We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pennyfarthing Hotel

296 - 298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 stars awarded because the "hotel" has a mix of good and not such good features. I stay in hotels all over the country as I work in tourism. The executive rooms are similar to Premier Inn standard rooms. Reasonably quiet if you have an upstairs room though.The striped carpet is very unrest full however!! Pity because these executive rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank janeysu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Berkhampstead to spend New Year's Eve with my brother-in-law. His spare room was already taken and I didn't fancy the blow up bed on the floor so we looked for somewhere to stay within walking distance. We chose the Pennyfarthing Hotel as it was a 7 minute walk away. I think the website could do with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ShimmyStar83
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

This is not a conventional type hotel . Rooms are situated in 2 buildings off a courtyard area. The room a executive ,was first class and as good as any 4 star hotel. It was comfartable and clean. If your after views this is a non starter however you need to remember where the hotel is situated and you would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mal7672
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us here at The Penny Farthing. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service you received and I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we hope to see you again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

A good place for a night in Berkhamstead (if you can find the car park - it's off the supermarket one but is not signposted from the high street). Room was fine if a bit dated. Wifi, tea and coffee in the compact twin room. The room opens onto the alley outside which is a bit unusual. Had booked a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JerryPlus3
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent review, Please accept our apologies once again for the mix up in the rooms, I hope that it didn't impact your experience to much. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. The Penny Farthing Team More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

Visited again last night Lady on Reception great Rooms good as usual. But what a bad experience of Breakfast. Woman serving Breakfast busy texting the whole time. Very uncommuicative. Ate the Cereal etc from the self service bit and waited..and waited..and waited but was never asked did I want Breakfast so after an uncomfartable length of time decided to foret... More 

Helpful?
Thank MassiveBH3
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience on this visit. The visit you describe truly does not live up to our usual high standards. Constructive feedback is very important to us so I do appreciate you taking the time to leave your view. The Penny Farthing Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

We booked 2 rooms - 21 and 23 last night and were welcomed by a friendly, helpful receptionist. The room was very cozy and comfortable. Bathroom spotlessly clean. Useful that they provided some bottled water, tea/ coffee/ iron / hairdryer/ Wi-fi in the room/ safe. As our rooms were off a quiet courtyard, there was no road noise. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingInStyle
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

We’re so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us.Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, it’s so nice to get feedback! The Penny Farthing Team More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I found this hotel by sheer luck and have been overwhelmed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - i used to stay in a thistle but was unhappy and so took a chance here .... i love it! I stay every week and its like a home from home. The staff can never do enough for you and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

Sharon F, thank you for such an amazing review. It is heart-warming to read that you absolutely love it here and we are thrilled that you find it a home from home experience. Its great to see that our staff are taking great care of you and I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with them. Thank you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Some positive things were, friendly staff ( well most of them), lovely breakfast, convenient location. Now for the not so positive. Our room had no working extractor and smelt very musty/damp, the windows were soaked with condensation when we woke. Not much room in the dining area for breakfast, felt cramped. receptionist did not seem interested when I checked out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendie L
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wendie, We sincerely apologise for the broken extractor and for any discomfort that this may have caused. I can confirm that maintenance have been called and it is due to be fixed this week. I believe that our receptionist did offer to call a member of management to arrange a discount on your final bill? Thank you for your... More 

Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had no problems at all. So we booked a two night stay as we were visiting friends. The hotel is in a good location just behind the Main Street. The first room we were shown to the air conditioning was not working so we were given another room in a different part of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank carole5326
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate constructive feedback and have acknowledged your comments regarding the noise issues that you had. We apologise that you couldn't have the first room that you were shown, the Air Conditioning issue is currently been looked at. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. The Penny Farthing Team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean with nice decor. The air conditioning in our first room was not working but the staff quickly solved this by moving us to another room. The beds were very comfortable and the location of the hotel was ideal for what we needed. Would happily stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky N
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vicky N Thank you for choosing the Penny Farthing and for leaving your recent review. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Apologies for the problem with the Air Conditioning and I am pleased that the team resolved the issue for you. We look forward to you staying again. The Penny Farthing Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Pendley Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tring
3.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay