We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Hotel website
| Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    124
    157
    113
    41
    18
See reviews for
128
178
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (453)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
See the most recent reviews
Naperville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel with a great view. Excellent staff, food was wonderful with live music from a local musician, a very talented guy on the guitar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A wonderful hotel with a commitment to the environment. Recently stayed with a small group of high school students. We all loved the place. Beautifully located on top of a wind swept hill. But don't worry the lovely pool and hot tub are situated in a way that even Monteverde winds wont bother you. Enjoy great views as you soak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Poco a Poco for two nights at the end of March. The amenities (hot tub, pool, bar, breakfast, fitness center, spa) were all quite nice (especially compared to other places we stayed in Costa Rica). I would highly recommend this hotel, but be sure to request a room on the third floor or with a balcony, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Tis is a beautiful hotel and walking distance to a number of attractions in the Monteverde area. The staff was courteous, the gardens are beautiful as is the pool area. Only drawback was wireless didn't work in our rooms but you could get a great connection in the garden areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel seemed to be nice enough, the staff was pleasant, but the room we had was so disappointing. We had a room right by the parking lot and restaurant. It was tiny, not even a chair in the room to sit on, and very noisy-the noise from the restaurant came through the vents to the room, and the noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated, I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service... More 

St. Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March, 2012. Very nice, good food. Rooms were average size, clean. Pool was small by it is a small hotel. Only a 2 minute walk into town. One item, they use the same menu night after night. I would recommend night walk, saw Mexican Hairless Porcupines, 12' tall ant mount, traranchula in her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear St Luoisr: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I travelled to Costa Rica on a school trip, and Poco a Poco was our favourite hotel. The staff at the hotel is fantastic. They were extremely friendly, and always helpful. The hotel isn't too big which is nice, it's easy to get from place to place. The pool isn't large, yet it's nice and well kept. Besides, if you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A nice place to stay, everything modern and clean and Santa Elena centre 5 minutes walk away. The only thing to moan about as this hotel is a good choice is that tour groups seem to call the shots, breakfast was altered one morning to cater for one group who wanted mixed veg!!!, and secondly a group of teenagers who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We wanted to stay local to the cloud forest and booked our hotels, transfers, and tours through anywherecostarica.com. They recommended this hotel and it was a perfect fit for us. It had a covered outdoor jacuzzi and pool. It needs to be covered from the wind so well thought out by the owner. The food at the onsite restaurant was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

Flowood, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel was beautiful. The staff was more than accommodating, and the view was great. I thought. But, it was a girls' trip and they gave us one king-sized bed. Perhaps the double rooms were sold out (but I booked through the hotel), and the mattress was really uncomfortable. The restaurant was fantastic, though. The heated pool, the spa voucher,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde. Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars. Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#7 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay