We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Hotel website
2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    90
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
31
60
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling after a busy weekend heading home from a conference and driving a trade me car purchase homeward. The trip was long and as it was getting late I took my chances to book in for some accomodation to relieve driver fatigue. I was most grateful to be booked in by a very helpful staff member even though it must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, We were happy to help in your time of need:) Glad you got home safe and perhaps we will see you again in the future. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always stay here when coming down to the National park. Backpackers always floating in the hottub outside is gross, everything else is great. Bar serves perfect moult wine, views from the restaurant are stunning. Rooms are heated which is great after a day on the mountain or a day of hiking. Front desk team was very helpful at organising... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We are glad to hear that you find your stays with us enjoyable and keep coming back- we really do appreciate it We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Beverwijk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I stayed in the ensuite, but they also have bunkrooms etc. I enjoyed a very comfortable matrass, warm duvet, great and hot shower. But most of all. Great staff, very friendly, good food and great bar. You can also go in the hottub after Climbing in walking in the stunning Tongariro NP or after skiing on Mt. Ruapehu

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Thanks you for the great feedback! Our staff will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at The Park Hotel, and that National Park left such a good impression. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I stayed here last week and had a very comfortable stay. It was a nice surprise to have a double bed, ensuite and kettle with tea, coffee, milk etc. the weather was cold but there was an extra duvet, wall heater and electric blankets to fend off the cold. I didn't use the hot tub but heard good reports from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Caroline, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Park. It is great to hear when our guests enjoy the yummy food on offer and find our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back again:) More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I stayed in one of the hostel rooms and thought it was very nice. The restaurant and bar are also nice, although a bit pricey. Unfortunately since it's in the middle of nowhere, there aren't a ton of food options otherwise. Hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future:) More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We endured a treacherous car journey with 2 squabbling boys for 5 hours and we were very happy to arrive to a very well maintained lodge. The kids were excited to see two giant spa pools and so was my husband as 20 odd Scandinavian backpackers were having a luxurious night there too.... The accommodation was perfect for us as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to you review your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again! Thank you again:) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We had a room with 2 single beds and a bathroom. It was very basic and very small. The beds had seen better days and needed a pillow top to stop the springs digging into me. The weather was bitterly cold and the heating did struggle a bit. It was a bit boring trapped in a small room trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate while staying with us! We hope you have a great vacation. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Wonderful location, great atmosphere and very friendly staff. The only thing that lets it down is the quality of their beds. All rooms including premium have only double beds which have seen better days. It is almost impossible for 2 adults to have a decent night sleep. If you are tall you might as well sleep on the floor... Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback- it is greatly appreciated! Sorry to hear that you did not find the beds to be comfortable; we would love to have you back for dinner next time you are in the area:) More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Even the droms in the place are nice. Got an awesome vibe. Restaurant and communal cooking kitchen which is nice, not matter what your budget. Hot tub is a huge plus. The lady on the reception who I had when checking in was incredibly and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi there, We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for letting others know about your experience with us- we hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

A small group of us ladies stayed here over the weekend to get away and walk the Tongariro Crossing - such a great team here, going above and beyond even helping out with a spare backpack when I forgot mine for the crossing!! Great food, great hot tubs for relaxing after the crossing and comfy beds at the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us while hiking the Tongaririo Alpine Crossing. We will pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay