We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chartridge Lodge

Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chartridge Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I didn't know what to expect when I turned up for the works Christmas do but the first signs were good as the welcome was warm despite a very busy foyer. There was a great atmosphere with attentive, friendly staff, good food, a well stocked bar and clean facilities. I didn't stay the night as all of the rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nat G
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nat G Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Christmas party with us. Our parties were a massive success last year and we are already planning this years theme. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chartridge Lodge, and hopefully, this time you can spend... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Given previous reviews I was a little worried about my stay at Chartridge. I needn't have worried: for my 45 Pounds I received a warm ensuite room with a comfortable double bed. Room appears to have been redecorated recently. Facilities included trouser press, tea service and iron with ironing board. The rooms have free wifi. I didn't sample the fare,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hendomania
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hendomania Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to receive. We are so delighted your stay at Chartrdge Lodge was enjoyable. We do have a programme of redecoration in place and are working our way through our bedrooms, so delighted again, you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chartridge Lodge in the... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been staying at Chartridge Monday to Friday since April 2014 and will continue to do so until the end of my current contract. It is the most peaceful and pleasant place to unwind after a hard day at work. All of the staff are exceptional, courteous, always smiling and will cater to your every need. The food is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe_and_Lynn
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear reviewer What a wonderful review to receive - thank you. The team at Chartridge Lodge do work tirelessly to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay. We take all comments on board and work towards rectifying, where we can, issues. I have passed your kind comments onto all our team members, which no doubt, will give them great... More 

London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here with work in January. The service was ok, but the hotel is run down and in need of modernising. The rooms are basic and showers poor. The room noisy because of some kind of fan/extractor going all night. The food wasn't great with limited options and a menu more attuned to the 1980s. The grounds are beautiful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antony_of_Surrey
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Antony Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I take on board your comments regarding some areas of the venue requiring modernisation, we do try to reflect this in our pricing. I will ask the maintenance team to investigate the noisy fan as a peaceful nights sleep is essential. I will also pass your comments regarding... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chesham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the most tired hotels I've stayed in in many years. The real low point is the bedrooms. Cheap furniture. Badly fitted out shower rooms. Hairs in plug holes. Stained toilet bowls. Beige walls. Sad, student accommodation type rooms. The sink was amusing. If the tap is turned on full, an invisible spray of water rapidly soaks... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Remeny
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Remeny I am so sorry to read your review regarding your stay with us. I take on board your comments and will certainly make our maintenance and housekeeping teams aware in an effort to improve our offering. More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please don't book this venue for yourself, your family or your team - it is awful. I was on a team event and was booked into overnight accommodation in room 72 - a small box room with a very loud (and I mean very loud) kitchen fan adjacent. I went down to reception to ask to change the room and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LKing505
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LKing505 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you found your stay unacceptable. Due to the age of our building some of our rooms may be seen as on the small side, but we do have many that are not and I am sorry we were unable to move you. I will pass... More 

Athens, Greece
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked it through an agency site that said there was wireless in the rooms. When arriving there I found out that there was no wifi in my room and the shower was not working. There were only a few rooms that were on top of the conference center that had wifi. On my first morning there, I told the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charline H
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charline H So sorry to read your review and learn of your poor stay with us. We have just had our broadband width increased to 100mg so was very disappointed to read that your WiFi was not existent in your room. If I can trouble you to advise me of your room number I will investigate further. I have... More 

Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. It is set in the middle of nowhere but has lovely grounds and friendly staff. I believe only 2 of the rooms were occupied during our first night here. The dining room is quite basic and the menu was sparse BUT the mean was made to order. The room had it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salim L
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Salim L Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to experience Chartridge Lodge in the snow, it is indeed magical. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in business for 1 night this week. After checking in, I was directed through a door which was difficult to open with bags in each hand and up two narrow flights of stairs. No assistance was offered. My room was tiny and dated but clean. I had a refreshment tray but no kettle - this was dealt with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KRB79
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KRB79 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you had to struggle to your room with your bags unassisted. Parts of the Lodge are old and access can be tricky and we should have certainly offered some help. We do offer food in the evening and I will investigate the reasons why you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I rarely write a review but with disappointment abound I feel it imperative that my comments be published. I had the misfortune to stay on business at Chartridge Lodge in room 55. This room is not part of the main hotel complex but is located within what the staff call the 'cottage'. I am a seasoned traveller and have taken... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan L
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Oh dear Ivan L, what a catalogue of disasters. Though too late for your stay I can let you know that room 55 has just been repainted, repaired and the grout replaced. I am sorry we were unable to move you earlier in your stay but our bedrooms were full of conference delegates. As Chartridge Lodge is primarily a conference... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.7 mi away
Latimer Place
Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
7.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay