We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Bondi accommodations

Bondi Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Bondi Backpackers to your Saves list
110 Campbell Parade, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Bondi Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 15 Specialty lodging in Bondi
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bondi
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    4
    5
    25
See reviews for
1
9
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a private double and were looking forward to a couple of nights to relax in the privacy of our own room after spending time in a dorm, however our quiet time was shattered around dinner time each night when the kitchen filled with what sounded like the entire population of the hostel, all cooking, chatting and drinking. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay, We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at Bondi Backpackers. We do apologise on behalf of our guests for the noise you encountered during your stay. Our common areas all close at midnight so you should not have experienced noise after this time. We would have happily moved you to another floor (so you... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is the worst place I have ever visited we entered the place and the guy on reception was rude. We then went to our room on the way up we saw a cockroach on the floor already we felt sick walked in the room. No words can explain. The room stank the sheets were filthy. No was provided (not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. These are a vital for us to continue to improve our business.Since your stay we have had a new turnover of staff so I am hopeful that the 'rude guy on reception' is no longer an issue. Cockroaches - yes they are an issue in ANY property located along the coast... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here as a long termer over spring/summer 2013/2014 in a private room. The location is great, you're directly opposite the beach and the staff are friendly and helpful. They is always a member of staff on night duty too. Our room was fine, small but it had a new mattress and carpet so was better then some rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a very honest review. Feedback like this is important to our business to ensure that we keep growing. We are aware that we have an 'old building' and are limited with a number of things. We are slowly changing the walls colours from blue to a 'lemon' colour. This is making the rooms... More

Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had the displeasure of staying here for three weeks with my girlfriend and I can safely say that I would not really recommend this to any civil backpackers unless their main objective would be to get bladdered every night and contract various infections from the pretty disgusting toilets. The double rooms are VERY basic, with a small fan and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us here at Bondi Backpackers. With every backpackers your are going to unfortunately get the 'drunk backpacker' it comes with the territory. We do have staff on 24hrs a day and they are there if any issue may occur (ie noisey drunk backpackers). We do not advertise our... More

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Where to start about this place.... stayed for a month, I would have happily lived there longer had it not been for the rude staff and poor facilities The 'manager' who runs the place needs to go back and learn how to speak to guests, a basic please and thank you takes two seconds to say. She is abrupt and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Firstly I have to apologise if you were unhappy with my running of the property. As I am unsure of the situation you are talking about I can only assume that you have witnessed a situation that may have not been favourable to myself. I take your feedback on board and... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The only good thing was amazing location and lounge/reception area was fine too. Some staff were nice, most moody and some rude. On arriving in our twin room to find a dead cockroach and smell of insecticide, asked to swap rooms and told that manager would tell us to 'get [--]' if she knew we had complained! Next room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback...it is greatly appreciated! If a guest has a complaint about a room I can guarantee that I would have never said that. I can advise that since this review has been written we have had new staff and a few upgrades. Cockroaches are part of living near the coast in Australia. I am happy to hear... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Location Great. Right by the beach, and when the sun is out the place is a perfect location. Recommend early morning/late evening run or walk along the beach but during winter months it does get dark quite early. The hostel was poor on most levels - poor welcoming from staff. Rooms very basic, which would be obvious given the type... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Since your have submitted your review we have had some changes in staff, so I am hoping that the 'poor welcoming' staff are a thing of the past. Yes our rooms are basic, we don' t advertise them as anything but this. Our bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis and... More

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff are very friendly, don't get me wrong, but not very helpful. The showers weren't very clean. The backpackers here were rude. They say free breakfast, but the breakfast is cheap and gross. All you get is dry cereal, and you have to pay for the milk! The sheets were gross. The private rooms still have bunk beds, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Bondi Backpackers. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Bondi Backpackers. I am a little confused at a few of your complaints. We do offer a breakfast of (cornflakes, muesli and tea) from 8am - 9am daily. We include milk each day, so I am... More

Seventeen Seventy, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Bondi then please, do not stay at Bondi backpackers. My boyfriend and I have stayed at a number of hostels and I can honestly say the week I spent camping on the beach and showering in the ocean was more delightful than this dump. As it was Mardi gra weekend in Sydney, accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. All feedback is appreciated. I apologise for the issues you had while staying with us. I can only hope that we have learned from the issues you have raised. Since your review we have had a few changes in the hostel including staff changes. As with most hostels, checkin time isn't... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the worst hostel I stayed in untill now and I have stayed in quite a few. It was unsafe. Someone got robed the day before I came there. Also in the middle of the night I woke up because someone banged on the door of my room. It was quite scary! You have to pay for your sheet!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BondiBackpackers, Manager at Bondi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to submit the review. All feedback is important to us. Unfortunately thefts happen in ANY accommodation. We have on average 2-3 thefts a year, majority of these result from guests leaving their door open and their valuables not secured in their lockers. All our rooms have 'security keys' so you can guarantee that no one... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bondi Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bondi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bondi Backpackers

Address: 110 Campbell Parade, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bondi with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bondi Backpackers is located in the heart of Bondi Beach seconds from shops, restaurants, bars and most importantly the ONLY backpackers in Bondi Beach directly located across from the world famous Bondi Beach. We are an owner operated business that prides ourselves in offering quality affordable accommodation to travellers from all walks of life. If you are looking for the best backpackers accommodation in Bondi then look no further. Bondi Backpackers offers small dorms (4 - 6 share) - some with amazing panoramic views of the beach, triples, twins, doubles and single rooms on a nightly, 4 day and 7 day rates. We also have dedicated female only dorms. We have an onsite travel centre - Backpackers World Travel that can offer you some amazing travel packages and also a restaurant/bar on the ground level called Bavarian Bier Cafe serving up fantastic German Bier and food. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bondi Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer