We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard's Lodge

Hotel website
Caroll Street National Park Village | Mount Ruapehu, National Park Village, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
Ensuite Ski Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard's Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard's Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    136
    35
    12
    23
See reviews for
64
72
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay, best staff that made us feel welcomed! Highly recommend this place, apart from Grant & Rita, the other lady working there was super helpful, feel bad we forgot her name! We definetly looking forward to visit again soon! Williams family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lodge is located in an ok spot and it was very clean. That's all the positive things about the lodge. The owner isn't that friendly and terrible to deal with. The room was so dim that in the evening we had to use our phone flashlight. The lodge is so badly built that we could hear noises from all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We accept that we didn't show you around when you arrived but please accept this was due to a "child crisis" behind the scenes and that normally you would have been given a tour. You should be a bit more honest though. You left after one night becasue (A)... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I think this place is fine to stay for one night, but I had to stay an extra night and do the crossing the next day because of bad weather. I wouldn't stay here longer than a day. Here are the cons I found: - very cold rooms. Only a bed warmer is provided to keep guests warm (no central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm sorry you didn't like your stay with us but I must put you right about a few of your comments. It is unfair to say our charging for wifi is 'greedy'. Believe me that we are not sitting around here rolling in our wads of wi-fi cash. This is not... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Cute and cosy place to have a get-away-weekend. It is easy to do the walks when you can rent everything from the lodge. The staff is really friendly and helpful and flexible with breakfast hours :) Thank you! /Ann-Marie

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I enjoyed my time at Howard´s Lodge. We arrived late at night to a heated room. We took the Xing package, which included two nights, transport to and from the Crossing, two breakfasts and a packed lunch. It was really great value. The lodge has a spa and the rooms were comfortable. My only issue was that the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Great place to stay. Simple, clean and friendly staff. We did the Tongariro crossing package which was well organised. Good central location in National Park, would stay there again. Food provided for trek was simple, tasty and healthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We stayed here when we did the Tongariro Crossing and found it excellent. It is a lodge so obviously it is quite basic accomodation but it was extremely clean. We purchased a deal with the breakfasts, packed lunch and transport to and from the Crossing all included. These were all excellent and surpassed our expectations. It also made things very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritulya72, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stuart and Cathie, Thank you very much for your review of HML! Happy to know that you enjoyed your Tongariro Crossing Packages and had a comfortable stay at our lodge. We appreciate you giving us such a high rating - it means a lot to us. See you again in winter, perhaps? More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Great facilities and add-ons like easy transport to the crossing and huge big lunch to go. Really clean and quiet. Loved the personal touch and information about local cycle trails. Thanks! We'll be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritulya72, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay at our lodge and we will be glad to see you again. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I had an ensuite room on a Tongariro Crossing deal. The room was about as basic as a room can get whilst still being comfortable - bedside lamp, carpet, 2 OK single beds and a window and that was about it. The ensuite had a shower, toilet and small sink and a mirror. Shower was fine. Room was perfectly clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritulya72, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you very much for your kind words about our business. It is good to know that you found rooms clean and comfortable. Sorry about the "strange" noises - we will call our HRV maintenance stuff today. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stayed here with my boyfriend while we did the tongariro crossing. Really good deal including transfer, breakfast for two mornings and a packed lunch. Basic room but it has a clean bed and that is all we needed! Was also nice to have a dip in the spa after the walk. Friendly owner. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritulya72, Manager at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you very much for reviewing HML. Pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Spa is our guests' favourite facility - walking 19.4 km in an alpine environment might explain it! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
16.0 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top