in general were comfortable, spacious and clean. The only minor issue I had was with the bathroom towels (hard, scratchy and definitely due for replacement).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Samantha Thank you for choosing us on your pamper weekend, we so enjoyed having you and the group. Thank you for the feedback regarding the towels. We are due for a replacement and will do so no later than end of March. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was an awesome experience with fantastic service, accommodation and food. The reception guy (Leo) was very friendly and helpful and everything was booked beforehand which made our stay more relaxing with no worries. Really enjoyed it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Yvette Thank you for staying at the Royal Guest House. We are so happy to know that arranging all treatments and cruises beforehand helps you as the client. We see you again soon. Regards Bianca More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent value for money! I left feeling thoroughly pampered and spoilt! The rooms were neat and clean and the buffet breakfast was scrumptious! The staff was professional and very helpful. I will definitely be visiting again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, We want to thank you and your group for staying with us. It was so much fun and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A big thank you to everyone at The Royal Guest House that was so friendly and good to us over the past weekend. Friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful meals. Perfect pamper sessions. Heavenly bed! Beautiful clean rooms. We had an absolute blast and will be back that's for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Leoni "Happiness is... nice food ,nice bed and pampering... ;) " We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here and that you will be back. we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Bianca More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great weekend spent with 5 girl friends, all staff were uber friendly and made the weekend enjoyable for all. Food was yum and the pamper service overlooking the beautiful marina was fantastic. !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Cindy Thank you for the feedback, we are very happy to know that you will be back. Hope you ladies keep the relax vibe going :) Regards Bianca More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question