We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ravana Ridge Polhena

124/A, Polhena Road | Polhena, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravana Ridge Polhena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ravana Ridge Polhena
Add Photo

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I have traveled a lot in sri lanka and this is my number one place. I got here at night when it was dark so when I woke up and saw the water 10 feet from the hotel I was flabbergasted. The beach in front of the hotel is a rock wall under shady trees. Just perfect for sitting on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The room was pretty basic, en-suite with cold shower only. A mosquito net was provided over the bed and the room was fairly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good although really expensive, service was average and the meal we had one night was extremely poor. The curries were stone cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your unbiased review. This is exactly what we expect from our customers. Point our weaknesses so we can provide a better service at an affordable rate. I'am saddened that you had a problem with one of our meals, i wish i could have done something to make it upto you if you were not satisfied.Finally... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Located along the scenic shores of the famous Polhena Beach. Rooms were very comfortable and good for the price .Very friendly and helpful staff. Every request is willingly carried out with a smile by their superb staff. Food was yummy and the Chef was accommodation in a special request I made. Excellent stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

i have been this place with my family on last sunday night. a very good place to enjoy the polhena sea and the surrondings.it is very close by to this hotel. the hotel owner and the caretaker also very kind & humble persons always willing to help their guests. i reccomand not only foreigners but also localists who go around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Ravana Ridge very much, especially the staff and the location. It is a very peaceful area. I came with a large group of students, about 15 of us stayed there, and the staff (front desk, security guards, and cook) were all very accommodating and helpful. They helped to arrange trips to surrounding towns and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and 3 days. It was an extremely pleasant experience. Clean rooms, wonderful owner, pleasant surrounding. The staff were exactly the way we expected - they were invisible until we wanted them. That gives you the freedom to enjoy the holiday, the way you wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgwater, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here with our family (of 5) for 4 nights in Feb 2014 and wished we could have stayed for longer. The room was a great size (with a double and 3 singles) with fans and the hotel was enclosed in a small courtyard so very safe. The site was just a short walk (100m) to a little beach, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ravana Ridge Polhena; and your gracious commendation on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, services and of course the food. We very much appreciate you recommending our guesthouse and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our down south hospitality, perhaps in the near future.... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night there and relaxed a lot. The owner is very kind and his son speaks good English. No problem with room or anything else. Very quite environment just with mild sounds of thr sea. The small beach is cca 300m to the along the road. Tuctuc to the nearest trai station 100 Rs. or to Matara 200 Rs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 20 and it couldn't have been more comfortable. The ocean is literally 15 feet in front of the place, town is close by, the food is great, the prices are fair and I felt safe. Young or old, this is the place to stay if you're visiting Polhena or the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our stay here was fantastic, it was a very relaxing and pleasant experience. On a quiet side road with its own beaches and small places to sit and eat, but very near the main road that allows access to larger beaches and to Anuradhapura. Iroshan was extremely accommodating and the staff met our every need. Very nice people, very relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay