We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

4.0 of 5 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    139
    100
    38
    17
See reviews for
108
154
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
See the most recent reviews
Weedsport, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Great little resort in Monteverde! We really enjoyed our stay here. The room wasn’t very large but for the two of us it was just fine. The bathroom was clean and was stocked with toiletries and had a hairdryer. There was a small balcony off our room with two chairs but unfortunately the view isn’t great. You mostly see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Greetings Mrs Susan. We have been adding amenities and details to our rooms and hotel for over 14 years now, we started with very basic accommodations and have grown to a more complex, complete hotel filled with amenities and extras to enjoy. Coffee makers in the rooms, dvd players, hair dryers, flat screen tvs, etc all part of our services.... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The hotel looks amazing on the Internet however the pictures can be deceiving. The rooms were small and dark! It was quite loud and we stayed during rainy season!! The pools and jacuzzi were cold!!!The jacuzzi managed to dye my hair green!!! Awful. I have blonde hair and it turned it green. Hotel reception were useless and explained that this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Stroke: we are very sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. I´m sorry because when you decided to enjoy our facilities and added values, this thing happened to you. It is true some other female guests have had their hair dyed of green while using the Jacuzzi or the pool. We can’t really find... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This hotel is gorgeous. It is kept clean-spotless. It has a beauty spa ( With expensive treatments) but at least it has one. Sauna very much needed during the daily hard rain in Monterverde. Being nice and warm in the jacuzzi and watch the torrential rain with thunder and lightning is a real treat. The views are wonderful, there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Mena, greetings again from Poco a Poco and Monteverde Country Lodge, thank you for your comments. I´m really glad you found Hotel Poco a Poco more comfortable and better than our sister property. I just read your comments on our other property and will address you from there too. Hotel Poco a Poco offer more features to fill... More 

Basel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I arrived today in the hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly and explained me a lot. Even though I was earlier I could directly go into the room. The room is clean however for the price I paid I don't expect holes in towels. Even though I would expect a mini bar or a possiblity to buy some drinks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Bet. I´m sorry to find out about these weaknesses in our operation, I assure you that for the standards in Monteverde we are one the most complete, best quality properties, and our rates are far more competitive than others. You are totally right, one does not expect to have holes in the towels, and let me tell you... More 

Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

So Poco a Poco was my husband and I's 2nd stop in Costa Rica and I will say I am glad it was not our last! I will say this compared to some of the other hotels, Poco a Poco seemed to be one of the "nicer" ones but that just goes to show that there wasn't much to compare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs TDM. Thank you and I´m sorry you couldn’t stay at the property you had previously arranged, indeed you saved at least US$ 100,00 per night, since our prices are much cheaper; nevertheless, I understand your disappointment, we are very different products and our style differs significantly. As high season arrived, we were able to re-invest in bed cloths,... More 

Parrish, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Rooms are very dark, small and you can hear toilets flush, showers running, people talking, dogs barking and seed pods hitting the roof and rolling down all night long. No sleep here. I would look for another hotel. Reading other reviews and management responses, it seems they are making a lot of excuses and don't seem to care about their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Cindy: Thank you for your comments, we do pay attention and try to fix what we can fix, I wonder if you approached the front desk to let our personnel know about your discontent with the Bromelia room assigned to you. We ALWAYS are proactive in trying our best to fix and please our guests with their requests... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed here one night to do the Selvatura zip lining on the way to the beach from Arenal, so we did not spend a whole lot of time here. They were very nice at the reception desk and allowed us to get our room early without the extra fee which was very nice. I thought the rooms were okay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Hello Dear Annika. We are definitely a “one of a kind hotel in Monteverde” we offer the largest number of amenities and added values for a hotel in our niche and rates range. We have “little by little” increased our quality and complexity in order to create a more appealing ambience for our guests. You are right about the polycarbonate... More 

New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed at the Monteverde Country Lodge which is a sister hotel and was told to come to Poco a Poco to use the pool. It was nice. There was no one at the pool bar and no one came around to offer us drinks. In fact, I didn't see any staff while I was in the pool area with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Inloved, Thank you for staying at Monteverde Country Lodge, I hope you enjoyed the time you spent there. This is basically the biggest added value for guests staying at our sister property, they can come and spend some time here at Poco a Poco and enjoy our pool, Jacuzzi, spa, gardens, restaurant etc. Too bad no one was... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel is well localised, very close to the main village. However, since Monteverde is quite high this place is somewhat cold and very windy. The noise of the wind during the night was quite high! and as a result the room was also a bit cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Pedro. Muito obrigado por seus comentarios. Thank you very much for your review. Hotel Poco a Poco has turned out to be the most strategically located hotel in Monteverde, it´s close to everything, and it also offer more than other hotels in the area. Monteverde is located at 1,400 m, of altitude and it does get very windy sometimes,... More 

Simcoe, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Booked this hotel for 2 nights through Anywhere Costa Rica. Room was adequate, but a little small for our family of 4. Some parts of room well worn (eg. cuts and stains on box spring), but sleep was good/comfortable nevertheless. Breakfast was OK. Pool was nice to cool off in after a day of outdoor activities. Pool has a swim... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Justaguy, Thank you very much for your review, we have 8 rooms on the house that are suited for families, they have two queen size beds or two queen and a single, and indeed there’s not a lot of space left, nevertheless, rooms are still very comfortable and they offer as many amenities as any other room. We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay