We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuki Retreat

60 Stoney Rises Rd, Smeaton, Victoria 3364, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Tuki Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

Nice place to get away, especially in winter - nice bottle of vino in hand in front of the fire place - unreal. Make sure you place a reservation if you are going to have dinner on the property. It's a bit of a drive to eat elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We loved our cabin, nice open fire, candles, spa, big bed, fantastic outlook, breakfast provisions, we were suitably impressed with the overall setup. Arrived Friday night for a 2 night stay. We were told the restaurant doesn't open past 6pm. We took a trip to the local pub. But we were interested in eating trout, as we were staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Out of the way in the middle of a big property, however not a long drive before you are in daylsford or hepburn springs. The rooms were well furnished and clean service and food great. overall a great escape from the world for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this cottages to spend our anivesary and then on our way they called us and said that they have double booked and had to cansel our booking...very disaponting. Really Bad communication..ruined our plans..poor management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Smeaton hotels

australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in Tuki Retreat for our wedding anniversary and i could say it was one of the most tranquil and peaceful retreat we had. The property is a fair drive down from its main gate, we didnt expected that. So it was a surprise and it was no big deal for us though that was almost 11 o'clock in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After speaking with Jan and requesting a Gift Voucher be sent out I was excited to present my wife with what I hoped was going to be a great weekend away. I then proceeded to book massages and restaurants to make the weekend something special. Having gone to this trouble, I was very disappointed to be called and told 'I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

We apologise Glenn for disappointing you. I was unable to meet your needs as the function we were hosting changed its needs. There was no financial loss on your part. as a small business you cannot be all things to all people and we are sorry for the inconvenience. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Tuki Retreat. We were surprised to be upgraded to a spa cottage, which was lovely. The fireplace is sensational, as is the amazing breakfast provisions provided. Most places provide meagre, or no breakfast provisions any more, but Tuki Retreat is not one of those! The rooms were nicely decorated in a rustic style and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As part of our yearly conference, we visited Tuki for a spot of trout fishing and dinner. The experience was five star. Robert and Jan were warm, informative and helpful and the food was exceptional! The views are gorgeous, as is the restuarant and fireplace. Strongly recommended. Malcolm GFIN Group of Companies

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heathcote
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love dining at Tuki. The food is all grown/raised on the property, and it's magnificent! We've also stayed in the cottages twice. This last week, we spent just one night (would have liked more) in Cottage 1. It's a comfy one bedroom cottage overlooking the lake and hills. It was a very hot day, but cooled nicely, and altho... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

One of the best family holidays we've ever had! The accomodation was comfortable (a little worn, but that's to be expected and it was clean). An abundance of breakfast food readily stocked in the fridge and replenished daily. Hosts Rob and Jan were very welcoming and it was a pleasure to share in their company. It IS a country experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

It is wonderful that your family enjoyed staying with us & those aspects of staying on a working farm were things to be enjoyed regards Jan & Robert Jones More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smeaton
10.2 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#2 of 4 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 4 in Daylesford
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick
10.1 mi away
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country Spa Retreat
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country ...
#3 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hepburn Villas
Hepburn Villas
#6 of 9 in Hepburn Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay