We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Hotel website
2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an excellent stay at the park hotel .staff was very helpful.rooms were good,child friendly environment .enjoyed the spa pools which were nice and clean.meals were good at restaurant had breakfast there.comminity kitchen was very helpful for making our own meals.thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Rupan2016
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We hope to see you back again soon! More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A much better solution is to stay in Taupo and get a bus in from there. The Park Hotel was really basic, paper thin walls, poor quality food, poor wifi, and not particularly cheap. Just what you don't need before an eight hour walk the next day! I don't like giving poor reviews but really can't recommend this so called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregory883
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay while completing the Tongaririo Crossing. We will address you concerns, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. National Park Village is much closer to the Tongariro Crossing start and end point than Taupo, as such it is a great option as a base for those... More 

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an excellent stay at the Park Hotel! We found the staff to be incredibly informative and helpful during the booking process and throughout our two night stay. The Crossing package included accommodation, bus transfers, breakfasts and a packed lunch and we completed the Tongiriro Crossing on a brilliant day. We opted for an upstairs loft room which was comfortably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate C
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your review, it is great to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We hope to see you back again in the future! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a good stay and time at The Park Hotel. The 4 single bed room cost was $180 per night and did not include bathroom towels or tea/coffee and kettle. The room was very basic and had faulty lights and window blinds. The shared kitchen was good. We loved the 2 hot tubs outside and the staff were friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KentLeKiwi
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On the plus side. Room, linen, bathroom very clean. Staff very friendly and super helpful. We had a family loft room so before I go on I can't speak for the condition of the other rooms on offer. However the other reviews tend to mirror our experience. The room badly needed some time and money spent on it. Very budget.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. The issues you have raised will be attended to. Thank you again for your time. More 

Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in the afternoon to a sunny national park, with just a few clouds. After a quick walk to the volcano (which we didn't see at that time becuse of the clouds) we headed baack to have dinner. The dinner in the hotel was good, so was the staff. The evening after (our last night), one of the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Namnut
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff were able to make your stay that much more enjoyable, despite the cloudy weather. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future:) More 

Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel mainly for the 2 night Tongariro Crossing package. Unfortunately the weather wasn't looking promising due to high winds but the staff kept us informed. Walk was cancelled at 7:00am that morning, but at least they tried rather than just cancelling out right on the forecast. Staff made good suggestions for alternative day walks,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller2627
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the poor weather got in the way of your plans to complete the Crossing, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you decide to give it another go:) Thank you for understanding that sometimes we have to cancel transport due to the poor... More 

kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is in a great location but some of the rooms are awful. Ours hardly had any natural light and was very shabby. The bathroom was minute although the shower ok. The fridge in room is big but makes a bad noise on and off all night. There should be great views but Windows face inwards so no views

Helpful?
1 Thank neighboursKent
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we will pass your comments onto management. More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the park hotel for Tongarrio alpine crossing on 2nd jan till 4th jan. Due to the unforseen weather condition, we couldn't do crossing which is understandable. But we didn't rcvd any alert about the weather condition from the hotel staff till we rung them up. When we checked in on 2nd Jan, The receptionist girl said no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thetalina
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thet, Thank you for passing on your comments, I hope you received the email that was sent in regards to this issues as well. I will have to look into this with the staff who were on at the time to see what has happened. This is not normal procedure for guests to be told crossing is cancelled... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Self catering family room was minuscule and very dark with tiny windows, no view despite the location, and poorly lit. Bathroom was also minuscule, about the same size as a typical Japanese bathroom without the design features and fittings found in Japan. There was no room to open even a small suitcase. The bed was overly soft despite being so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ocassi0nal_Traveller
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you comments. We are glad that you thought the staff were friendly and found the location to be convenient. We have passed your comments regarding your room to management, thank you again for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
15.8 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard's Lodge
Howard's Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay