We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ravana Ridge Polhena

124/A, Polhena Road | Polhena, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ravana Ridge Polhena
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
320 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at this hotel/hostel for a couple nights, I have to say the last three negative reviews do look suspicious and inaccurate, not resembling at all the experience we had while staying there. First off, there were no "hidden charges" -- it was very clear how much we were being charged for food while we were there, for example,... More 

Helpful?
Thank bryan h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Utterly disgusting room set-up with dirty linen, unclean bathroom with used toilet paper. Worse tasting food with uncleaned dishes! We had provided the so called "make shift staff" with fish from the local market, however only a small portion of it was prepared & served late on dirty plates. Lastly we were charged absurd rates for what we bought. Absurd... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kavinga P
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Kavinga, I am pretty sure that you have have been mistaken as we do not have any record of check in under your name. Also we have never encountered a problem with a guest regarding the hygiene and cleanliness or food quality since we have started this business. If you have any questions please call us in the number... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Very unpleasant stay since the owners were unfriendly and aggressive. They had hidden charges than what we've agreed. Provided very basic food. Even without a dessert. Not recommended for any vacation. Disappointed about the hospitality of matara residents0.

Helpful?
3 Thank dilsthetraveller
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Ravana Ridge Polhena, We believe that you have posted this review to a wrong location. Please rectify this matter immediately. The events you mentioned has never been taken place at Ravana Ridge Polhena since we started this business. Please review responsibly and authentically as possible as these false reviews will tarnish the brand reputation we built... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

We were welcomed by the family who owns this place and they have been really kind to us from the beginning, accessing all of our requests. The rooms are clean and spacious and it is a very good price /quality balance. We can see the sea straight (we even saw turtles!) from the courtyard of the place and there's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baptiste C
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I have traveled a lot in sri lanka and this is my number one place. I got here at night when it was dark so when I woke up and saw the water 10 feet from the hotel I was flabbergasted. The beach in front of the hotel is a rock wall under shady trees. Just perfect for sitting on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The room was pretty basic, en-suite with cold shower only. A mosquito net was provided over the bed and the room was fairly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good although really expensive, service was average and the meal we had one night was extremely poor. The curries were stone cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turtlewander
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your unbiased review. This is exactly what we expect from our customers. Point our weaknesses so we can provide a better service at an affordable rate. I'am saddened that you had a problem with one of our meals, i wish i could have done something to make it upto you if you were not satisfied.Finally... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Located along the scenic shores of the famous Polhena Beach. Rooms were very comfortable and good for the price .Very friendly and helpful staff. Every request is willingly carried out with a smile by their superb staff. Food was yummy and the Chef was accommodation in a special request I made. Excellent stay.

Helpful?
Thank cnadian
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

i have been this place with my family on last sunday night. a very good place to enjoy the polhena sea and the surrondings.it is very close by to this hotel. the hotel owner and the caretaker also very kind & humble persons always willing to help their guests. i reccomand not only foreigners but also localists who go around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Indika k
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Ravana Ridge very much, especially the staff and the location. It is a very peaceful area. I came with a large group of students, about 15 of us stayed there, and the staff (front desk, security guards, and cook) were all very accommodating and helpful. They helped to arrange trips to surrounding towns and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sashoo2014
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and 3 days. It was an extremely pleasant experience. Clean rooms, wonderful owner, pleasant surrounding. The staff were exactly the way we expected - they were invisible until we wanted them. That gives you the freedom to enjoy the holiday, the way you wanted.

Helpful?
Thank Mohd S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.6 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#11 of 16 in Matara
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#5 of 16 in Matara
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
#11 of 82 in Matara
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
#77 of 130 in Matara
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Inns
Beach Inns
#5 of 82 in Matara
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Sea Wind Hotel
Royal Sea Wind Hotel
#52 of 130 in Matara
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay