We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Hotel website
2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
31
59
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Beverwijk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in the ensuite, but they also have bunkrooms etc. I enjoyed a very comfortable matrass, warm duvet, great and hot shower. But most of all. Great staff, very friendly, good food and great bar. You can also go in the hottub after Climbing in walking in the stunning Tongariro NP or after skiing on Mt. Ruapehu

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last week and had a very comfortable stay. It was a nice surprise to have a double bed, ensuite and kettle with tea, coffee, milk etc. the weather was cold but there was an extra duvet, wall heater and electric blankets to fend off the cold. I didn't use the hot tub but heard good reports from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Caroline, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Park. It is great to hear when our guests enjoy the yummy food on offer and find our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back again:) More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in one of the hostel rooms and thought it was very nice. The restaurant and bar are also nice, although a bit pricey. Unfortunately since it's in the middle of nowhere, there aren't a ton of food options otherwise. Hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future:) More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We endured a treacherous car journey with 2 squabbling boys for 5 hours and we were very happy to arrive to a very well maintained lodge. The kids were excited to see two giant spa pools and so was my husband as 20 odd Scandinavian backpackers were having a luxurious night there too.... The accommodation was perfect for us as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to you review your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again! Thank you again:) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
33 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We had a room with 2 single beds and a bathroom. It was very basic and very small. The beds had seen better days and needed a pillow top to stop the springs digging into me. The weather was bitterly cold and the heating did struggle a bit. It was a bit boring trapped in a small room trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate while staying with us! We hope you have a great vacation. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Wonderful location, great atmosphere and very friendly staff. The only thing that lets it down is the quality of their beds. All rooms including premium have only double beds which have seen better days. It is almost impossible for 2 adults to have a decent night sleep. If you are tall you might as well sleep on the floor... Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback- it is greatly appreciated! Sorry to hear that you did not find the beds to be comfortable; we would love to have you back for dinner next time you are in the area:) More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Even the droms in the place are nice. Got an awesome vibe. Restaurant and communal cooking kitchen which is nice, not matter what your budget. Hot tub is a huge plus. The lady on the reception who I had when checking in was incredibly and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi there, We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for letting others know about your experience with us- we hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

A small group of us ladies stayed here over the weekend to get away and walk the Tongariro Crossing - such a great team here, going above and beyond even helping out with a spare backpack when I forgot mine for the crossing!! Great food, great hot tubs for relaxing after the crossing and comfy beds at the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us while hiking the Tongaririo Alpine Crossing. We will pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed here two nights to do the Tongariro Crossing. Rooms small but practical. Water pressure in the shower amazing!! Having hot tubs available took away the initial aches and pains. Superb meal in the restaurant. Door to door service with transport to and from the walk. Equipment available for hire - thanks JJ - the poles made all the difference... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time walking the Tongaririo Alpine Crossing. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff to be helpful. We hope to see you again in... More 

STK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Perfect for the Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Good facilities and attentive staff. We processed without any problems excursion to Tongariro, that it seems every morning exits the hotel van. The only problem we had in the room was dirt in the room with many insects and the room was pretty tight for 4 adults, and there are only 2 chairs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your comments. So glad you enjoyed the Tongariro Crossing! More 

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay