We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Packages
Save Saved
You added Howard's Lodge to your Saves list
Howard's Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
77%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Caroline S Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    109
    27
    9
    17
See reviews for
55
54
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not only that the condition of the lodge was poor, but the customer service was awful. The rooms were small, dirty and noisy. The shower was blocked and they overcharged us for the ski rental gear which was also very poor quality and some unusable!!! Overal, a very expensive yet poor place which we personally would not recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

When receiving negative reviews like yours conventional wisdom says not to get in an argument, I should recognise whatever issues you have and apologise for them. Normally this is good advice, but not in your case. You arrived late and drunk. You took the wrong rooms and displaced other guests - how hard is it to remember a 2 digit... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time staying at Howards Lodge. Grant was very friendly and helpful. We found the family room with two bunk beds to be clean and warm but it was a little on the small side for us and our two children and luggage, but when we booked it, it was the only room available as this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, null, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities. Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities. Great hosts very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and tidy. Good kitchen facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great stay close to Whakapapa. We booked the family ensuite which was perfect as we didn't really need cooking facilities. However, the kitchen was clean and well stocked. We had to change our booking a couple of times and the staff were understanding and met our changing needs without any fuss. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Great that you could finally make it and a pleasure to have you here. More snow from today so plenty of life in the ski fields for another trip this year. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was excellent. We have a 2yr and a 4yr old as well and the room suited us great. We had the Deluxe Family. The rooms were warm and also the entire building. The facilities were modern and comfortable. The TV was in a perfect viewing spot for the bunk beds and the double bed. Excellent parking. The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. The staff were fantastic and so full off knowledge, good facilities for a family with great value for money. with rental gear on site makes life very easy. we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Grant made me welcome and he provides a great place to stay with cooking facilities, TV room and a spa to soak away those aches at the end of a hard day on the mountain. I would heartily recommend Howard's Lodge to others. Cheers Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and kind words. Last weekend was - I think - perhaps the best skiing this year yet. Plenty more to come though so hope to see you again. More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very happy with what we got. We were two adults and 1 child in a queen room with additional single bed and ensuite. Perfect set up with large kitchen downstairs and communal lounge with great fire. Very clean. Seemed quite a family lodge weekend we were there. Quiet , no rowdy groups. Comfy beds. Warm room. We will go back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you noticed our efforts to create a family friendly atmosphere (well, most of the time ....). I knew that phone would show up somewhere ! More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently spent the weekend at Howard's lodge and was very pleased with the value for $. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond extending their front desk hours to accommodate our late arrival. Furthermore, they even took the time to get us fitted for rental gear so we could get up the mountain first thing in the morning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had booked this lodge for two nites, as we were visiting mt ruapehu. $110 per nite! The lodge is in a great location and has all you would need for a weekend away for hitting the snow. Now for and guests staying here please be warned! do not stay in room 51 (or the room by the entrance) This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Owner at Howard's Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't have a great experience with us but did recognise our positive qualities despite this. The problem is you said nothing about this when you checked, indeed you told me one of you was ill and you were going home. It is only fair you give me a chance to put things right if I can. I can't... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's Lodge

Address: 43-45 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard's Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Howard's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in National Park Village with
any amenities