We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Caroll Street National Park Village | Mount Ruapehu, National Park Village, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Crossing Packages
Howard's Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard's Lodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    125
    33
    11
    22
See reviews for
62
62
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Again, I called Howards Lodge for accommodation. This is my favourite place to stay for skiing and tramping. This time, I took my family with me and completed Tongariro Crossing. Clean room with ensuite shower, comfortable beds , friendly hosts and pussycat, tidy big kitchen and lounge, convenient delivery and pick up for crossing, nice environment around, we enjoyed our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

A pleasure to have you here again and good to know we are keeping up our standards. Just 4 months till ski season ! More 

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Owner was so rude! Our friends had booked through BBH and paid and when we went to check in, he didn't have their reservation, and he acted like it wasn't his problem since he emailed BBH to tell them he was fully booked. He did find them accommodations next door, but seemed annoyed by the whole thing. Then later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On our tour of NZ we decided to treat ourselves to a 'proper' room for the two nights at Howard's rather than a dorm room. The room was great, comfortable bed, lovely ensuite shower, and spotlessly clean. The huge kitchen was also spotless and well stocked with utensils etc, and free tea and coffee. We also made use of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. Good to know your one "fancy" night proved to be worth the extra money. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest, we weren't too sure what to think of Howard's Lodge before and as we arrived. However we were given a warm welcome, and after originally booking two rooms at Howard's Lodge purely as a stopover for one night whilst touring through the region with my parents and my partner, we ended up booking an extra night after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your very comprehensive review and happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. As you discovered the crossing doesn't need to be expensive. I think the pricey options are the guided groups which I believe aren't really necessary in summer. Though some people appreciate the added safety this track is very safe even for people walking alone.... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Normally I do not write bad reviews but here I will. After so many good hostel experiences in NZ, I am really disappointed about Howards Lodge. The lady at the reception was nice but Howard, the owner, the most unfriendly owner I've ever met. The rooms are ok regarding the cleanliness, but the Hostel itself not very welcoming. The kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry you found us less than welcoming on your recent stay but I would point out some failings of your own which contributed to this. Your friend found $27 per night too expensive, and elected not to stay with us, instead sleeping in her car on the street. We made it clear that our kitchens, lounges and showers... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're planning to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing then Howard's have a great package. For $120 pp you get two nights accommodation, two breakfasts, transport to and from the TAC track, and a packed lunch. It is rated as 2 star because there are shared bathrooms and toilets, but the rooms are very clean and modern. At a higher... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you very much for your kind words about our business. We are happy to know you found our package deals good value for money and had "great Kiwi experience" staying at Howards Mountain Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we hope to have you as our guest again some time... More 

Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

As always, clean well managed and well organised great value for money. An efficiently run business. Howard's is a great option if in national park. They have a variety of rooms depending on you needs and budget. Have stayed many times!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rita A, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JAM3810, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to know that you found our business efficiently run and well managed. We are looking forward to showing our appreciation for your continued loyalty the next time you stay at Howards Mountain Lodge. More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

An excellent all inclusive motel - room, breakfast, packed lunch and transport to and from Tongariro walk. Very helpful staff and very good value for the whole package. A good bar and an excellent restaurant The Station within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alyandfamily, Thank you very much for your very kind words about our lodge. We are happy to know that we scored high in all the categories(location, price, amenities, staff)! Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we wish you many happy travels. Kind regards, HML team More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Very good base for our Tongariro Crossing. Provided all we needed: transport, food, sleep (though I swapped pillows often), shower. And also very good advice about weather, where to eat in National Park, etc. The kitchen & lounge made this lodge enough like a youth hostel for me to feel nostalgic. And the cat is very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pinkgalah 777, Thank you for taking your time to review our business! We are happy to know that you were provided with all you needed. We do have a very friendly cat - her name is Queenie, and she is a gem of a pet we found at Taupo SPCA. Warm regards, HML team More 

Warragul, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Accommodation was clean and simple. We stayed in an ensuite room with the alpine crossing package and it had everything we needed, and a tv. Completing the crossing was made simple with our packed lunch, drop off and pick up so we didn't have to figure anything out ourselves! We even had a view of the mountains from our window.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachodwyer, Thank you very much for your kind words about our lodge. We are happy you enjoyed doing the crossing on our Crossing Package and found your stay comfortable. We wish you many happy travels in the future. Kind regards, HML team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's Lodge

Address: Caroll Street National Park Village | Mount Ruapehu, National Park Village, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard's Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Howard's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay