We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Crossing Packages
Howard's Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard's Lodge to your Saves list
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sam G
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    109
    30
    9
    17
See reviews for
56
55
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanks! clean, warm room, close to the mountain, friendly staff and good rates. will stay again! Found that it was very nice that we were able to turn up later in the evening due to long travel times and our room was ready and warm. Toilets and showers very clean and kitchen area has everything you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about our business. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us and found the facilities satisfactory. Hope to see you again! More

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here in Aug 2014 on a 2 night package to do the Tongariro crossing. My crossing was cancelled due to bad weather and high winds. The staff were helpful in recommending alternate hikes I could do on my own. The rooms were very basic, and cold. I had to put on extra layers to sleep without shivering. Lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our business. Sorry about the crossing being cancelled - it is very weather dependent in winter, with ice and snow on the track and high winds. Sorry that you found your room not warm enough - the place is centrally heated and the temperature in the room... More

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay in the deluxe family room, good facilities, clean and warm. only 10 min from mountain and loads of restaurants in walking distance from lodge. Happy to stay again and recommend as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review! We are happy you had a nice experience staying with us. We do have a privilege of being so close to the mountain as well as a walk distance to cafes and restaurants, and the one and the only superette in town. Our deluxe family rooms are very... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Not only that the condition of the lodge was poor, but the customer service was awful. The rooms were small, dirty and noisy. The shower was blocked and they overcharged us for the ski rental gear which was also very poor quality and some unusable!!! Overal, a very expensive yet poor place which we personally would not recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

When receiving negative reviews like yours conventional wisdom says not to get in an argument, I should recognise whatever issues you have and apologise for them. Normally this is good advice, but not in your case. You arrived late and drunk. You took the wrong rooms and displaced other guests - how hard is it to remember a 2 digit... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We had a great time staying at Howards Lodge. Grant was very friendly and helpful. We found the family room with two bunk beds to be clean and warm but it was a little on the small side for us and our two children and luggage, but when we booked it, it was the only room available as this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you found all that you need for a weekend away from home here, at our Lodge. Some rooms could be quite cosy, we would love to extend them if we could! Thank you for taking your time to review us and we hope to see you again! More

Albany, null, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities. Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities. Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It is good to know that our facilities are kept to a proper standard, and our front desk staff is approachable and welcoming. Hope we will see you again! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

A great stay close to Whakapapa. We booked the family ensuite which was perfect as we didn't really need cooking facilities. However, the kitchen was clean and well stocked. We had to change our booking a couple of times and the staff were understanding and met our changing needs without any fuss. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Great that you could finally make it and a pleasure to have you here. More snow from today so plenty of life in the ski fields for another trip this year. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Our room was excellent. We have a 2yr and a 4yr old as well and the room suited us great. We had the Deluxe Family. The rooms were warm and also the entire building. The facilities were modern and comfortable. The TV was in a perfect viewing spot for the bunk beds and the double bed. Excellent parking. The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our business. Deluxe Family rooms are very popular with young families, and we are happy that you found the facilities very satisfactory. Sorry to hear that you consider our breakfast overpriced: some reviews on this page state it is good value for money, but since it is a buffet it... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great place to stay. The staff were fantastic and so full off knowledge, good facilities for a family with great value for money. with rental gear on site makes life very easy. we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy you had a nice stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future! More

Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Grant made me welcome and he provides a great place to stay with cooking facilities, TV room and a spa to soak away those aches at the end of a hard day on the mountain. I would heartily recommend Howard's Lodge to others. Cheers Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and kind words. Last weekend was - I think - perhaps the best skiing this year yet. Plenty more to come though so hope to see you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's Lodge

Address: 43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard's Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay