We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TreeTop House

200 m beyond CPI | entrance left - last house, 5655, Costa Rica
TreeTop House
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying at the Treetop House was certainly the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The house is a special unique treasure set in the treetops of Monteverde. We were traveling with my family and my sister's family: we were nine people in total. The five kids (ages 12-16) had a blast hanging out on the hammocks on the porch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The place is not maintained for the price charged.Difficult to sleep due to the wind noise.Kitchen was not very usable.Bathroom needs to be fixed.However location is good and Sabine the owner seemed nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Manazir, thank you for your review on the Treetop House. We sincerely apologize for your bad experience. December, January, February and March are the windiest months in Monteverde, and we unfortunately can’t control the weather. In the description of the house we refer to the “kitchen” as “kitchenette”. It has a coffee maker, blender, fridge, top stove with 4 flames,... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This was our favorite house during our 12 days stay in Costa Rica and the owner Sabine is wonderful, friendly and super helpful. We were 8 adults in our group ranging from 18 to 47 years old and we all agree that this is a one of a kind fantastic and charming house.The house is very spacious, neat and clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We very happy to host you here with us in the TreeTop House. I am glad you got the best out of your stay here in Monteverde and we hope we will have you here again someday in the future. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our stay at the TreeTop House was magical. For us, it was the perfect marriage of adventure, comfort, convenience, charm and isolation. We wanted a tree house type experience, but still wanted clean comfy beds, indoor plumbing and the ability to provide our own meals. We were two families of 4 traveling together with kids ranging from age 7-12. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The house is unique, spacious, fun, comfortable and affordable. Sabine was a very helpful host. She suggested tours and helped set them up. We enjoyed them all, especially the coffee plantation tour. As good as a tree house. Nice environs. Kids really enjoyed the hammock swing. Can imagine it would be a great house for a group of 14 or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our TreeTop House. You had a great experience without a car and found your way easy around to the highlights in Monteverde. We hope to have you one day again here with us. More 

Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We loved our stay in the TreeTop House. We're a group of four teachers who bring ten students to Costa Rica every year. This was our first time staying at the TreeTop House but it won't be our last. Our students absolutely loved it and rated it as one of their favorite parts of the trip. It fit our group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are glad to have your group with us every year at Smiling Horses and now also give you a great time in the TreeTop House. Thank you for making the TreeTop House one of the key destinations on your yearly visits to Costa Rica. We are already looking forward to host you in 2015. More 

Invermere, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thought we wanted a treehouse experience but this beautiful house hanging out in the canopy at the end of the road was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Sabine's great suggestions and local know-how we launched right into the heart of what we hoped to see in Monteverde. The bird watching blew our minds as did the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in the TreeTop House with us. I am glad you are having nice memories that will last a lifetime. May be you will find your way back to Monteverde and us one day again. Remember dreams usually become true. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The house is very charming but not made for people expecting a high end 5 star hotel: we had a couple of bugs visit us, and the noise level is pretty high (we could hear everything our kids were saying on the floor below the one we were occupying, and vice versa)!! That said, that's exactly what we expected and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

We are very happy that you shared your authentic experience. We are providing a wonderful experience for nature lovers that are not looking for a 5 star hotel and so we will want to keep it. We are making sure that we do have either one big family/group together in all levels of the house or we keep floors unoccupied... More 

Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My friends and I were in Monteverde earlier this year. We traveled around a lot and then decided that Monteverde was one of the better places so we came back for Christmas 2013 before flying back home. The house is creatively connected to nature, it's very artsy while not being completely rustic. We stayed in the "Forest Apartment" with one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to the TreeTop House. We appreciate positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your time or times, with us. Sabine More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we were there over the Xmas holidays 2012. It was cold and rainy and the windows rattled day and night! The toilet overflowed in the top floor and soaked all the way thru to the ground floor drenching our suitcases and clothing in all the rooms [our family was staying on all floors] The stove didn't work and you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the TreeTop House. We are sorry to hear that your Christmas in 2012 was unpleasant. In 2013 the weather was much better over the holidays. We want to apologize that we had an unexpected problem with the toilet, please note that we fixed that afterwards. We are also sorry that you have experienced Sabine... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities