We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
8 Beach Crescent, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Guest House
Add Photo

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
16
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Royal Guest House is an excellent Guest House that I will recommend to all my associates. They serve an excellent breakfast and have really friendly staff. It is very conveniently situated close to town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your kind response, we look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

It was an excellent experience and i enjoyed every moment to stay at the The Royal Guest House. The room was beautiful and the service was excellent. I will recommend anyone to stay at the royal guest house. It is close to the beach and that is good to just have a walk to the beach. The staff is very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day. Thank you for your time in writing your response, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to spoiling you again soon! Regards Bianca More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I was dissapointed when I walked into the room and noticed that the white bedding had orange stains on, did not make a good impression on me. The rain cancelled our boat trip and instead of rescheduling we received a picnic basket in the place of the boat trip which did not measure up. Needless to say I will not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day We would like to thank you for your feedback. With regards to the linnen kindly note that upon check in your children went onto the beds while having niknaks. a manager checked the room before your check in and there were no stains on the beds. We assume that the stains were from the children and we would... More 

Port Alfred
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

It might not look like much from the outside, but it is very homely and neat on the inside. It caters for your comfort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bathrooms boast with a shower and a bath!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to see you again soon! Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The accomodation was neat and clean and the staff very helpful - all in all a very relaxing stay. I found the accomodation to be good value for money and the location is excellent - I can strongly recommend this establishment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day. We thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Friendly service nice clean rooms. Well situated. Decent and delicious breakfast. I would suggest that you have rooms with microwaves in, or on request to have a microwave braught to a room. For people that eat later in the evening.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Ross , thank you for the feedback as we appreciate it dearly , we do have a microwave available in the kitchen that can be used at any time. Unfortunately the layout of our rooms is not suited for microwaves. Kindest Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Good value for money stay over - excellent breakfast & close proximity to attractions in the area with very good and friendly service. Room was near gate so a bit noisy although the views of the marina below were great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Honeymooners, thank you for the feedback and choosing us as your stop over :) See you again soon! Kindest Regards Bianca More 

Port Alfred
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

in general the hotel was ok we did enjoy the breakfast, however we where not happy with our room and that there was a mix up with central reservations and the hotel self so we got a room we did not want and this spoiled our anniversary evening away

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for the review. As discussed with each other before I will mention email discussion again briefly. The room you got was still an executive suite, both suites pictures are on the website and we apologize once more for any confusion you had being not in the exact room you saw on the website. We do hope... More 

Port Alfred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Lovely and very quiet guest house that offers peace of mind and relaxation. That is why i stayed there for a second time. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Communication via email is a bit of a problem when making reservations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Abigail We are very happy to know that you left the Royal relaxed and well rested. I would like to apologize for any delay in emails, it will not happen again. KIndest Regards, Bianca More 

Port Alfred
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We had a very comfortable stay, staff were helpful, food was good and the rooms in general were comfortable, spacious and clean. The only minor issue I had was with the bathroom towels (hard, scratchy and definitely due for replacement).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Samantha Thank you for choosing us on your pamper weekend, we so enjoyed having you and the group. Thank you for the feedback regarding the towels. We are due for a replacement and will do so no later than end of March. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bianca More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay