We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Masset B&Bs / inns

Alaska View Lodge

Save
You added Alaska View Lodge to your Saves list
12291 Tow Hill Road | Haida Gwaii, Masset, British Columbia V0T 1M0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Alaska View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Masset B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masset
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My wife and I travelled from Northern Alberta to Haidi Gwaii and booked thru BC Ferries. For the first three nights we were at Haida House, but they were full for our fourth night and booked us into the Alaskan View. The room was not equipped and they wouldn't provide any breakfast for us as we had an early departure.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LangaraFishing, Manager at Alaska View Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Alaska View Lodge. We are quite disappointed in the comment regarding the lack of breakfast service because it does not accurately reflect what occurred. This guest had to depart our lodge before 6 AM to catch the morning ferry back to the mainland, which is common for guests staying with... More

Blind Bay, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were travelling with a small dog, so we stayed in the cabin. To our surprise our 3 bedroom unit included a games room with pool table, dart board, bar and small tv. It would provide many hours of entertainment if the weather did not co-operate .Fortunately, we had spectacular weather, and we did see the mountains of Alaska. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LangaraFishing, Manager at Alaska View Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alaska View Lodge. This guest stayed in one of our two beach houses adjacent to the lodge -- a 3-bedroom and 2-bedroom house are available for self-serve accommodations daily or weekly. We do have plans to remodel the interior this offseason. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had a great time with my mom at Alaska View! The breakfast was excellent every day, Neil and Ben were wonderful hosts, and even the weather was great! The hot tub was great to relax in and the entire stay was great. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat! Thank you guys for making our stay so wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I wish we had enjoyed the visit that previous guests write about. Most of the time we were there Neil & friend were nowhere to be found. Nor did they return phone calls.They were only around to fix breakfast which was exactly the same 2 days in a row. The view from the cabin was totally overgrown and the hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LangaraFishing, Owner at Alaska View Lodge, responded to this review

We're very sorry for the poor experience you had during your recent stay at Alaska View Lodge. This guest had paid in advance with BC Ferries for a three-night stay. After receiving her complaints we issued a refund through BC Ferries for two nights. Regarding the inability to reach our manager and staff, our staff are usually on hand or... More

Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was looking for a quiet beach front room, and it was perfect. I was placed in the cabin since I wanted peace & quiet, and since it was the end ofthe season, everyone else was in the main lodge. Yes, there was a missing button on the sofa, but who cares...?? the Lodge Manager, Neil cooked up excellent breakfasts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice quiet spot on a gorgeous beach. Pleasant hosts. hearty breakfast. Loved seeing the sandhill cranes on the beach in the morning.. Room clean and comfy with a deck and a (non-functioning) hot tub but we are not hot tubbers. Liked having the bathrobes to lounge in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Travelled to Haida Gwaii to explore the island and do some fishing. Alaska View Lodge is well situated on a great beach, mind you there are many great beaches on this island. The room was well taken care of and roomy. The staff is excellent and attentive to all your needs. The food was also a treat, very wholesome and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

There weren't many places to stay in Masset, but this place is a great place. You can hear the sound of waves from your room. Also our room had a hot tub in the back deck. Soaking in the hot tub and see the blue sky with the sound of ocean. It cannot be better. After dinner at the Trout... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a nice place to stay on the beach in Masset. The food is very good and the service is very attentive. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ONTARIO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband stayed here while on a work trip and had nothing but positive things to say. He stayed in the west guest house cabin. No complaints about the bed. The rooms do not have their own TVs but there is a TV to watch in the main lodge if you are interested. The staff were very friendly, inviting and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska View Lodge

Address: 12291 Tow Hill Road | Haida Gwaii, Masset, British Columbia V0T 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Masset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alaska View Hotel Masset

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay