We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Lodge Sydney

17 Parramatta Rd, Haberfield, Ashfield, New South Wales 2045, Australia
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Garden Lodge Sydney
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New South Wales
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Stayed twice in the last couple weeks. First room had a moldy shower and roaches, but bedding was clean. only stayed long enough to sleep both times. The second room seemed to be clear of roaches at least. Bathroom window did not close and no screen. The staff on both visits were very nice and helpful. There is a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SoCalexpat
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear SoCalexpat, Thank you for choosing Garden Lodge Sydney for your stay near the city and for your TripAdvisor review. We are glad to know that overall you had a pleasant stay and your highlight on our clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms is much appreciated. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the musty smell experienced with... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

We booked online a double room and I stated in the booking it was to be a double room as we were on honeymoon. We ended up with one double and one single bed. Didn't think it was worth the hassle changing it. I think this lodge could definitely use a make over. But it was ok for our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank TemiaC
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TemiaC, Thank you for choosing Garden Lodge Sydney for your honeymoon near the city and for your TripAdvisor review. We are glad to know that overall you had a pleasant stay and your highlight on our clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms is much appreciated. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for giving you a King bed... More 

Delaware, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This hotel is great with perfect location in Sydney. Rooms are bigger then i use to stay like Ibis Budget. Also had issue with Hotels.com with reservation as i had one room booked but they had 3 rooms booked under my name and there was some how it was duplicated by hotels.com(Expedia) as they had server issue. But the thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank adam p
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Adam P, Thank you for choosing Garden Lodge Sydney for your stay near the city and for your TripAdvisor review. We are glad to know that overall you were pleased with us helping you to get the refund from the booking website and your highlight on our clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms is much appreciated. You such an understanding... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Checked in here and checked straight out,the room smelled of smoke had no window. The communal kitchen was awful, have to say tho in fairness the receptionist was lovely very helpful and, Agoda who I booked with did refund me all the money I paid and did reply to me immediately. The hotel was on a main road and to... More 

Helpful?
Thank neonsmp
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Neonsmp, Thank you for staying recently at Garden Lodge Sydney and taking the time to provide the positive feedback about our helpful receptionist. Please accept our sincere apologises for the inconvenience experienced as we couldn't offer an alternative because your check in time was 8am in the morning and we were running a very high occupancy the previous day.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Haberfield hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

This accommodation has a two person spa in bedroom . "Watching telly, (only free to air) whilst relaxing in spa, with a glass of bubbly". Our expectations were not huge, and we enjoyed our stay.The service was pleasant and efficient. Although 1st room - spa didn't work, given the option of changing rooms. Both rooms were adequate. Both had recently... More 

Helpful?
Thank blaqqat
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Blaqquat, What excellent feedback! Meeting or indeed exceeding our guest expectations is important to us and we are thrilled to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are happy to know that our associates delighted you with their friendly and welcoming service, you like our spa deluxes and I will make sure to share your kind... More 

Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Clean, convenient and excellent staff (Ivan was very helpful), lovely breakfast, Excellent free wifi Rooms, My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend, we had a top floor room with a balcony. Would stay there again!

Helpful?
Thank d p
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DP, Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing Garden Lodge Sydney in this beautiful city. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we have in some way contributed to an enjoyable and pleasant memorable experience for you. Also, thank you for appreciating the Deluxe room with your very... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

If you are considering a hotel please don't consider this one. We got a room (an expensive one) and it's very very small, it smells very musty and the carpet is all dirty. It doesn't have a microwave and you get a very small TV. I don't feel like the staff were very accommodating. I will not recommend this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jsilvertaite
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jsilver, Thank you for staying recently at Garden Lodge Sydney. We are committed to providing the best possible accommodation for our guests and for them to have an enjoyable and comfortable experience. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us fell short of your expectations and please accept our sincere apologies. The Spa Deluxe which was an... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We stayed over the weekend. The service is low key, friendly and efficient. I loved the atrium in the middle with its lounges and tables and chairs. The self serve breakfast is also in the atrium. The room was well appointed, fresh, clean and modern. It was serviced daily with fresh towels provided. I liked the big overheard showerhead.There were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank VisitingPerson
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi VP, Thank you for your delightful review and sharing your nice impressions on TripAdvisor. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your highlights on our fantastic atrium, oversize showers, clean basic facilities and our proximity to local attractions are much appreciated. We are also happy to know that our associates delighted you... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Very nice rooms for the price Try to avoid the road front rooms as these are a bit noisy. Room was clean and tidy and bed was comfortable Excellent bus service outside the door. Breakfast was very average.

Helpful?
Thank GeriI777
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Gerill, Thank you for your delightful review and sharing your nice impressions about Garden Lodge Sydney on TripAdvisor. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is pleasing to hear that you were able to enjoy the location which is only 1 minute walk to the tram, bus at the door and... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Chose this place as central Sydney can be expensive. Its very dated and could do with an upgrade. Its on a very busy road. When we stayed it was very noisy as there was a lot of noise from the car park in the early mornings (motor bikes!) There are no restaurants nearby. There is a small shop in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jillip
BestSydneyHotel, General Manager at Garden Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jillip, Thank you for your delightful review and sharing your nice impressions about Garden Lodge Sydney on TripAdvisor. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is pleasing to hear that you were able to enjoy the location. Rest assured our rates are reasonable considering free WIFI, free car park which may... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haberfield
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Glebe Space
#151 of 181 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#