We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Jackfield B&Bs / inns

The Severn Trow

Save Saved
You added The Severn Trow to your Saves list
Church Road, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7ND, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
The Severn Trow
Ranked #1 of 4 Jackfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackfield
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
87
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed with our dog in September 2013 for 2 nights. Sara and Ken gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home. The freshly cooked breakfast was lovely and the doggy breakfast was a great touch. The local pubs are good for evening meals and also very welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying at the Trow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great little B&B, interesting history, well located to explore all the local museums and visit the pubs! Friendly welcome, diy teas & coffees and selection of cake and muffins always available. Great breakfast - you might want to pop up the Black Swan for lunch or dinner (same cook).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights in the Boatmans, a very comfortable (if small) room. Very friendly welcome from Sara and Ken with a cup of tea and some just-baked blueberry muffins on offer. As far as possible, all the food is sourced locally - I even heard one of the hens clucking to announce it had just laid an egg, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had a wonderful two nights at The Severn Trow in the company of my trusty hound Rocco. What a fabulous dog friendly little gem it is. Sara and Ken were so welcoming, hospitable and accommodating, and my trusty hound Rocco was made to feel like a member of the family, with his own cooked breakfast and a host of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swindon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We chose Severn Trow because of the excellent reviews and their dog friendliness. Neither us or the dog were disappointed! Ken and Sara couldn't have been more welcoming. We stayed in William & Mary which was delightful. The home baking and cooked breakfasts were first class. The dog also had his own cooked breakfast, he couldn't quite believe his luck!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I decided to try something rather different for our wedding anniversary, so we booked two nights at the Trow on the basis of the website and TripAdvisor reviews. What an unusual delight. Booking was really smooth, friendly and professional. Ironically, I read the only poor review on the morning of our departure; seemingly written by a curmudgeon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SevernTrow, Owner at The Severn Trow, responded to this review

That bloomin' door bell. Actually its now our third - there is something with the remote ones (where you plug in a receiver and it connects to the bell through the ether) that doesn't like thick Trow walls. We have become truly paranoid about it - Ken checks it constantly now. Either that or he's hiding a woman upstairs ;-).... More

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a delightful B&B! From the tea and cake ready on our arrival to the parting good wishes we had a wonderful experience at Severn Trow. We used Wilfred's room, which is light and airy, very comfortable and has a magnificent bath/shower-room. The place is nicely quiet. Hosts Ken, Sara and Debs do everything they can to make a stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SevernTrow, Owner at The Severn Trow, responded to this review

See this just goes to prove the point that running a B+B is a lovely way to earn a living - if exhausting at times. We so enjoyed meeting you and chatting with you - and it makes all the hard work worth it when people enjoy their stay with us. We very much hope you do come back to... More

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Have finally got round to writing a review for a real little gem. The Trow is a fabulous place, and if like me you cant stand the premier inn type of B&B, then you are in for a treat. The rooms are clean, airy and interesting and the area is fabulous, but what really makes this place sing is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SevernTrow, Owner at The Severn Trow, responded to this review

Hi - Thanks so much for staying with us and writing a review of your stay. We're both very pleased you liked your room and our food - and we have become properly hooked on your Soda Bread Recipe - fantastic. Thanks too for the goats cheese and pistachio cake recipe - it is so delicious it seems a crime... More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were disappointed at the way we were received. The door bell did not work & we had to enter the property & shout for attention, which did not work. We rung the house number & it went to voicemail. We waited roughly around 15 minutes before Ken came along. We were shown to our room, we had been upgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SevernTrow, Owner at The Severn Trow, responded to this review

I'm not sure what to say to this. We're really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Honestly. We wouldn't run a B+B if we didn't want people to enjoy their stay. It would be a pretty unsustainable business model. I am also sorry that I didn't get to meet you. When Ken saw you off he asked if you were... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. A charming and interesting host with a thoughtful approach to you as individuals. A really comfortable bed with good quality bedding and a great shower. Plenty of coat hangers and storage space. Light and airy and spacious at the same time as being cosy and 'old'. Lovely home baked bread ( no bread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SevernTrow, Owner at The Severn Trow, responded to this review

Thanks so much for coming to stay with us. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. Kens bread is a source of pride - some would say - ambition, but I think you got one of his best ever sour doughs. I'm actually surprised he let you eat it. When he took that one out of the oven I thought... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Severn Trow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Severn Trow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Severn Trow

Address: Church Road, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Jackfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Severn Trow Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Jackfield with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge, and its only dog friendly B+B, the Severn Trow is a lovely 17th-century house offering a high standard of accommodation. All of our three rooms have en-suite power shower, king size beds, fluffy towels, hairdryer and a safe. We use only the best quality and locally sourced produce for our delicious AGA cooked breakfasts. Guests have access to a lovely shared lounge and kitchenette where you can help yourselves to teas and coffees, home made bread and jams for toasty snacks, biscuits and often home made cakes. A friendly welcome is guaranteed at The Trow for dogs and humans. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Severn Trow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer