We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuki Retreat

60 Stoney Rises Rd, Smeaton, Victoria 3364, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tuki Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Yungaburra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Initial impression was ok, caught trout BUT, when a staff member was having a little trouble removing fish from hook the owner was rude, pushing past my son, knocking over our fishing gear, raised his voice about stuff in the way etc. We were going to have lunch but decided to look elsewhere. They should treat staff and paying customers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tezranger
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

We apologise that your experience at Tuki did not meet expectations,we will endeavour to be less fractious regards Jan & Robert Jones More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

A fantastic weekend in and around Creswick on November 7 and 8 for the Open Garden Festival. Stayed at Tuki Resort in Smeaton - a working farm with lakeside stone cottages, open fires and verandahs to sit and watch abundant birdlife and listen to the absolute silence. Seven friendly dogs, lovely owners and trout lakes where you catch your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMS1957
Toowhoomba
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

This was our third stay at Tuki. As always we had a great time. The family were so helpful and generous with their time. Rob even fixed a dent on our hire car for us! We stayed in one of the great stone cottages that were hand built by the Family. The bed was one of the most comfortable we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arnde1
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

Nice place to get away, especially in winter - nice bottle of vino in hand in front of the fire place - unreal. Make sure you place a reservation if you are going to have dinner on the property. It's a bit of a drive to eat elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1982chrissara
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We loved our cabin, nice open fire, candles, spa, big bed, fantastic outlook, breakfast provisions, we were suitably impressed with the overall setup. Arrived Friday night for a 2 night stay. We were told the restaurant doesn't open past 6pm. We took a trip to the local pub. But we were interested in eating trout, as we were staying at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam F
TukiRetreat, Owner at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

We apologise for not meeting your expectations, we are all human and make mistakes and will endeavour to do better in the future your sincerly Jan & Robert jones More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Out of the way in the middle of a big property, however not a long drive before you are in daylsford or hepburn springs. The rooms were well furnished and clean service and food great. overall a great escape from the world for a while.

Helpful?
1 Thank sandie2705
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this cottages to spend our anivesary and then on our way they called us and said that they have double booked and had to cansel our booking...very disaponting. Really Bad communication..ruined our plans..poor management.

Helpful?
4 Thank Indunil F
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

We are sorry we disappointed you,your review will assist us in the future,so hopefully this never occurs again yours sincerly Jan jones More 

Travelers are raving about these Smeaton hotels

australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in Tuki Retreat for our wedding anniversary and i could say it was one of the most tranquil and peaceful retreat we had. The property is a fair drive down from its main gate, we didnt expected that. So it was a surprise and it was no big deal for us though that was almost 11 o'clock in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank twipe
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After speaking with Jan and requesting a Gift Voucher be sent out I was excited to present my wife with what I hoped was going to be a great weekend away. I then proceeded to book massages and restaurants to make the weekend something special. Having gone to this trouble, I was very disappointed to be called and told 'I... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank GlennFairchild
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review

We apologise Glenn for disappointing you. I was unable to meet your needs as the function we were hosting changed its needs. There was no financial loss on your part. as a small business you cannot be all things to all people and we are sorry for the inconvenience. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Tuki Retreat. We were surprised to be upgraded to a spa cottage, which was lovely. The fireplace is sensational, as is the amazing breakfast provisions provided. Most places provide meagre, or no breakfast provisions any more, but Tuki Retreat is not one of those! The rooms were nicely decorated in a rustic style and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LSC63
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smeaton
10.2 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 4 in Daylesford
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#2 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country Spa Retreat
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country ...
#3 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Cliffs Retreat
Blue Cliffs Retreat
#7 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay