We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Hotel website
St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    129
    218
    103
    55
    59
See reviews for
77
275
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (564)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
Mere, Wiltshire, Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel satisfactory in good position on beach. Staff mostly good apart from one cold and incommunicative bar lady. Food certainly OK but could be better. The hotel was fairly quiet whilst we there - a month ago,, which made a pleasant change from the general hustle and bustle. Wifi available in general areas and some, but not all, rooms. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Discovery Bay Hotel is very centrally located in the middle of the St.James which is Holetown. I apologize for the cold bar lady, which is certainly not our standard; and I will organize to have refresher training done. Our meals are normally buffets and to provide some variety there is always grilled fish and burgers available; we are renowned for... More 

Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a perfect idyllic surroundings and has great potential, a complete makeover/overhaul is required on a tired looking building and dismal rooms. Brian the manager is on site and available and does deal with issues raised. The staff are absolutely fantastic, especially the bar staff; Sam "The Cocktail Queen", Damien; that smile he could be related to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

First, let me apologize for not responding earlier but I have just come back from a short break to recharge the batteries. Discovery Bay hotel is very fortunate to be centrally located in Holetown, within walking distance to Banks, supermarket, shops and lots of bars and restaurants. Thank you for your kind compliments about our team, they certainly are fantastic... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel to several islands for work & pleasure. I had the misfortune to book into this "hotel" on the recommendation & reviews on this site..... Well either we stayed at different hotels or the reviewers are blind, deaf & lacking in basic analytic skills. Nothing works, the beach is small, the creek smells as the water when it overflows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

It is always disappointing when our guests are dissatisfied with their stay. The beach was refurbished two years ago by the Government and is considered one of the largest on the West Coast. The government also installed a “fluidizer” to pump fresh water into the creek to dilute the stagnant water. I am also disappointed that you were dissatisfied with... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Further to Mr carters reply to my wifes Posting on here dissapointing Stay and as she is unable to reply on here ..i. Will , we did speak to You Mr Carter also the Manager on Duty and the issue with the food was logged also you admitted there was an issue . When you say Four Salads ..that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Running out of any item on the buffet is very concerning to us, thankfully it does not happen very often and there will usually be a replacement. I again apologize for this occurring during you stay at the hotel. It is very regretful that your wife slipped on the pool steps while entering the pool; The hotel did all in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last November ,when the island had some extremely bad weather ,the hotel staff and guests alike came together when it was flooded out ,and did a massive clean up , even with this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay ,Brian the manager and his staff showed professionalism throughout ,our room 46 was lovely and hoping for the same this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Let me take this opportunity to thank you and all of my other guests that pitched in to help brush out the water from the flooded lobby. All of my team were also brilliant and managed to have lunch served by 12.45pm in a clean and dry restaurant. I am sure that we can reserve room #46 for you; please... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my friends and family for a fortnight. The hotel is quiet with lovely surroundings. Our hotel room was pretty basic but extremely clean and the maids did a great job at maintaining it. The pool is nice, quite shallow and small but perfect for a dip and for kids to play in. For an all inclusive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Our hotel is very colonial, located in the heart of Holetown, within walking distance to shops, banks, post office and many local bars and restaurants. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of the room We have made our pool 4’ deep for the reasons that you mentioned, easy for a dip and excellent... More 

somerset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here in June having read the positive reviews on here was looking forward to my stay ....wow was I disappointed the food was awful very limited choice with no flavour looked as bad as it tasted they ran out of food on one evening with only 58 people staying at the hotel the hotel has 85 rooms so well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

It is always disappointing when we do not meet the expectations of our guests; I am very sorry that you thought the food was awful with little choice; we don’t normally receive such comments. I would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss these points when you were staying with us. Which would have afforded the hotel the opportunity to rectify... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a couple of weeks here mid June. The rooms are ok a bit shabby but the beds are comfy and very good air on. Bathroom again a bit shabby not very clean long hairs everywhere from previous occupiers but saying that the shower was very good. For the two weeks we stayed there each day the bed was made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
San Miguel de Salinas, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my 9th trip to this lovely Island and only once have I been back to the same Hotel twice, so this revue is done with some knowledge of the Island and People. The location of this Hotel on the West Coast is the biggest attraction. Lovely Beach and good access in and out of the Sea. Safe Swimming,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Me and 2 friends went to barbados for a 2 week holiday back in july last year. Although we were the youngest people there we still had a great time. Majority of the staff were fantastic and casandra especially made our stay more welcoming. The food was great but the breakfast did let it down a bit. The rooms in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay