We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Hotel website
St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    206
    98
    55
    56
See reviews for
74
263
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (540)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is located very close to Holetown with its bars, restaurants and shops.Our room was comfortable, overlooked the garden and offered a sea view.The food was of a good standard although sometimes lacked variety.Tuesday nights are the best because they set up the restaurant in the pool bar,the musicians are closer creating a fantastic atmosphere with most of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An older style hotel that reminds me of the British Clubs which you could find in a W. Somerset Maugham novel. All inclusive hotels food tends to get repetitive in the Caribbean and this was to be expected, but the standard was good ; however there is plenty of opportunity to eat out near by if you get fed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From walking along the beach in front of the Discovery Bay Hotel on previous trips to Barbados we had always fancied staying there. It was on our favourite stretch of beach and looked welcoming! The hotel on the whole is lovely, and it could have been a perfect trip, but unfortunately, our stay was spoiled by a noisy school cricket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have recently returned from a 10 day stay at Discovery Bay, for the 4th consecutive year, and as always had a wonderful time. We had contacted the hotel manager, Brian, a few weeks before departure, with specific room requests and assistance with local car hire. The rooms were as requested with lovely views of gardens and access to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments, I try to lead by example so guests requests take top priority and most of the arrangements we made by my Front of House team. I gave them your preferences and was extremely proud that I didn’t have to chase them all of the arrangements were made well in advance. Our policy is to take... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Ideally located in Holetown it proves to be a great hub in which to explore the whole island. Very friendly and personal members of staff are on hand to help with anything. Beach access is perfect. You won't be hungry as meals are plentiful and the bars are well stocked with ever flowing rum punches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and it was great to meet you. It is always nice to add a face to an e-mail address. Our location is superb; the hotel is in the middle of Holetown, near to shops, banks, local bars and restaurant and the... More 

Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As ,with every review I can only tell you about my experience at the Discovery Bay. I will start with all the positives. I loved the hotel and it had beautifully kept gardens. It was a very short walk into Holetown where you could buy just about everything you may need. The bus stops were right outside the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The gardeners are very active keeping the hedges prunes grass cut and hatching new plants to keep the gardens looking tropical. Discovery Bay is very fortunate to be centrally located in Holetown, within walking distance to Banks, supermarket, shops and lots of bars and restaurants. We have received a tremendous amount of praise for our staff who will go out... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Normally I don't write negative things about the places we visit because we always find something good to say, but this time we can't fool ourselves. The place is clean and the people are pleasant, but unfortunately, the place is dead, it's worse than retirement home. There is no entertainment, no music, the food is horrible, it seems like they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

It is very disappointing when we do not meet our guests’ expectations. Thank you for you positive remarks on the properties’ cleanliness and our pleasant team, who receive numerous compliments about their friendly efficient manner. At the moment the hotel is quiet, after having a cricket team stay with us last week. However the hotel does get very busy again... More 

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay started well with a happy and friendly greeting by reception staff. Check in was quick and hassle free and as arranged we were able to upgrade to a beach front club room. The views from the room were fabulous and the beach lovely but unfortunately this is where my good feedback ends. We paid a hefty amount to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

We are very disappointed when we do not meet our guests’ expectations. The hotel is dated and rated as a three and a half star; however our Housekeeping and maintenance teams try and keep it as comfortable as possible. The bed was two twins pushed together, however if you had informed us that you were uncomfortable, arrangements would have been... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location itself is great, wonderful beach, clean room every day. But the staff could have been friendlier and more attentive. The food is very poor, every day the same. We enjoyed our holiday but we were really disappointed about the bad food and the poor service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

We are very fortunate to be centrally located in Holetown, within walking distance to Banks, supermarket, shops and lots of bars and restaurants. Thebeach is also one of the largest on the West coast. Our Room attendants clean the rooms every day and replenish the towels and bathroom amenities. I am very surprised that you thought that the staff could... More 

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 11 nights and I wish it could have been longer. The facilities were excellent. Immaculate gardens, comfy poolside beds, spacious room with very large bed, right next to the beach (with not so comfy beds), and everything was always clean. The food is served buffet style so you can choose whatever you want and as much or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

280 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (256)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question