We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Hotel website
Avda. Del Decano, s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    616
    400
    204
    206
See reviews for
1,155
364
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1912)
  • Mar-May only
    (279)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1005)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (540)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So the good - rooms are spacious - bathrooms good condition - pool & outdoor facilties are good - awesome beach 10 mins walk away - its for kids - staff SUPER friendly the not so good - food is dreary - its for kids - location is not great other than for beach - not great number of bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guests Shaumn 1972, First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Barceló Punta Umbria beach Resort .for your recent stay in the south of Spain and also for your participation in our online questionnaire. We are concerned about the differences in quality that you have experienced during your recent stay with us... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a convention in this very large resort. Facilities and meeting rooms for business were good, the resort is perfect to welcome huge number if people. There is only a really annoying bad smell in some common areas that I sttongly suggest to fix. Restaurant good consididering the numbers. Rooms very large, with a big and comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Ilaria 66, En primer lugar, nos gustaría darle las gracias por haber confiado en nuestro Hotel Barceló Punta Umbría... More 

Mazarron, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Just arrived home after spending the week here on a Pensionista holiday ( we live in Spain). The resort is huge, with not many things going on around this time of the year. ALL nearby shops were closed which was a shame as it,s across the road from a shopping mall. Many near by resorts/beaches were also closed until high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado MoominMumma1955, En primer lugar, nos gustaría darle las gracias por haber confiado en nuestro Hotel Barceló Punta Umbría Beach... More 

Seville, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Family holiday. Clean room, good facilities, activities for the kids both night & day. Good variety of restaurants (4 - Mediterranean, American, Italian & Asian), although if you're there for a week or more you MAY get a little bored of the food. Parking is expensive in the hotel (10€ / day) and in the green zone outside (7€ /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shane S, Thanks for all your comments. We would like to see you soon again. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Came here for a work conference and apart from the pool area would not recommend this place for a holiday destination or a place for a work conference. Internet was the worst I've ever experienced in any hotel in any country I've ever stayed. Reception service average. Hotel food boring and repetitive. Give it a miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear NicNayef, Thanks for all your comments. According to your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We were happy with the room, and the facilities are all you would expect. Had an all inclusive package with our conference, but half the time (or a third) we had to pay, because one staff member would say it was only for night functions, but email and other staff said it was for all functions. Also, WIFI was out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ross B, Thanks for all your comments. According to your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The staffs behavior is disrespectful and unpleasant. They laugh at you in your face and your always disturbing them. One of the staff actually grabbed my arm to push me out of the way, which is totally not right! This resort is a joke. No staff is informed and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jade N, Thanks for all your comments. According to your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

birmingham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We booked this through Thomas Cook & although we were aware that it was a large resort thought we would give it a try - what a disappointment that was. We stayed from 20 - 27 Sept & during that time the resort was partially closed down as it appears to be the end of their season. Food was nearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear hellsbells2565, Thanks for all your comments. According to your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The place to stay if you want a giant impersonal resort with poor food served in large quantities. The pools are wonderful, the beach access is excellent. The business office and restaurant appeared to be a challenge to work with for the organizational staff. The restaurant charges you for tapwater. It is ironic for me to travel to Spain from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Barry H, Thanks for all your comments, in particular for the special mention about the beach access and the pool. According to the rest of the comments of your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Spent 7 days here returning yesterday.all reviews are right it is massive to say the least. Not everything was open as promised spa shut for 4 days and there was only 1 restaurant open. Nice sized room,not 4 star though..food ok most days but only 1 hot meal all week food Luke warm. Pool lovely all inclusive drinks good. Few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear car1chris, Thanks for all your comments. According to your review, we would like to inform you that all your comments are taken into account in order to set further improvements. Best regards General Manager Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

519 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (478)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (115)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question