We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Discovery Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Priceline.com
83%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed in our campervan at the campsite for 2 nights to do the Tongariro Crossing. It is fantastically convenient for this and offers several morning shuttles to the start of the Crossing and many afternoon return shuttles. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location of the campsite is beautiful with views of the mountains. The campsite facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Discovery Lodge in Feb 2014 for a friend's birthday and to walk the Tongariro Crossing. We stayed in the studio chalets which were beautifully appointed, very quiet, well equiped and decorated. The choice of accomodation here however is wide from chalets, motel rooms to campervans and tents. The shuttles to and from the crossing were well organised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a month in NZ and of all the places we stayed this stands out as the absolute worst value. Let's see, where to start ... how 'bout while taking a shower the showerhead blew off. Could've easily broken a toe if I hadn't dodged it on the way down. Give them the benefit of the doubt and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ziggyfly, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am unhappy your stay was such a poor experience for you and for this I do sincerely apologise. I will address the issues you have mentioned so you can be rest assured your feedback is not in vain, as I do trust you are giving this feedback so we... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Discovery Lodge is the best place to stay if you're planning to tackle the Tongariro crossing. The bus to the start of the hike picks you up right at the lodge and it's very affordable with a variety of options from decent rooms to camping. However, it is very limited in terms of service offerings. There's a restaurant that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked a two night stay at this lodge to do the "Tongariro Crossing" hike. Its the closest lodge to the start point and do a unique early start (the earliest of all companies around the area which is great because you avoid the "crowds"). I cant fault the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the chalets. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ChrisWOwens, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a detailed review. I am pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the chalets. And thrilled you would recommend Discovery. On your recommendation I have toned down our web site wording about the views and we are due to trim back bushes in the next two months during... More

Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked a motel type room several weeks ahead to be sure I was close to the start. The room looked recently upgraded and although small had all we needed for a 2 night stay. The staff were very knowledgeable and called off the bus ride on the day we had planned as they considered the wind speed too high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phil_Linlithgow, Thank you for your review. And thank you also for your strong recommendation – much appreciated! Great you had the extra day to complete the Crossing. You have to feel fortunate the weather the next day was good as it does not always work out that way. All the best and hope to see you again one day.... More

Southport
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night utilising the transfer for the tongario crossing walk. The driver in the morning was a little harsh with the guests, he actually left a couple as one of them wasn't stood right next to the van, he was down the road a few meters. Thought this was a little harsh to be honest. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katie C, Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a good stay. I do agree with you a revamp is needed for the camping facilities, which is scheduled for prior to next summer. I understand how you would feel I was a little harsh with our guests on this particular morning. However, if you checked... More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very good base for trips in Tongariro National Park, located in the hart of the park. Nice clean rooms with good view and friendly and helpfull people. They know all about tramping and the crossing, but also can help you in time of personal problems. Good transport to the crossing and excelent advise about to go or not to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kees L, Thanks for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us in the first place. I am very happy you had a good time while staying at Discovery. We are fortunate to have many years of experience in Tongariro and continue to explore and build our knowledge of the area. We can then use this... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in a chalet and was really first class (we need our comforts at 64!). The restaurant was ok but a bit limited. But the place does not set out to be a 5 star hotel and is geared towards walkers, etc and on that basis it is really good. The staff are great and very helpful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear pep747 Great you had a good stay. And thank you for your review. I hope we do see you some other time and that the weather is better for you. All the best & kindest regards, Callum More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We chose Discovery Lodge as the closest to the Tongariro Crossing start and weren't disappointed. We initially booked for 2 nights at $165 per night, but the first morning saw us up at 5.35am, up to the track and the winds were too high to safely go up. All 22 on the bus trusted the guide & returned to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 23KSA, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. And thank you for choosing to stay with us in the first place. What stands out to me more than anything in your review is the fact you see real value in our expertise, something that can often be taken for granted. The Team at Discovery is... More

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel National Park Village
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list