We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Skelton hotels

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Skelton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
David S
  • Overview
  • Reviews (531)
  • Photos (121)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (121)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    185
    92
    28
    20
See reviews for
106
259
4
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reception and lounges good. Rooms are basic and matteresses need replacing. Toiletries, teas and coffee in room supplies were minimal. Breakfast average. Bar prices expensive £8.40 for a large glass of wine and £4 for a large coke. No ac in rooms but efficient fans are provided. Receptionist very helpful organising taxis, ironing board and giving directions to avoid York's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrival everything seemed ok pleasant staff nice setting... Out of town but only about 3 miles ish. Free and ample parking. Aircon didn't work (thermostat set to 15) room was like a blast furnace. Couldn't open the window due to generator or something causing a lot of noise. So it was a sweaty night. Morning shower resulted in flooding the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. It is naturally disappointing that certain areas which you have highlighted were not satisfactory, and have been considered for immediate address. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, and sincerely appreciate your feedback. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was on a coach trip which was based at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were very clean and the food, once it came, was tasty. The hotel put people in large groups of 8 or 10 at dinner time because we were on tour but at breakfast we were allowed to sit in smaller groups if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the quality of the meals that you were offered during the duration of your stay. As I'm sure you may appreciate, it is often difficult to serve a large group of people all at once, but we would nevertheless like to apologise for the wait, and we would like... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was one on our coach tour that we stayed at. And out of all the hotels the first room that was given to us was more a 2star rating small, small, with 2 single beds up against a wall, not a double as requested. on the ground floor in the older section of the hotel. Complained and after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased that the concern that was brought to our attention was addressed, and trust that you have enjoyed the rest of your tour of the United Kingdom. More

Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was a nice size, clean and tidy but dated. The beds were ready for replacement and not very comfy. We were given a ground floor room and the windows did not have very good security devices on them.This hotel is quite a ways from York so if we went back we'd stay closer to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. Whilst we strive to attain the highest levels of service and quality, it is impossible to predict each and every personal preference. We would, however, like to thank you for providing us with feedback. More

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having decided to stay here for a lads weekend away we were not disappointed. The hotel, whilst grand itself, was basic in facilities and nothing special. The staff were attentive and helpful and always willing to go the extra mile. We had a room only rate so ventured the short walk down the road to The Navigation pub for meals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. We are very grateful for your positive remarks about the staff and the facilities on offer, and would like to ensure you that the concern you have highlighted is one which is not within our control, and is currently being addressed by the local authority. More

Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a ground floor room which was clean and tidy. Towels were changed daily even though we didn't need them changed. All staff encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely good and set us up for the day ahead. I am probably easy to please - two fried eggs, bacon, fried bread and beans will always get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed all the culinary delights on offer, and trust that this was further enhanced by an enjoyable and relaxing experience. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is located a few miles outside of York. If you have a bit of time you can follow a cycle way into the center of York. The hotel has plenty of parking and is in a quiet setting. The reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Bedroom was ok but the pillows are hard. The showers are primitive with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for all the positive comments you have provided in your recent review. In addition, you have listed a few recommendations which we are happy to take into account and address, with a view to improve in the areas where we can. We would like to thank you for your review, and sincerely appreciate the feedback. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff members polite without going out of their way. The main gripes are perhaps minor but: 1) the wifi is infuriating, and we couldn't get it to work at all on the first evening. 2) there was only one towel in the bathroom. Now I travel a lot but in a double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. Needless to say, the concerns which you have raised have been looked into, and we would like to assure you that they will be addressed. Your feedback is extremely vital to us in ensuring that we attain the highest levels of service, and trust that all the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer