We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Monteverde B&Bs / inns

TreeTop House

Save Saved
You added TreeTop House to your Saves list
200 m beyond CPI | entrance left - last house, 5655, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
TreeTop House
Ranked #11 of 30 Monteverde B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our stay at the TreeTop House was magical. For us, it was the perfect marriage of adventure, comfort, convenience, charm and isolation. We wanted a tree house type experience, but still wanted clean comfy beds, indoor plumbing and the ability to provide our own meals. We were two families of 4 traveling together with kids ranging from age 7-12. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The house is unique, spacious, fun, comfortable and affordable. Sabine was a very helpful host. She suggested tours and helped set them up. We enjoyed them all, especially the coffee plantation tour. As good as a tree house. Nice environs. Kids really enjoyed the hammock swing. Can imagine it would be a great house for a group of 14 or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our TreeTop House. You had a great experience without a car and found your way easy around to the highlights in Monteverde. We hope to have you one day again here with us. More

Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We loved our stay in the TreeTop House. We're a group of four teachers who bring ten students to Costa Rica every year. This was our first time staying at the TreeTop House but it won't be our last. Our students absolutely loved it and rated it as one of their favorite parts of the trip. It fit our group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are glad to have your group with us every year at Smiling Horses and now also give you a great time in the TreeTop House. Thank you for making the TreeTop House one of the key destinations on your yearly visits to Costa Rica. We are already looking forward to host you in 2015. More

Invermere, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thought we wanted a treehouse experience but this beautiful house hanging out in the canopy at the end of the road was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Sabine's great suggestions and local know-how we launched right into the heart of what we hoped to see in Monteverde. The bird watching blew our minds as did the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in the TreeTop House with us. I am glad you are having nice memories that will last a lifetime. May be you will find your way back to Monteverde and us one day again. Remember dreams usually become true. More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The house is very charming but not made for people expecting a high end 5 star hotel: we had a couple of bugs visit us, and the noise level is pretty high (we could hear everything our kids were saying on the floor below the one we were occupying, and vice versa)!! That said, that's exactly what we expected and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are very happy that you shared your authentic experience. We are providing a wonderful experience for nature lovers that are not looking for a 5 star hotel and so we will want to keep it. We are making sure that we do have either one big family/group together in all levels of the house or we keep floors unoccupied... More

Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My friends and I were in Monteverde earlier this year. We traveled around a lot and then decided that Monteverde was one of the better places so we came back for Christmas 2013 before flying back home. The house is creatively connected to nature, it's very artsy while not being completely rustic. We stayed in the "Forest Apartment" with one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to the TreeTop House. We appreciate positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your time or times, with us. Sabine More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we were there over the Xmas holidays 2012. It was cold and rainy and the windows rattled day and night! The toilet overflowed in the top floor and soaked all the way thru to the ground floor drenching our suitcases and clothing in all the rooms [our family was staying on all floors] The stove didn't work and you had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the TreeTop House. We are sorry to hear that your Christmas in 2012 was unpleasant. In 2013 the weather was much better over the holidays. We want to apologize that we had an unexpected problem with the toilet, please note that we fixed that afterwards. We are also sorry that you have experienced Sabine... More

Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the tree top apartment and one of the rooms below in early August. The place is just as cool as it looks in the pictures and has wonderful views of the trees. The only problem was that it was so noisy from the wind that it was really difficult to sleep at night. The room on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute of it! The tree top apartment is smallish, but completely functional for our family of four (kids ages 8 & 10). Yes, it is a simple place, but there is great beauty in simplicity. Sabine and Guy made sure we were comfortable and set us up with all of the activities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melrose MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the top apartment with our two kids. We had the entire place to ourselves which was nice. The top floor is literally in the tree tops with a beautiful view of the hillside across the valley. The furnishings are very unique and there is artwork scattered throughout the interior and exterior. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage TreeTop House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to TreeTop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TreeTop House

Address: 200 m beyond CPI | entrance left - last house, 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Treetop House Hotel Monteverde
TreeTop House Costa Rica/Monteverde

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near TreeTop House

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby