We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Certificate of Excellence
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    209
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
194
369
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (863)
  • Mar-May only
    (266)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (217)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Why we chose to stay here: 1) For my wife, it’s all about the beach – and this is in her top five! Great sand, turtle grass well off shore so the wading is safe, and Benjamin will put up a sunshade anywhere you want! (I should mention that there are some bamboo poles set in the sand – set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bananarama is a basic beach front resort with many fun activities as well as a wonderful dive center. Entertainment at lunch and in the evenings. Food at Thirsty Turtle Restaurant is great and well priced, but we did not try Vintage Pearl Restaurant as it was very expensive. Rooms were clean (remember there is sand everywhere) and housekeepers attentive. Resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lowell, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading many reviews about the West End we grabbed a cab with another couple to the beach. Bananarama was one of the place I read about. We paid 10$ for the day. It provided a chair, bathrooms, and shower with changing area. The food was good, the beach amazing. The staff nice. however the shower barely trickled out. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was eating and a rat fell over me. It was the worst experience of my life.... All they did was laugh... They have this pieces of fabric in the ceiling and I suppose that's were the rat was.... HORRIBLE. And if that's in their ceilings i cant help but wonder how is clean is their kitchen. WORST RESTAURANT EVER

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bananarama03, General Manager at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review

First off, let me tell you that we are very sorry for you terrible experience. But I would like to clarify a few things in regards to our restaurant. The Thirsty Turtle is an outdoor restaurant and we cannot control the animals that enter from outside of our property. We do, however, regularly spray for pests and bugs around the... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great resort located right on West Bay beach. I stayed in the Garden Cabana #2. Room was perfect for me. The grounds are beautiful, extremely clean and maintained. The beach itself is stunningly gorgeous with crystal clear water and fantastic snorkeling just to the left of the resort. The people here are very friendly and the dive team/shop was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great little bar on the beach in west bay they have killer thin crust pizza 2 for 1 on Monday nights. Great entertainment during the week nights The crab race is a blast. For 10 you can grab a breach cheapy for the day or week and sit on the beast beach in Roatan .Definitely worth hanging out and watching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Banarama a few years ago in the "owners apartment" (which was fabulous); and upgraded our SCUBA certification to include NITROX. Unfortunately, PADI never recorded the class -- we contacted Bananarama, and Mariela Garcia was able to resolve the issue with PADI, and reissue our updated certification cards. Ms. Garcia was proactive throughout the process,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Illinois
Top Contributor
623 reviews 623 reviews
119 hotel reviews
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

All of us had one of our best Febraury beach trips in over 15 years. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room rates very reasonable. Manager lives on site and is seen almost every day. American owned and they've done an excellent job of hiring the best on site management and staff. Beach is beautiful. All sorts of water activities. Entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trophy Club, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

It is important to clarify that we did not stay at this hotel. We spent time at the beach as part of our Zip and Dip adventure through Roatan Adventure tours while we were on our cruise. I found the beach to be well maintained. As part of our admission we each received beach chairs. The sand is nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

I was so excited to see this place. Had seen it on House Hunters International and finally got there. Great place Great beach!! We were on a cruise and wanted to visit West Bay. BEAUTIFUL beach. Only ordered beer but the food looked really good. Very friendly staff. We took a taxi from Coxen Hole to West Bay. Taxi dropped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

895 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (866)
Viewed
Room/suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (216)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (85)
Viewed
View from room (58)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (322)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question