We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard's Lodge

Hotel website
Caroll Street National Park Village | Mount Ruapehu, National Park Village, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
Ensuite Ski Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    138
    35
    12
    24
See reviews for
64
74
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Howards Mountain Lodge was by far our favourite palce to stay in New Zealand. The staff were really helpful, they live there, and work hard each day to keep the wood chopped, fire warm and everything clean. There was a free private spa, great kitchen area, and awesome community area with with a pool table, cable TV, free movies, games,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everyone was friendly helped our group with all gear hire and transport to and from mountain. Warm fire place which was maintained 24/7, close to everything such as the pub and mountain, very clean, comfy, great for groups, hot water that didn't run out after 8 girls had a shower, great location and great people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for skiing at Whakapapa. Grant and Rita were very helpful with the rental of the skiing equipment, booking tours for us e.g. Tongariro Crossing as well as to extend our stay (we had to extend for two days). Both are very easy to deal with. The rooms itself are simple but very clean. Although the bathroom is shared,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, basic, warm room. Amenities clean, showers ggod, expensive wifi, location great for skiing and close to a few cafes and bars. Nice warm lounge with fire going. 200 charcters is too long as a min

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Good news is that wi fi is now FREE, National Park finally leaps into the 21st century. It's a load of our plates as well I assure you ! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

worst motel throughout my life, rude and disgusting staff, please don't come, i am going to lodge a complain to the authority or police for the rudeness, disgusting and threatening service. i come in with a group of friends, so i am not sure wht had been converse between staff and my friend, and i came in early to check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

It's never pleasant to hear comments like yours but your own behaviour is the root of the problem. Being a paying guest is not a lciense for you to behave however you like. Far from arriving'early' as you say you were in fact here at 11.20 pm. At that point you began banging on our door (annoying but OK) as... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Great place to stay, best staff that made us feel welcomed! Highly recommend this place, apart from Grant & Rita, the other lady working there was super helpful, feel bad we forgot her name! We definetly looking forward to visit again soon! Williams family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking then time to post a review. Always good to hear people had a good time with us and in the area. You'll be happy to know it's been nothing but more snow since you left and it goes on (and on) even as I type. That said, we hope to see you ehre again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Lodge is located in an ok spot and it was very clean. That's all the positive things about the lodge. The owner isn't that friendly and terrible to deal with. The room was so dim that in the evening we had to use our phone flashlight. The lodge is so badly built that we could hear noises from all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We accept that we didn't show you around when you arrived but please accept this was due to a "child crisis" behind the scenes and that normally you would have been given a tour. You should be a bit more honest though. You left after one night becasue (A)... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I think this place is fine to stay for one night, but I had to stay an extra night and do the crossing the next day because of bad weather. I wouldn't stay here longer than a day. Here are the cons I found: - very cold rooms. Only a bed warmer is provided to keep guests warm (no central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm sorry you didn't like your stay with us but I must put you right about a few of your comments. It is unfair to say our charging for wifi is 'greedy'. Believe me that we are not sitting around here rolling in our wads of wi-fi cash. This is not... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Cute and cosy place to have a get-away-weekend. It is easy to do the walks when you can rent everything from the lodge. The staff is really friendly and helpful and flexible with breakfast hours :) Thank you! /Ann-Marie

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I enjoyed my time at Howard´s Lodge. We arrived late at night to a heated room. We took the Xing package, which included two nights, transport to and from the Crossing, two breakfasts and a packed lunch. It was really great value. The lodge has a spa and the rooms were comfortable. My only issue was that the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
16.0 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#4 of 7 in Ohakune
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay