We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Hotel website
Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    151
    108
    38
    18
See reviews for
117
171
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (428)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Burlington, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lovely quaint liittle hotel with a 5 minute walk into Saint Helena (Montverde). Which let us go explore and the next day we went Selvatura park to go on a Canopy tour with Hanging Bridges, Breakfast was ala carte, we were in town for lunch and Dinner, very big on Eco tourism and many attractions close by

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs Snipe. Thank you very much for your review. You have commented about our most important strengths, our location, the food at our restaurant, our impeccable service and friendliness of our staff. We offer the most added values and very reasonable rates for Monteverde. Our sustainable practices are also important and we have carried out a Sustainability program for... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the lovely Poco a Poco - a quaint hotel with beautiful grounds. The rooms were clean. Slightly dark inside. The kids loved the grounds, small playhouse and pool. Lovely gardens, relaxing. Great views of the mothered countryside. Michael was wonderful helping us coordinate our tours, suggest restaurants and help arrange reservations. Restaurant was open when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Amy. Thank you very much for your very nice review, we are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, we do have a lot to offer. We are a family welcoming hotel and our facilities offer lots of opportunities to enjoy and relax. Thank you very much. On behalf of all our... More 

Rumson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the perfect location for our extended family of 11 as we explored Selvatura Park, the Monteverde Cloud Forest and other local sights. Located next to a farm, the wildlife and sounds were beautiful; a perfect ecological experience that is worthy of its Sustainable Tourism Program certification rating. The Morning Glorys on arbors around the pool and other flora... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Budda: Thank you very much for your very nice, very detailed, complete review. We are very proud to be one of the best hotels in Monteverde, certainly the best value Hotel! I´m so glad you enjoyed the majority of our assets, we love families since they enjoy most our facilities! Pool, Jacuzzi, gardens, kids play house, dvd movies, spa,... More 

Aarhus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights here and found the place, staff etc very nice. Eco-friendly, but a little more light in the rooms would be convenient. Breakfast to be chosen between few options a la carte, dont expect to be too filled. Lunch card really nice, dinner card not that exiciting. Pool area really nice. If you want a lokal meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Sanne. Thank you for your stay at Poco a Poco and for your very nice review. We are very proud of our staff, they always give their best. Our restaurant is one of the best in Monteverde, lunch menu a bit more light and relaxed, dinner menu is more elaborated, more international. Breakfast is a la carte, but is... More 

Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Poco a Poco. Although the rooms were small, the restaurant was wonderful and the location excellent. We had 2 delicious , gourmet dinners for a reasonable price. Each was accompanied by wonderful, live Spanish music which started at 7 pm. Be sure to make a reservation. The location was excellent. Just a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr WFW: Thank you very much for your comments, we like to consider ourselves a cozy, comfortable, well equipped hotel, filled with added values and details. Our service and attention are great, of the best sort, thanks to our very good personnel. Otocuma restaurant is definitely one of the best in Monteverde. Live music shows, great food, excellent infused... More 

LEICESTER
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a comfortable 4 star hotel situated in monterverde . From here we did the zip wiring through the rainforest which I would say is the best in Costa Rica . The hotel itself is within walkable distance from the main town centre with plenty of eating places to choose from . Being situated in the hills Montverde on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Leicester: Thank you very much for your very kind review. I´m glad you choose Monteverde for the Canopy tour, we are the world capital of canopy tours, It all started up here at the Cloud Forest.. I´m very glad you enjoyed it. Since we are so close to the down town Santa Elena, our guests may enjoy shops,... More 

La Palma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was centrally located and about a 5 minute walk to the town center. The pool and the hot tub are nice and extremely relaxing especially after a long day of hiking or ziplining through the cloud forest. The hotel rooms are small but it didn't bother us because we hardly spent time in there Why sit in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Prity. Thank you very much for your very nice, complete review. I really appreciate your point of view in regard of spending time inside the room. There´s so much outside!! We are located right at the center of town, close to everything, very convenient for families, guests not traveling with cars, etc… Santa Elena offers lots of things... More 

Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had such an amazing time at Poco a Poco! The staff is super sweet and very accommodating. The grounds and hotel are absolutely BEAUTIFUL. All of the food at Poco a Poco and at the sister hotel Monteverde Country Lodge is amazing and will satisfy kids as well as adults wanting a taste of the local food. The music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Halton, Thank you very much for your very nice review about our property. We are all very proud to deliver excellence, personal service and warmth. Hotel Poco a Poco is not the most luxurious or the biggest, yet, we offer the best service, the biggest number of added values and the best location, especially when you travel with... More 

Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here on our second visit to Costa Rica. We were very disappointed apon our arrival. The photographer they used for the photos must be great because it was very dated and run down. The rooms were very small and not so clean. You could also hear everything going on in the rooms next to ours. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr HFX, I´m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Poco a Poco, We change breakfast style according to our occupancy, it´s never been a bad thing, since portions and options are enough and we make sure guests are satisfied. I´m sorry you were not, Our rooms are small but very well equipped and comfortable, we take... More 

New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is about 5 min away from the town center. It's quiet at the night but close enough to the good restaurants. Pool is nice (a bit small but good enough to relax). The hot tub was not working during our stay. The breakfast is a la carte which takes a bit more time in the morning. The option... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Honker. Thank you for your review, I think your comments are very accurate and very helpfull for other Trip Advisor users. our location is our biggest strength, since it becomes so easy to walk into town, around the center fo Santa Elena, to the frog pond, Serpentarium, cafés, sodas, stores, supermarket, atm machines etc. besides that, we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (179)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question