We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Via Interamericana, km 258 | By Interamerican road just outside the city of Santiago, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama
Hotel amenities
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
malagari London, United Kingdom
Review This Hotel

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
28
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just the place to stop off midway between David/Bocas and Panama City. It is an oasis in the middle of nowhere, around 7km west of Santiago, just off the Panamerican Highway. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the bathroom has a shower that provides constant hot water (a rarity in Panama) and the restaurant provides good Italian food. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Arrived after a long day on the Pan-American Hwy and found a beautiful spot just off the highway but far enough from any highway noise. Check in was pleasant with the staff speaking adequate English. Comfortable bed and clean room. Could have used another pillow or two. Rooms could have been more pleasantly decorated and seemed a bit spartan. Shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you to choose our Hotel and of course for your review. We are happy to hear such a good commentaries and and the same time we would like to apologize for some kind of difficulty you have found here. We are little by little improving the room facilities and decorations in order to give to our guests... More 

Rimbey, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Although I think the title "Eco Resort" is a misnomer, we enjoyed our stay here. After a long day of driving on the PanAmerican highway, which is undergoing major reconstruction, we were relieved to find somewhere so quiet and tranquil. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds and hotel are clean and nice; the outside sitting area by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, General Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your words. We work daily very hard to improve our service, doesnt matter what: a staff able to satisfy people from all over the world, room facilities and of course we never forget to promote our great view and tranquility. Hope to see you again best regards Hotel Vista Lago Management More 

Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

This is billed as an eco-resort but it is pretty spartan. The negative is that it is not close to anything and currently there is major road construction going on between Santiago and David so traffic is slow and slower. Taxis cost to get you back and forth. The rooms are pretty spartan but comfortable enough. There is a pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am happy that you have found some relaxation here by us. We are actually improving the amenities and services in room. From this week for example we have added a new room service and we are waiting for some new forniture. It will take a bit of time as here nothing... More 

Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We booked this hotel based on the fact that it is one of very few in the area that will take pets. As promised on their website, they welcomed our dog Vivi with big smiles. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was gorgeous despite the budget price. The restaurant was excellent - the service was responsive and friendly. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear friends, best regards from Hotel Vista Lago. To you and of course to Vivi!! Lovely to read your words. This is what we wait for every single day. So, please accept our huge thanks and hope to see you again soon More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I stayed at the Gran David one night and the Hotel Vista Lago another, both were $70. The room itself at the Hotel Vista was very average and the Gran David wins that hands down. However, the staff at the Hotel Vista was friendly, breakfast was included and it had a nice relaxed atmosphere around the pool area. Btw- I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I appreciaded your words. We are working hard to provide always a better service to our guests. We are lucky because we live in a unbelievable area, surrounded by a savege and gorgeous nature As you could see, we are improving services, and others. Like the road signal, which was one of the promises I made few weeks... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Stopped here on our way to David from Panama City. We chose it because it was on the far side of Santiago on the way to David to save time the next day. It is set off the road and yes there is construction but the sign is easy to see in the daylight. The hotel is on a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I went to your room file and in fact the price was the highest one as in your review. But I do understand your opinion and I agree with it 100%. Once the price is declared no one has the right to change it, even if this happens due of a mistake. In the last few months we... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We stayed at Vista Lago on our way to Chiriquí. Considering Santiago is the third biggest city in Panama, we thought there might be some good hotel options at decent prices for us to have a good rest. As most hotels we found online weren't actually in Santiago and Vista Lago was the only one we could find under 90$,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Good Evening and Merry xmas to you and your family. Thank you for your review. It helps us to explain some point about our hotel. You are right, sometime, expecially in the evening the road signal next to the entrance is not big or clear enough. Months and months, this is the time in which we are involved in a... More 

Panama City, Panama, Panama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The location is excellent if you want some peace and relax by a lake. Staff is very friendly and the room is ok for the rate. The restaurant is very good. We tried the lasagna and was very well made and tasty. I wouldn't recommend to swim in the pool as you can see mold on the edges. They should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelVistaLago, Manager at Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review and thank you for your compliments regarding our restaurant. It is our excellence. We really work hard to serve always fresh and tasty Italian and International food. I remember the event of te tire because I was right there that morning, trying to help you with my staff who changed the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Overall this was an excellent find. We only stayed one night but in the future we will stay here again with our mission teams. The quiet atmosphere from being out of the edge of Santiago is relaxing and the scenery is beautiful. The entire staff is welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question