We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Langenhof Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
18 Lang St | Western Cape, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa
Hotel amenities
De Langenhof Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 3 Riebeek-West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015
EugeneFrancois
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
34
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We stayed overnight attending a wedding nearby, receiving a warm welcome on arrival. Nice comfortable room. Well appointed, neat and clean. Breakfast was great, better than most 5⭐️hotels. Perfect poached eggs. Good supporters of the green initiative and supporting local business. Owners were helpful and informed of what happens in the area. What a great and relaxing experience. Like home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We spent a night at the accommodation in May 2015 to celebrate our anniversary. The accommodation was a real disappointment and certainly is not deserving of 4 stars. The gardens were very run down and not well kept. Our room over looked an untidy garden and we had views of a old boxes and the guest house storage. Further the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jane As mentioned in an email, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience at our guest house. I apologised verbally when we gave Paul soaps, and apologised by email in response to your email about the boxes. In this email I explained the reason for the boxes; these have now been removed. I do not appreciate your attempt... More 

Paarl, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We stayed the weekend at the guesthouse for a friend's wedding. We received a warm welcome at candle light, amid load shedding. The room was clean, tidy and had all the necessary amenities, including a special chocolate treat. Special care is taken to make each guest feel at home and the breakfast was delicious! The surrounding area is quite and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

De Langenhof was totally charming, not to mention Gail and Mike, our superb hosts. It was super relaxing and set in a very lovely quiet part of Riebeek West.We loved the pool area! The rooms were clean and fresh and had all the amenities one could wish for. The outside terrace had a really good layout and one could relax... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed only one night at this charming guest house on the evening of a family wedding and I could happily have spent a few more days enjoying this fine establishment. The breakfasts are possibly the best we have eaten. There was freshly made fruit salad, muesli's, home made jams, home made bread, free-range farm eggs, bacon from a local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We where very impressed with De langenhof Guesthouse and enjoyed our stay a lot. The guesthouse was very neat and tidy and we felt that we got more than we bargained for. The owners of the guesthouse, Mike and Gail, are extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. Their breakfast we got the next morning, which they prepare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed for one night when we went to Riebeek West for a wedding and were surprised to find such a lovely place. Our room had air conditioning and DSTV and was very comfortable with a great on suite bathroom. There was a welcome drink and chocolates and a well stocked bar fridge. It was quiet and peaceful with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Delightful oasis of calm. Gail and Mike are very considerate and charming hosts. Mike's breakfasts were just superb, especially his fruit salad! - while Gail's caring attention to detail was obvious everywhere.Our Garden Room was very tastefully furnished and spacious and set in a beautiful garden area sufficiently apart from the main house to ensure a peaceful night.The bathroom, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We have stayed a number of times here and always enjoy the hospitality of Gail and Mike, especially the breakfasts. There are only a few attractions in the vicinity but we heartily recommend a short stay here for the chance to relax in delightful scenery, and for us it is a perfect stop on our travels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The house is large and the garden - especially the big swimming pool area - is lovely. Rooms are a bit on the twee side in decor (heavy drapes, carpets, flowery lampshades ... a bit claustrophobic and old fashioned, or trying a bit too hard to justify rates?) but the bathrooms are very spacious and well appointed and the owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Gypsetter66 We're thrilled you find us friendly and like the place, but disappointed that you found the country animal smells were so horrorful. The 'icky pong' is from the pig farm nearby, which supplies much of the pork in the valley. When we get this smell we know it's going to rain (tis the north wind which brings this);... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay