We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Hotel website
| Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    123
    154
    111
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
177
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (445)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the nicest place you can get in Monteverde for a reasonable price. My boyfriend and I spent two nights here in May. He picked this hotel because he had been here once before. I wanted to go with something more basic and less expensive, since Monteverde is all about the outdoors. He insisted that we went with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Melanie, we are so proud to get more and more repeating guests, especially since they are from Costa Rica, besides our regular discount, we also like to treat locals with added values etc, We are indeed the best value place in Monteverde, close to town, affordable and comfortable, the biggest high light: our service and staff, they are always... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a group of 6 people - 5 adults and 1 ten year old. The hotel staff was very accommodating. One of our group had a broken ankle that was still non-weight bearing. The person with the broken ankle stayed back from the hiking activities and hung out at the hotel and the facilities on her own for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Betsy, than you very much for your very detailed, very nice review about Poco a Poco, we are very proud you and your family members were able to enjoy yourselves during your stay and visit to Monteverde. We had a great time meeting each one of you, specially taking care of your partner on the cast, we tried... More 

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were small with a basic view but nicely appointed and comfortable. The facility was great. Restaurant and staff amazing. It is a hotel you could easily stay a week or more. Central location. Great staff and service. Access to all the activities. The grounds are small but very interesting with many little sitting areas. had a European feel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear CEC; thank you very much for your very nice comments, we really appreciate you took the time to write and recommend us. We cater to offer good quality, good value, great service and personal touch. We are modern and cozy, well located and very comfortable. Our rooms are not the biggest, yet, we offer the whole deal. Pool, heated... More 

Samara
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in Poco a Poco. It is located very close to town so walking or driving to and from Sta. Elena was a breeze. Every single staff member was professional, friendly and gave us 100% of their attention when we asked questions. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We felt safe while we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Kelly. Thank you very much for your very nice review, we have tried to create comfortable areas, colorful and nice garden sections where our guests can enjoy the closeness with nature. Lots of birds are common around the gardens, hummingbirds, flowers, etc.. Monteverde Country Lodge has a very warm feeling of the typical Monteverde ambience. We are very... More 

Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Getting there is part of the adventure! Cool Breezes in the morning with warm days. Especially loved waking up to the surround sound singing of birds and humming birds around the garden and fountain outside our door. Great restaurant and convenient to shopping. The pool area was also neat but it was not quite warm enough for me. The toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Tybee, thank you for your very nice review. Monteverde is a great place for adventure and exploring the Cloud Forest, I´m glad you enjoyed all the tours and activities. Our gardens, facilities, gym, spa, heated pool, Jacuzzi, restaurant, live music and much more, are important added values when it comes to choosing the hotel of your preference. Thank... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We arrived in MonteVerde at Poco a Poco, midweek the second week in April, 2015. The staff provided wonderful references and reservations for a afternoon excursion to Don Juan Coffee Tour -- tour guide: Junior which was incredible; provided a reference for lunch at Sabor Tico, a recent MonteVerde restaurant in addition to in the Santa Elena; and, provided directions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Thank you very much for such a nice review, our staff always caters to provide the best service possible, they are very knowledgeable about tours and attractions in Monteverde and are always ready to help. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel, its facilities and the local attractions. Hope to see you again sometime soon, we´ll be... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on my tour of Costa Rica, as the name suggests, its started out as a 5 bed hotel and slowly but slowly various extensions have increased the capacity to its current levels. One of the best features of this hotel ( unlike many on my tour ) is that its within a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Andy, greetings from Poco a Poco, Thank you very much for such a complete review, Regarding our location: we are privileged, just three blocks away from town, lots of places to see, visit and eat! We do have quite a few small garden areas, loungers, chairs and places to seat, read, eat, etc,, our pool offers a nice... More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Wasn't too pleased with this hotel. I am not generally bothered by noise but this hotel was extremely loud. Right next to a busy road and you can hear everything going on in the hallway. Rooms are dumpy and need a facelift. No air-conditioning and the lights are intense. The pictures were deceiving and made this place look way better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr 89, greetings from Monteverde. I do agree that our location is not the most peaceful of quiet, yet, guests are always comfortable with the quality of their sleep, leisure time and the general ambience of the property. It is more important for our guests to be able to enjoy the surrounding attractions and the nearby down town. Perhaps... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We only spent one night here, its an alright hotel. Being right next to downtown has both its advantages and disadvantages. On one hand it's a nice, short walk to any restaurants, bars, or shops. But on the other hand it is noisy due to traffic (and other guests slamming doors repeatedly for minutes at a time). The hotel has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, thank you very much for your review. I´m sorry you did not enjoy our outdoor facilities, since they do make a big difference in the level of enjoyment. I´m sorry the temperature was not has hot as you expected, we do spend a lot of electricity and gas in order to offer comfortable, warm facilities for our guests.... More 

Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

A lovely quaint liittle hotel with a 5 minute walk into Saint Helena (Montverde). Which let us go explore and the next day we went Selvatura park to go on a Canopy tour with Hanging Bridges, Breakfast was ala carte, we were in town for lunch and Dinner, very big on Eco tourism and many attractions close by

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs Snipe. Thank you very much for your review. You have commented about our most important strengths, our location, the food at our restaurant, our impeccable service and friendliness of our staff. We offer the most added values and very reasonable rates for Monteverde. Our sustainable practices are also important and we have carried out a Sustainability program for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

214 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (180)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay