We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 National Park Village accommodations

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Cnr. of Highway 4 & Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
72%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
KimmiSnook Hamilton, New Zealand
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
19
43
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with this hotel, it was more like a back packers place. This was booked through Kuoni and we expected better. It wasn;t very clean, the rooms were very dark. No TV. No pictures on the walls. IN the room was an old wooden table, an old wooden wardrobe and an old set of drawers. The bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mixed feelings about our stay this weekend. The breakfasts and the packed lunch for the Tongariro Crossing were great. But overall a disappointing time due to the unacceptable levels of noise from other guests both nights - the first night until after 1am and the second until after 3am. This despite a supposed quiet after 10pm rule. This would unfortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkTraveller, Front Office Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We understand that there was noise on Friday and Saturday nights due to a group that was staying us. We are very sorry for this and would like to make it known that this was a one off... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last weekend to do the tongariro crossing. We booked the tongariro package which was great value for money. The rooms had everything we needed and the staff were all so friendly and accommodating. Meals were great and we never had to wait long at all. The location is perfect for doing the crossing and exploring other walks in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannock
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good place to stay as all parts of the National Park are well within reach. The facilities are good, reateraunt is good for evening meal and breakfast. There is also a picnic lunch service if you are going out trekking. The staff are helpful and friendly, and very willing to advise on places that are worth a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawera, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed for two nights either side of the Tongariro crossing. Had a Grabone deal which included breakfast and shuttles. The food was excellent and a bit pricey. The breakfast was very good and set us up for the hard slog through the crossing. The room was a loft room so the kids stayed downstairs while we had a bit of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We got a Grabone deal - two nights accommodation, cooked breakfast each day, shuttle crossing for 2 plus packed lunch. Value for money just can't be beaten. The rooms are basic but clean - just note not all have TV's. However the customer service from the largely international staff was brilliant. And the food was truly great - much higher... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and did the Tongariro Crossing the next day. You will pay a premium for getting to and from the Crossing ($35 each per person). We had a late dinner at the lodge, the food was good, but Auckland prices. Good for a quick one night stay. After the walk, don't stay another night in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Comfortable friendly enviroment, everything it promised to be on Grabone. Would highly recommend to anyone. Wish I had booked my children in here instead of Wades Landing what a disaster that turned out to be

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi there, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your grab one deal! We hope to see you again in the future. More

Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here with the Stray bus and I had great time! The common area was cosy, 6 bed dorm with own bathroom and fridge was nice. I had a few drinks in the bar, nothing to complain about that either. It was also great to have unlimited Wi-Fi for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking to the time to write a review of your stay with us! We enjoy having the Stray bus stay with us and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Park! More

Raurimu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I hadn't planned on having dinner here last night as I had thought that I was just going to after-work drinkies... There was a reasonable selection of drinks in the bar and all seemed quite reasonably priced. Throughout the night there seemed to not be enough staff at the bar, more so since all meal orders are also placed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your dinner out with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your food (especially the dessert)! On busy nights there can be a queue to place your order; I apologise for this and hope your wait was not too long! Management will address this issue further. Thanks again for... More

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village
The Park Travellers Hotel
Address: Cnr. of Highway 4 & Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 2006, The Park has transformed itself into a lodge designed with travellers, adventurers and families in mind. It is the newest accommodation provider in National Park, and facilities include a fantastic Spiral Railway themed bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, guest TV lounge, dining area, large open fireplaces, spa pools, wireless internet and much more. Conference, school group and wedding facilities are also available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Park Hotel Ruapehu to your Saves list